We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy Area
Ranked #73 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
GreenLeadersBronze level
Grande Prairie, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

This is a nice place for a short stay in south Calgary. The hotel is a standard Super 8 with pool and hot tub. There is a breakfast room with free hot breakfast (usual warmers with egg and meat). The place was clean, staff friendly, and reasonably priced. Calgary hotels seem to be 25% more than many similar places so these hotels offer an option.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary8781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica S, General Manager at Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy Area, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thank you for taking time out to express your feelings about your recent stay. On behalf of the staff , we are SUPER excited that you had such a great stay. The team prides themselves on giving great customer service and making ever effort to ensure all guests have a memorable stay.

We are looking forward to seeing you again !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    139
    105
    52
    50
See reviews for
194
69
30
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Medicine Hat, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Stayed at this Super 8 for one week during training in DeWinton. Located at the southern end of Macleod Trail, I was only 10 minuites from my destination. The Hotel was easy to access and find, although the entrance was kind of tricky as the hotel is set back behind a strip mall. It is located right beside a WalMart, and in the vicinity of many other stores and restaraunts. The hotel is aged slightly, with the odd deficiency in the walls, etc. The television and remote needed a rocket scientist to figure it out. The continental breakfast was quite varied, and the food was good. The bed was pretty comfortable, and was equipped with no less than 6 pillows, all different in thickness. As mentioned, a bit dated, but clean. I would stay here again, and recommend it for those who appreciate the basics, clean and accomodating.

Room Tip: second and third floor quieter than pool/lobby/breakfast room main floor. less traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ITSED, Manager at Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy Area, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
We truly do appreciate you taking the time to share with us your experience at Super 8 Shawnessy. We acknowledge certain shortcomings as you identified and are conitnually upgrading our hotel to meet our guests' expectations. We look forward to having you stay with us during your next Calgary visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

This freshly renovated property was exceeding super 8 standards and the front desk staff was pleasantly accomodating. This one is close to all the majot amenties as well as Spruce Meadows which was conveniently closeby. Highly Recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kool P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ITSED, General Manager at Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy Area, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Management and staff are truly grateful for you very positive feedback. Comments such as that you provided for your stay at Super 8 Shawnessy inspire our staff to continue to provide above average service. We look forward to your next Calgary visit which will allow us the privilege of serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernie, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I'm not a big fan of budget chains, but I was pleasantly surprised by the Super 8 at Shawnessey in Calgary. Stayed 3 nights on a business trip for an event at Spruce Meadows. Great location if you're there for Spruce Meadows or shopping - tons of stores nearby. C-train is just 3 blocks away with free parking and a 30 minute train every 10 minutes to downtown.

Really friendly & helpful staff (front desk, houskeepers and breakfast staff) and a very warm welcome from Eddie on arrival. Pleasant lobby area and great pool and hot tub with water slide.

Really loved my free upgrade to a suite with giant king bed and separate sitting room. Room & public areas were spotlessly clean (I've worked in many hotels so I know where to look) and well stocked. Very comfy bed, great shower, plenty of lighting. Fridge and microwave in room were very useful. Free wifi was great.

Found the TVs a bit tricky - they take ages to start up and there's no instructions so it's hard to tell if you've even turned it on for a while. Nice new decor and furnishings, the shiny rounded walls are a bit dated, although freshly painted. Possibly overpriced at the rack rates but great if you can get a deal. Very surprised to find the front desk doesn't have a corkscrew! This was one of the most common requests I used to get when I worked in a Motel.

Enjoyed the complimentary breakfast one morning- large selection including hot items, pastries, fruit, cereal, bagels, toast and a selection of drinks. The other two mornings went to Second Cup across the street because I love their coffee and don't have one at home. Had dinner at the Plow on the other side of Macleod Trail one night- also recommended for good pub food and international beers.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rfaraway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ITSED, General Manager at Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy Area, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Your comments regarding your stay at Super 8 Shawnessy are sincerely appreciated. Your review was shared with all the staff and they are grateful that the customer service they provide is appreciated by you, our guest. We look forward to having you stay with us again and allow us to provide you with a similar experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We made an overnight trip and had to bring our 3 dogs along to Calgary with it. This place was very accommodating for us and we really enjoyed it. Room was a little in "used" condition but being in a pet room, kind of expected. Still clean and quiet though. Right by EVERYTHING you need shopping and restaurant wise. Even got some good useful coupons for the stores in the area with our check in. Price was decent too. Free breakfast was just ok, but it's free and there's tons of options in the area if you want something bigger and better.

Would certainly stay again, with or without our dogs :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ITSED, General Manager at Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy Area, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to provide your comments on your recent stay at Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy.
Your feedback is extremely important to management and staff and we look forward to providing you similar service on your next visit to Calgary, with or without the dogs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIMBEY
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Quite pricey, not really worth the extra, super 8 hotel with same amenities in BC about 3/5th the cost per nite.
Missing standard thing like luggage stand. Could use two (none is this room). TV dark and difficult to operate and good visablity only straight on. Won't be buying that model!!!!
Would recomend that continental breakfast overall supervisor have review of food handling course, not necessary with staff on hand, just that person.

Room Tip: This was the King room. Price the same as two queens and would recommend two queens in order to have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ITSED, Manager at Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy Area, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to provide us your feedback relative to your recent stay at Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy. we are sorry that your experience at our hotel did not meet your expectations.We will share your comments with our staff and management team in an effort to improve your experience during your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Got to the hotel around 4 on a saturday and we were very tired,The black girl at the front was very delightful,very nice. and proffessional.She made us feel at home.Our room was on the first floor.The room was very clean and beds were well done.The only problem was the internet was very slow.Continental breakfast was very good compared to other motels.Good hotel.Good value for the prices.

Room Tip: Great hotel.First floor is noisy though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank darlingpearl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ITSED, General Manager at Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy Area, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
We appreciate the review you have completed on your recent stay at Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy. We have passed your comments on to the front desk agent to whom your referred to in your review. Feedback such as yours is always very valuavle as we work toward having our guests' stay a pleasant one.
Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Southwest Calgary
Comfort Inn & Suites South
Comfort Inn & Suites South
#76 of 109 in Calgary
177 reviews
Southeast Calgary
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southeast Calgary
Delta Calgary South Hotel
Delta Calgary South Hotel
#45 of 109 in Calgary
541 reviews
Southeast Calgary
Stetson Village Inn
Stetson Village Inn
#85 of 109 in Calgary
35 reviews
Southeast Calgary
Carriage House Inn
Carriage House Inn
#30 of 109 in Calgary
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy Area

Property: Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy Area
Address: 60 Shawville Rd SE, Calgary, Alberta T2Y 3S6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Southwest Calgary
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy Area 2*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Super 8 Motel - Shawnessy has an exceptional reputation of excellent service and comfortable, and clean rooms, which has earned us the prestigious "Pride of Super8" award. Conveniently located on Macleod Trail in Alberta's largest and most active city, Calgary Shawnessy Super 8 Motel has many things to offer both families and the business traveler. We are close to MacLeod Trail South and Spruce Meadows. For shoppers and those seeking entertainment in the South West section of Calgary, we're in the midst of everything! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Calgary Shawnessy Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Motel - Calgary / Shawnessy Hotel Calgary
Super 8 Calgary
Super Eight Calgary
Calgary Super 8
Calgary Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing