We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good bed, busy hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy Area
Ranked #74 of 110 Hotels in Calgary
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed May 9, 2014

Good bed, busy place. We stayed on a very busy Thursday night- the hotel was filled with little league hockey players and their parents- very noisy outside but quiet in our room. Good internet connection, good fridge, decent size room. Clean and smell-free! As the hotel was busy with kids we didn't have breakfast there but there seemed to be decent facilities. Good pool. Close to lots of restaurants and shopping. Also good for a quick exit out of town.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank auntietrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica S, General Manager at Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy Area, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Thank you for taking time to give us an honest review.

You are so right we can be very busy but we make every effort to ensure that the noise is kept to a minuimum

Super 8 Shawnessy has an excellant location within walking distance of many restaurants shops and major roads

We look forward to seeing you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (496)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

383 - 389 of 496 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2014

We stayed at the hotel for a lacrosse tournament. 4 families had to move rooms due to cleanliness! Our room had food and a pee stain in the pull out bed. We were moved to a new room where we found chewed gum on the floor and my little girl was scared to sit on the toilet! Dirtiest hotel we have ever stayed at! Not enough food at the continental breakfast!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
1  Thank Karyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica S, General Manager at Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy Area, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Thank you for taking time to voice your concerns, we only wish that we had been given more detail during your 2 night stay. As the manager , I had not had an opportunity to hear from you directly. I have taken the liberty to research your concerns regarding your 2 night stay. It is my understanding that within the first minutes of your stay, you did discover that the room was not to your liking. At Super 8 , we pride ourselves on making sure that if we have made mistakes that we correct them as quickly as possible which is what occurred during this incident. Though we did fall down on the first room, we are so happy that you were able to get moved to a second room of your choice and that you stayed for 2 more nights, allowing us that chance to redeem ourselves!!! We are so glad you decided to stay and not check out. Thank you again for expressing your concerns and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Jodie P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Monica S, General Manager at Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy Area, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Joanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Monica S, General Manager at Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy Area, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Monica S, General Manager at Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy Area, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Lindsandnick B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

During this stay at the Super 8 Shawnessey, my family decided to go swimming. We enjoyed the water slide in the pool . After our swim we decided to use the hot tub. The smell of chlorine in the hot tub was overwhelming. After five minutes we exited the hot tub. At this point we noticed our youngest daughters swimsuit had changed color from navy blue to a faded brown. Upon checkout the hotel staff informed me that someone was supposed to tell guests not to use the hot tub upon check in. There were no signs posted at the hot tub and we were not informed of this upon check in.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Southwest Calgary
Comfort Inn & Suites South
Comfort Inn & Suites South
#79 of 110 in Calgary
181 reviews
Southeast Calgary
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southeast Calgary
Travelodge Calgary South
Travelodge Calgary South
#91 of 110 in Calgary
265 reviews
Days Inn - Calgary South
#85 of 110 in Calgary
850 reviews
Northwest Calgary
Days Inn Calgary Northwest
Days Inn Calgary Northwest
#50 of 110 in Calgary
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy Area

Address: 60 Shawville Rd SE, Calgary, Alberta T2Y 3S6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Southwest Calgary
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Calgary
Price Range: $80 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy Area 2*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Super 8 Motel - Shawnessy has an exceptional reputation of excellent service and comfortable, and clean rooms, which has earned us the prestigious "Pride of Super8" award. Conveniently located on Macleod Trail in Alberta's largest and most active city, Calgary Shawnessy Super 8 Motel has many things to offer both families and the business traveler. We are close to MacLeod Trail South and Spruce Meadows. For shoppers and those seeking entertainment in the South West section of Calgary, we're in the midst of everything! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Motel - Calgary / Shawnessy Hotel Calgary
Super 8 Calgary
Super Eight Calgary
Calgary Super 8
Calgary Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing