We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay for short stay but overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Travelodge Calgary South
Ranked #90 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Okay for short stay but overpriced”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I booked a room here at the last minute so I got ripped off compared to booking ahead. Price was soooo not worth it. Our room was on the second floor so we didn't have outside access from our room. No biggie. If I were to consider staying here again, I would probably request a room on the main floor so I could park outside my room door and not have to walk the stairs with a pile of luggage. (There's no elevator.) Room size was adequate, it's fairly clean if you don't look around the room and scrutinize too much, lol, especially the washroom. The coffee maker was obviously only rinsed out from the previous guest so I washed it myself. I didn't have the breakfast so am unable to comment. The outdoor pool looked clean and inviting but it wasn't warm enough for me to swim.

Room Tip: Request a room on the main floor if you are unable to walk a flight of stairs comfortably.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tdmatte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travelodge Sout... C, General Manager at Travelodge Calgary South, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Adviser. I can assure you that you were not ripped off in regards to price. Our rates are the same if not less with our competitors. Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. Feedback such as yours assists us in improving our service and property on a daily basis. We hope to serve you in the future.

Regards,
Kobbie Larbi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    45
    87
    47
    34
See reviews for
68
57
21
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 12, 2013

the value for the overall dollar is pretty good considering you get a good contiental Breakfast the rooms are nothing fancy by any means but pretty clean beds are comfy and you can park right outside your door.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Trevor E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travelodge Sout... C, General Manager at Travelodge Calgary South, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience during your recent stay. We are glad to have met your needs. We hope to serve you once again in the near future.

Kobbie Larbi G.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 1, 2013

The hotel smelled horrible and was of very poor quality. Did not enjoy our stay here. The beds and pillows were rock hard.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank Chelsey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travelodge Sout... C, General Manager at Travelodge Calgary South, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for sharing your opinion during your recent stay with us. I can confidently say that our hotel does not have a horrible smell. The only time we have had complaints about smell is when guest(s) in smoking rooms decide to leave their doors open while smoking. We always advise our guests from refraining from that habit. Even though our property is old, we do well in maintaining it and making sure our rooms are in top shape as possible. We have replaced several mattresses in the last few months and it is ongoing. I believe you were in a room where the mattress has not been changed. We hope you would give us another chance to serve you in the near future.

Regards,
Kobbie Larbi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Calgary hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Econo Lodge South
#88 of 109 in Calgary
147 reviews
Southwest Calgary
Comfort Inn & Suites South
Comfort Inn & Suites South
#78 of 109 in Calgary
174 reviews
Southeast Calgary
Stetson Village Inn
Stetson Village Inn
#86 of 109 in Calgary
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southeast Calgary
Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary South
Southeast Calgary
Carriage House Inn
Carriage House Inn
#30 of 109 in Calgary
873 reviews
Southeast Calgary
Delta Calgary South Hotel
Delta Calgary South Hotel
#45 of 109 in Calgary
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Calgary South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Calgary South

Property: Travelodge Calgary South
Address: 7012 Macleod Trail SE, Calgary, Alberta T2H 0L3, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Southeast Calgary
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Calgary South 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Calgary South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Calgary South Hotel Calgary
Travel Lodge Calgary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing