We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location great to where our travels were taking us. Beds...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy Area
Ranked #72 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
GreenLeadersBronze level
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    131
    98
    49
    47
See reviews for
177
65
29
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bermuda
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I and 8 month old baby flew in for a wedding nearby, location was reason we selected so we could be near the wedding in Shawnessy. Big mistake. We never actually stayed there as we got there and were informed they didn't have any cribs for our baby and weren't going to get another. We were offered extra blankets or a rollaway. When we went up to the suite we booked it was a regular room. You'll find no mention of their "business suite" when you look on their website but this was what we were apparently booked in (although when we booked I specifically asked if the suite had a separate room so we could have a separate area for baby to sleep). It was nothing more than a regular smallish room with a king sized bed. They were sold out so couldn't get us another room. So we repacked the car and went elsewhere.
Never again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KHBermuda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica S, General Manager at Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy Area, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to respond regarding your reservation. It has given us the opportunity to research your reservation , and from everything we can find, the room you reserved is the exact room that you were shown at check in,

We are grateful that you have brought this to our attention as it allows us to relook at the wording that we use both on the phone and on line, We certainly will be revamping it so that it is much clearer in the future.

Though we were sad that you were unable to actually stay at our location and experience our property, you were so quickly able to find a room that was much more suited to your needs. I appreciate that it is disheartening to have such a misunderstanding and we were glad that we were able to help you clear it up within 20 mins of your check in time, Thank you for giving us the opportunity and we look forward to seeing you again in the future. Please feel free to contact the property directly if you require any further assistance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Once again, we did not plan ahead and got the last room available anywhere. We tried to get a room in Okotoks but due to flooding we had to stay in SW Calgary at the Super 8. Because it was Stampede time, the room cost us well over $200.

The staff was super friendly. Our kids were still laughing at the clerk’s jokes two days later. There is a (small) indoor pool with a water slide and a hot tub. We went in the evening and had the pool to ourselves which was quite enjoyable.

The room was very clean, but the bed had that weird “too hard and yet too soft” quality. The pillows had the same problem... two would crane your neck to a ridiculous angle but using only one would let your head sink through until it hit the bed and you were smothered by the sides of the pillow.

We could hear people in the hall and the people walking above us on the top floor, but we could not hear anyone in neighbouring rooms.

They were advertising a Stampede breakfast for that week, but it was a regular continental breakfast. They did have eggs in the shape of pancakes (Yes- I did get fooled and poured syrup all over them!), but that was about as “Stampede” as it got. The breakfast closes at 10 but they have free coffee all day.

I would have rated this hotel as “very good”, but the jacking of the price for Stampede week made it ridiculously overpriced for what you get.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cecilia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica S, General Manager at Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy Area, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review our property, we appreciate all your feedback .

I have forwarded your positive comments on to the staff and they were glad to hear about your experience. All staff stive to be super friendly and make sure all guests young and old have a super experience.

I have asked our housekeeping department to look at our pillows, and I was sorry to hear that you had some problems. We recently replaced all the pillows at the property but it may be that we overlooked a few. Thank you for mentioning this so that we are able to get it fixed for a new guest

We look forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
191 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Funny check in, thoguht I had booked here but confusion on same property in High River, know I had booked here, but rate turned out to be higher. Was told the High River property was using their address??!! Anyway, staff was friendly, decent breakfast, rooms were clean and the location was what I required. Lots of restaurants and shopping around the area if you want to.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amtiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica S, General Manager at Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy Area, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review our property,

I have researched your concerns regarding the HIgh River property and have our Super 8 team looking into it.

I do know that during the time period that you stayed at our location the High River property was closed due to flooding, and were unable to take any reservations. THis perhaps may be part of the confusion.

Thank you again and I will pass your positive comments onto the staff and management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We found the staff to be very helpful and polite, the room was clean and well laid out with two TV's so the kids could watch in the other room while we relaxed. The continental breakfast was good with fresh food made as you waited.
We really enjoyed the pool and slide, kids had a great time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica S, General Manager at Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy Area, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for taking time to let us know how your stay was. The team is very excited to see that you had a great stay and we appreciate the time you took to give us your honest feedback. We strive to ensure every guest has a SUPER stay and our hot breakfast is a hit!!

WE look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We had been driving for over 15 hours exhausted and happy to see a Super 8 motel, however the front desk personnel was rude with us. He quoted us a price and when my husband showed his AAA card for a discount the employee stated, "This is the final price, take it or leave it". My experience in Canada was wonderful until we arrived at this Super 8 motel. Was his attitude really about the discount or the fact that we were foreigners, because all others as long as they were Canadian were treated with respect. The hotel elevators sounded and felt like they were in need of repair, the room smelled wet and the lights flickered all over the hotel. The room was clean and breakfast was acceptable. I will not be staying at this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank azucenavPasadena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica S, General Manager at Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy Area, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to express your feelings regarding your recent stay. We were unaware of any issues during your stay and I would be happy for you to call the property direclty.

I have researched some of your comments, our elevators are top of the line, well maintained and we have not had issues regarding our elevators. All our lights are working both inside and outside of the building, and have had no complaints regarding flickering.

Again, thank you for your concerns and I will be following up with all staff members to ensure that they give the best customer service avaliable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Southeast Calgary
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary South
Southwest Calgary
Comfort Inn & Suites South
Comfort Inn & Suites South
#75 of 109 in Calgary
3.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southeast Calgary
Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary South
Southeast Calgary
Delta Calgary South Hotel
Delta Calgary South Hotel
#41 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy Area

Property: Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy Area
Address: 60 Shawville Rd SE, Calgary, Alberta T2Y 3S6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Southwest Calgary
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy Area 2*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Super 8 Motel - Shawnessy has an exceptional reputation of excellent service and comfortable, and clean rooms, which has earned us the prestigious "Pride of Super8" award. Conveniently located on Macleod Trail in Alberta's largest and most active city, Calgary Shawnessy Super 8 Motel has many things to offer both families and the business traveler. We are close to MacLeod Trail South and Spruce Meadows. For shoppers and those seeking entertainment in the South West section of Calgary, we're in the midst of everything! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Motel - Calgary / Shawnessy Hotel Calgary
Super 8 Calgary
Super Eight Calgary
Calgary Super 8
Calgary Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing