We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Keep looking..” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travelodge Hotel Calgary Macleod Trail

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Travelodge Hotel Calgary Macleod Trail
Ranked #96 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Abbotsford
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Keep looking..”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

I made the reservation through priceline as we often use the Travelodge on Macleod Trail for business and I heard lots of great things about it from my co-workers. Unfortunately they were talking about the Travelodge down the street closer to Chinook Mall near Glenmore Trail, which is a great spot. This hotel however is a dump, I have never stayed in such a dirty filthy run down place ever. Worst of all I couldn't get out of it as I booked it through priceline.

The Check in took a half hour or more, always a line at the front desk.

I used to be in the Hotel Business and I get the owners business model. Buy a hotel for cheap run it into the ground and make as much money as can because the market will keep my occupancy up, never spend a nickel and after its about to fall apart sell it to the highest better and run with the money.

Do yourself a favour and find another place to stay, unless you wanna sleep in a hazmat suit and shower with your shoes on.

Room Tip: Keep looking, even its a good deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fultod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    39
    83
    92
    161
See reviews for
120
73
36
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gananoque, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

I have been at this hotel for 2 weeks and honestly it has been a nightmare. The hotel is so run down and the group of guest leaves alot to be desired. It is so rough I don't even leave my room. I have complained multiple times about the noise and overall lack of respect for anyone else staying in the hotel. To no avail, the front desk does nothing and looks like a deer in the headlights. I had to leave the maid a note just to get my sheets changed after 1 week and to clean the bathroom. Apparently cleaning the bathroom does not require you clean the sink. Disgusting. This is an embarrassment to be under the Wyndham umbrella. 6 more days here and I am ready to sleep in my car. Don't ever stay here!

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank C2beleaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Calgary hotels

Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Is it worth saving a buck to stay at a place which looks like what I imagine a methadone clinic looks like? The continental breakfast had a real group of beauties in there. I've never grabbed a muffin and ran out quicker in my life. Though it is a step up from the last place I stayed at, in which the toilet was not bolted to the ground, this place needs much work. I had no complaints during the period in which I slept beyond having to use the TV manually as the batteries were dead and likely swapped by the last person whom stayed here. I woke up this morning to the sound of someone dry heaving and blowing their nose for 10 minutes. The walls are so thin, I thought the guy was in my washroom. Needless to say, I won't be coming back.

Room Tip: Not recommended at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Pretty dirty and some rooms are mouldy. Was given Internet wifi password at check-in. Went to room and tried to log in. Signal was so bad I had to go to reception and even there it didn't work. When I asked, they said yes it doesn't work and we have tried but can't fix it (begging the question why give me a password at all?). No apology, didnt care at all. They only have it so they can advertise free wifi when people are booking and want wifi but it does not work so avoid this place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maurice N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

I am not one to criticize reasonably priced lodging but this is one night I would like to forget. Finding a hotel in Calgary on short notice can be challenging thus on this particular evening I was compelled to book at this establishment. I was intimidated upon check in due to the suspect individuals hanging around the entrance. I was relieved to get to my room until I opened the door. Why? First of all there were two beds with stained sheets, numerous lights did not work, the air conditioner was also not functioning, there was a terrible smell in the room, I could go on and on! This is one night I do not want to remember!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jete T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is very dirty except in the reception area (of course). It is desperately in need of a major renovation and, unless they deal with the undesirables that seem to hang out in the parking lot and outside the Comedy Club, even that may not be enough. My wife and I felt uncomfortable going in and out at night, especially when we found blood on the stairs to the parking area.
The air conditioning made lots of noise but we still don't know if it worked at all or the nights were cold!
The staff seemed pleasant enough but the hotel is beyond hope. How Travelodge could condone such a place tells me lots about their value system. We will not stay here again and very much question Travelodge as a principled company based on this evidence.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Davidlask2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

The worst ever. I am not picky. I can sleep anywhere. But this is my worst experience. I arrived in the parking lot and was greeted by sketchy characters. I booked online and paid in advance and I mentioned that I was coming in late. I tried to book in at 10pm, but was told that the hotel was overbooked. I told them that had already paid but this did not seem to matter. I became a little belligerent as I has just spent 4 hours in a car....the last 45 minutes stuck on the Deerfoot. So they gave a round in the basement of the smoking floor. What? It was too late to find another room. So I had to stay, there was some jerk smoking and walking down the hallway of the basement only wearing his pants. So I stay in the room. I was coffing and sneezing from the smoke exposure all the next da. This I have learnt. Always check the Reviews. Never stay at a Travelodge. The worst ever

Room Tip: I wish I checked the reviews
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Calvin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Southeast Calgary
Travelodge Calgary South
Travelodge Calgary South
#86 of 109 in Calgary
3.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Southwest Calgary
Comfort Inn & Suites South
Comfort Inn & Suites South
#78 of 109 in Calgary
3.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Econo Lodge South
#89 of 109 in Calgary
3.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southeast Calgary
Stetson Village Inn
Stetson Village Inn
#83 of 109 in Calgary
3.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Southeast Calgary
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary South
Southeast Calgary
Carriage House Inn
Carriage House Inn
#27 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Hotel Calgary Macleod Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hotel Calgary Macleod Trail

Property: Travelodge Hotel Calgary Macleod Trail
Address: 9206 Macleod Trail SE, Calgary, Alberta T2J 0P5, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Haysboro , Southwest Calgary
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Hotel Calgary Macleod Trail 2*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now offering Free continental Breakfast! Travelodge Macleod Trail also offers indoor pool, whirl-pool, cardio room, business services and Free wireless internet. Guest rooms with one queen or two double beds. Free, on-site parking. Centrally located in South Calgary. Convenient to much of Calgary's shopping, entertainment and services. We look forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Travelodge Hotel Calgary Macleod Trail reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Calgary
Calgary Travel Lodge
Calgary Travelodge
Travel Lodge Calgary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing