We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overall Service” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Days Inn - Calgary South

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Days Inn - Calgary South
Ranked #90 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Overall Service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

I paid premium for a room here. The condition of this place is deplorable. 1, the elevator was not operating properly. 2 my WiFi was not working because of a low signal. 3, free coffee in lobby not always available.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Will M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    191
    177
    131
    118
See reviews for
225
153
43
179
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Booked a nonsmoking room and was given a room clearly that was previously smoked in. It was in the drapes and bedlinen. Requested a bottle opener but was refused as the restaurant downstairs said"they don't come back" i mean who steals bottle openers?anyway grumpy restaurant guy came to room and opened bottle and then took the cork ! Last morning comp breakfast finished service early without any notice to hotel guests. Our stay here was based on friends living local otherwise something else may have been better.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happytotry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sampej, Director of Sales at Days Inn - Calgary South, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Guest

We are a non-smoking property and have a charge for any guest caught smoking in the rooms, however, there are guests that skirt the rule, the hotel does its best to keep a check, some do slip through.

We do take your review very seriously and will do our best to improve our services.

regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

We got a Priceline deal on this hotel for around $100 and it wasn't worth it. The staff are nice, the lobby are has been redone and is nice, but the rooms and hallways, not so much. The beds are small and uncomfortable and thank goodness we had two because one had stains on the sheets so we didn't touch it. The towels were old and frayed and the room smelled kind of bad. I looked at the free breakfast but aside from toast and waffles, there wasn't much so I passed. Not worth the money even with the deal.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank starkerama08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sampej, Director of Sales at Days Inn - Calgary South, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for the review of our property, rest assured we will take the points mentioned in the review very seriously and will do our best to come upto your high expectations in future.

regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Calgary hotels

Stettler
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

That hotel was disgraceful. Waited at least 5 min at the unmanned front desk to check-in (had quite a line behind me), "lost" reservation even though I had called to confirm 2 days before hand, chipped paint all over the room, no parking (good of them to close 2 areas at the same time. People were forced to park at nearby fast food places and on the sidewalk.), uneven carpet (love those tripping hazards), paint on the windows, given incorrect internet info, lack of towels even after a request, stained carpet, damaged hangers, stain/substance on a bed's headboard, cracked ceiling, dirty walls and door jams, and the list goes on… I can’t believe I paid to be treated that way.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shi_oni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sampej, Director of Sales at Days Inn - Calgary South, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Guest

On behalf of the management & staff of Days Inn Calgary South, please accept our sincere apology. It is unfortunate that you did not inform us about any of your concerns during your 3 night stay at our hotel.

Our AGM has already tried to contact you to discuss your concerns and has left a message for you on your phone.

However, do be assured all your concerns will be investigated and look into and we will use this as a learning tool to improve our services.

Thank you and I do hope you will give us one more chance and stay with us.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

We have just left this hotel and not a moment too soon. Although they advertise that they are team friendly this is definitely NOT the case. We booked 12 rooms well in advance with plenty of communication regarding our needs. The rooms were basic - the service was awful. It was as though they had never had a team stay there before. We couldn't park our bus anywhere, they tried to charge us $300 to use a empty boardroom to feed the team. Obviously they preferred us to feed close to 30 children pasta in the rooms. They refused to provide us with garbage bags or pitchers of water. They had 1 very slow elevator that resulted in us using the stairs daily. The pool had no towels, the showers ran cold and the breakfast staff were very put out that our well behaved team members came to eat at all! We travel extensively and our children know proper hotel etiquette. This was AWFUL. Never stay here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mom585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sampej, Director of Sales at Days Inn - Calgary South, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Team Leader

Your comments although valued need some clarrification. We do have bus parking, there is space for 3 to 4 tour buses at our hotel. In fact I explained to your driver the bus parking area, and in fact helped him park.

Yes it is true we do charge for meeting rooms at our hotel. However, we had reduced the charge to half for your team, to use as a meal room.

We also have a restaurant on-site that would have catered to any food & beverage requirments the team had, this was mentioned to your team leader much prior to check in date. They would have been happy to accomodate the team.

regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Sk
Level Contributor
90 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed at the Days Inn with a team for an event. The rooms were pretty much clean although there are stains on the carpet. The lights in the room were loosely placed on the fixture so when they were touched to turn on and off they fell off.

The beds in the rooms are doubles and marginally comfortable.

The view from the room is of the roof.

The staff do there best to be friendly, but based on the interactions I had with them I am pretty sure they are not trained or treated very well by the organization so that undertone always exists.

I did not use the pool or the hot tub, although I would be concerned about there cleanliness considering the undertone at the hotel.

There is a nice open space on the bottom floor of the hotel.

The underground parking lot is out of service. I am assuming the hotel has not repaired it as it would be very costly and it does not appear to me that they spend money at this hotel.

They do have a contract to address concerns other guests have complained about (smoking and noise above the bar). The contract is in place to inform guests they can not smoke in the room and there is a noisy bar in the hotel so they may have a room above that bar if they booked the room at a discount on some internet hotel aggregator.

Room Tip: Do not book a prepaid room. Based on the contract you sign on arrival it is very likely you will hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skfandbtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Southwest Calgary
Comfort Inn & Suites South
Comfort Inn & Suites South
#77 of 109 in Calgary
3.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southeast Calgary
Travelodge Calgary South
Travelodge Calgary South
#86 of 109 in Calgary
3.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Econo Lodge South
#89 of 109 in Calgary
3.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Southeast Calgary
Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn - Calgary South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn - Calgary South

Property: Days Inn - Calgary South
Address: 3828 Macleod Trail SE, Calgary, Alberta T2G 2R2, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Days Inn - Calgary South 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Days Inn Calgary South. Our hotel offers 134 Guestrooms and Suites, Meeting Facilities, Heated Indoor Salt Water Pool/Hot Tub and Fitness Centre. We offer Complimentary Continental Breakfast including Belgium Waffles, Free High Speed Internet Access, Free Parking, and Free Local Calls. A Valid Credit Card is required at Check In. All of our rooms have Iron and Ironing Board, Cable TV, Hairdryer and Clock Radio. Refrigerators are available in upgraded rooms upon request. Microwaves are available in upgraded rooms upon request. Pets allowed in some rooms for nominal fee. We offer a shuttle service for nominal fee. The Transit system is within 1 Block of the hotel. The Atlantic Trap And Grill Pub is located on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Days Inn - Calgary South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Calgary South Hotel Calgary
Calgary Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing