We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel I've stayed at.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Travelodge Hotel Calgary Macleod Trail
Ranked #97 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worst hotel I've stayed at.”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

All around terrible. No sound proofing, very dirty, outdated.
Free breakfast? Ya sure there was literally only 4 pieces of bread. Seen a manager and asked if there wasn't supposed to be some food here, she roller her eyes and replied that someone might be grabbing some.
Seriously don't stay here, stay in your car if you have to it would be a more pleasurable stay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brayken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    41
    86
    97
    164
See reviews for
122
78
38
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Booked online sight unseen, that was my first mistake. What I thought was a two bed room wasn't, apparently. The woman at the front desk helpfully suggested that "some sites list us as having two bed rooms but we don't".

Not a big deal despite there being two people who expected two beds. Extra pillows and blankets? They said they didn't have any. Yes, that's right, a hotel literally didn't have any spare bedding.

Exposed wiring and sockets. I was zapped by the socket, and surprisingly I was also zapped quite badly by the elevator button on the 5th floor. Sheets were a mess. Mattress was uncomfortable. Wall socket that wasn't fully exposed had 5 things plugged into it already.

This place is terrible at being a hotel and the fact that it is continually like this after countless complaints can only lead me to assume that travelodge wants to bilk people out of money. I cannot in good conscience recommend travelodge to anyone, and I will be considering a chargeback.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank blitzoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Calgary hotels

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

The lobby is nice but once through the entrance to the hotel your greeted by a bad smell, old stained carpet and a building that should have been torn down 20 years ago. The room is small and old. The wall socket plugs break when trying to plug something in. No fridge or microwave. You can hear everything including their conversation from the room next door so if they're getting up at 4 am so are you. Tried using the hair dryer but it began to smoke. The shower works about 10 percent. 90 percent still comes out the spout. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oliverkrug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbrook, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night. When we checked in the Front desk staff was bordering on being rude. The room we reserved was not available but they could give us another room for $10.00 more. We took it because the hotel was close to where we needed to be early the next morning. When we got to the room we thought we had stepped back in time by 30 years. It was small, dark and old. The tap in the bathroom leaked, the sink plug would not hold water. Had to run the hot water for several minutes before the water started warming up (not hot). The more we looked around the dirtier we found the room to be. The windows rattled and it looked like mold growing around the trim. Chips in the bathtub, electrical outlets hanging out of the wall. Old and small tube style TVs. Front desk staff was no better on check out and made the people checking out ahead of us wait while someone went to check their room for damage. I would not recommend this hotel to my enemies. Certainly not what I expected from Travelodge. Maybe corporate should look at putting a stick of dynamite under this place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Do Not Stay here it is the most disgusting place we ever stayed at the beds are stained with who knows what, the walls are filthy the carpets have not been cleaned in years, the sink was plugged they smoked pot on the first floor. We went to the room and I told my husband I couldn't stay here it was so filthy dirty and we went back downstairs and we were told we couldn't get our money back so we were forced to stay as we didn't buget in another hotel to pay for. I slept in my clothes on top of the sheets as they were stained and kept my socks on too because i was afraid of what I might catch. I felt dirtier getting out of the shower than before I got in there. A lot of sketchy people wandering around our room door didn't close properly was not a safe area, the sink was plugged and didn't drain properly, holes in walls, ac didn't work very outdated and overall just dirty. Empty alcohol bottles in the elevator, Sweaty footprints on the door and beverages sprayed on the walls. Never stay there ever again.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel this is the worst one every
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrie-anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
215 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Went to stay here for a weekend. The front desk had us wait 15 mins for room to be cleaned. Paid 135 a night to get a key to a room that was very outdated, small, and had a bed that sank in the middle. I didn't even go over the threshold of the door. I turned around and went downstairs and told her about the bed. She said she would get me another room. That one was so disgusting I declined and got my money back. The washroom in lobby is disgusting too. Travelodge should be ashamed of themselves for charging so much for something that should only cost maybe 50 a night. Go next door to the carriage house. Same price and a thousand times better!!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Southeast Calgary
Travelodge Calgary South
Travelodge Calgary South
#90 of 109 in Calgary
240 reviews
Southeast Calgary
Stetson Village Inn
Stetson Village Inn
#85 of 109 in Calgary
35 reviews
Econo Lodge South
#88 of 109 in Calgary
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwest Calgary
Comfort Inn & Suites South
Comfort Inn & Suites South
#78 of 109 in Calgary
174 reviews
Southeast Calgary
Delta Calgary South Hotel
Delta Calgary South Hotel
#45 of 109 in Calgary
522 reviews
Southeast Calgary
Carriage House Inn
Carriage House Inn
#30 of 109 in Calgary
872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Hotel Calgary Macleod Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hotel Calgary Macleod Trail

Property: Travelodge Hotel Calgary Macleod Trail
Address: 9206 Macleod Trail SE, Calgary, Alberta T2J 0P5, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Haysboro , Southwest Calgary
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Hotel Calgary Macleod Trail 2*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now offering Free continental Breakfast! Travelodge Macleod Trail also offers indoor pool, whirl-pool, cardio room, business services and Free wireless internet. Guest rooms with one queen or two double beds. Free, on-site parking. Centrally located in South Calgary. Convenient to much of Calgary's shopping, entertainment and services. We look forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Hotel Calgary Macleod Trail reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Calgary
Calgary Travel Lodge
Calgary Travelodge
Travel Lodge Calgary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing