We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“there when we needed it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Super 8 Village Calgary AB
Ranked #93 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Reviewed October 8, 2012

arrived in town late to be with dieing brother they offered us a room up grade at same price many thanks

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
1  Thank ROBERT T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super8calgaryvillage, General Manager at Super 8 Village Calgary AB, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Dear ROBERT T,

Thank you for choosing Super 8 Motel Village for your recent stay in Calgary. We are always pleased to hear from our guests, especially when we have succeeded in making their experience a pleasant one.

Thank your for writing a review about us and we sincerely hope to see you again on your next visit to Calgary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (445)
There are newer reviews for Super 8 Village Calgary AB
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

381 - 387 of 445 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2012

The room was very poor with a musty smell. The breakfast was not even close to a superstart breakfast as I was lead to believe. In fact it was advertised on the web site and the lobby wall. To make matters worst, a Mcdonald's breakfast was also advertised on the wall. The photos on the web site were not accurate. This is a poor value fot the price we paid. It is a down grade for the Super 8 chain!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
1  Thank JACKIEManitoba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super8calgaryvillage, General Manager at Super 8 Village Calgary AB, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Dear JACKIEManitoba,

Thank you for expressing your concerns about the room and our super start breakfast. I appreciate very much your taking the time to write about is and I sincerely apologize that we did not meet your expectations. We take pride in the cleanliness of our guest rooms, and are embarrassed to learn of your experience.

Again, I sincerely apologize and we hope you will give us another chance to show you the Super 8 standards of quality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

we stayed at the super 8 for 2 nights - nice big room with 2 double beds. sink outside of bathroom which was very handy. hotel had a pool and laundry (very helpful as we were travelling). it is a little way out of town but there is a metro/train station 2 mins walk away. Directly around the hotel were lots of resturants and take away places. Staff friendly and helpful and a basic breakfast included too.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Gavin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super8calgaryvillage, General Manager at Super 8 Village Calgary AB, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2012

Dear Gavin A,

The management and staff of the Super 8 Motel Village Calgary would like to thank you for taking time to write a review about your stay on our property. We are happy to know that you liked the hotel room and that you enjoyed the amenities of the hotel such as the pool and the laundromat.

We sincerely hope that you will give us the pleasure of your patronage again on your next visit to Calgary.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

Having stayed at several Super 8's over the years, this one truly surprised me in how run down and dumpy it was, especially being in a large city. Super 8's are usually clean and decent. This one is neither.
The first thing I noticed was the musty, rottenish odor in our room, kind of like a really old house that has water damage. Yes, the carpet was new but sadly this did not greatly improve the overall shabbiness of the room. We noticed small insects along where the wall meets the floors, maybe termites? The bathroom was not entirely clean either. Disappointing breakfast too. Honestly, I don't understand why people would stay here unless they have no other choice.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Figglewiggle43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super8calgaryvillage, General Manager at Super 8 Village Calgary AB, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Hi Figglewiggle43,

Please accept our apologies for any inconveniences incurred during your recent stay with our hotel.

Your experience was not the accepted quality of service that Super 8 Motels represent. I am sorry to know that you were allowed to check-in to a musty room. We just recently renovated all our guest rooms and we never had any similar issues before.

Also, we wish to apologize about the small insects in your room. We have no explanation as to where the small insects came from. The motel undergoes stringent pest-control measures. Your review lets us know we must do better.

Again, thank you for taking the time to let us know where improvement is needed so that we may continue to maintain the Super 8 standards; and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Positive comment first: we needed to sleep 6 people and the suite was perfect. One bed in the main area, and two doubles beds in a private area.

Negative comments: And it's a list. The room was not very clean. We found a sock under the telephone desk and ear-rings down on the floor along the wall by one of the beds. We were charged $1 for a small safe in the room, with no warning. The breakfast was lousy - no space for more than about 8 people to eat and only a small quantity of food. The muffins were gone by 7:30 am and the worker said they had no more. Milk and juice were left empty for up to 5 minutes before being refilled.

Not highly recommended, but worth consideration for the suite room that sleeps 6 and for its convenient location.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blyoungsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super8calgaryvillage, General Manager at Super 8 Village Calgary AB, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

Hi blyoungsk

Thank you for your recent stay with us. We are happy to know that you appreciate our family rooms with three beds.

We sincerely apologized for the substandard condition of your room. We take pride in the cleanliness of our guest rooms, and are embarassed to learn of your experience.

About the safe charge, it is advised on the registration card that you signed at check-in. You might have missed reading that part which says "The hotel is not responsible for the loss of valuables left in the rooms. A personal safe is located in each guest room. I accept the $1.05 fee per night for the safe." We intend not to ask the guest if they will use the safe or not for security reasons.

Our breakfast area has a limited seating capacity for 16 people to dine all at the same time. We apologized if there was no space to accomodate you when you came for breakfast. We always make sure that we have enough supply of breakfast for all the registered guests; that is why we ask the guest at check-in how many people will stay so we can prepare enough supply for the breakfast. I cannot tell you why there were no muffins left as early as 7:30 am, and why the juice and milk were left empty for five minutes. I can only tell you that the motel staff strives to provide the highest quality guest service. We fell short, and for that we apologize.

Again, we thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention, and we apologize for any inconvenience. Please feel welcome at our motel in your future travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

This was my worst experience ever and I have being travelling lots, being in cheap and expensive accommodation.
I am trying to put a formal complaint but they do not even provided an email address where I could so, if someone knows how can I do it, please let me know.
First of all I made my reservation through Wyndham Hotel Group Hotels. I was quoted 79.90$ a night without taxes for 1 Queen Bed Room No smoking; 1 Queen Bed Non-Smoking Efficiency with free Wi-Fi, kitchenette and free breakfast; Maximum occupancy: 2 people. The room 274 was ok but the problem was that they charged us 87.99$ plus taxes a night instead of 79.90$ said when I booked it.
The breakfast was very poor, even going at 7.30a.m. it was always empty, not muffins, not brown bread, not boiled eggs, not apple juice, every morning if you wanted something , you had to ask for it, so frustrating as breakfast last until 9.30a.m.
Also they charge us 1$ a night for a safe box that we did not ask for.
After the 3 days, I need it to book one more night and the guy at the front desk I do not know his name, this was at 8pm on Thursday the 9th of August told me that it was one available for smokers, I ask him how the room was and he said a bit smelly but not too bad, I could not see it because was people on it.
The next day when we arrived to the room 270 it was disgusting not just the smell, but you could not breeze in there, the room was filthy. The A/C was very noisy. We tried to seep with the window open, none of us could sleep at all in the whole night, I think nobody should be allowed to charge any money for that room.
The towels in this room where all broken, not worn but broken, it did not have a kitchen like said on the net.
When we went to check out we told Matt the guy behind the desk everything about the room and he said very rude that it was not his fault, when we told him about the price for the room the 3 first nights he said that it was nothing he could do , he did not even check. He was rude and unpleasant.
The problem was that in the Wyndham Hotel Group Hotels Confirmed Reservation Notification‏ they do not say any price, what is a bit cheeky.
Anyways it was a very bad experience, pay 100$ for a non-sleeping night.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spaniard1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super8calgaryvillage, General Manager at Super 8 Village Calgary AB, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Hi spaniard1977

First, we would like thank you for communicating your concern about your recent stay with us. We've made a very careful investigation about the rate issue and we have verified the rates published on the day when you booked your hotel room. Indeed, you are correct, the special rate for 1 Queen Bed Non-Smoking, if you are staying for three or more nights, is $ 79.99 before taxes. However, for the efficiency room that you booked, the rate is $87.99; and you might have overlooked this detail when you finalized your reservation. Your reservation log details show that you made your reservation online for an efficiency room, non-smoking, for three nights. Also, our record shows that it is the same rate ($87.99 + taxes) printed on the registration card that you signed when you checked in. Normally, when a reservation is made through the Wyndham Hotel group website, they will give you a printable confirmation page which contains details of your reservation including the rate, the room type, and the confirmation number.

The charge for the safe box is advised on the registration card that you signed at check-in. We do not ask our hotel guests if they will use the safe or not for security reasons. Usually, the guest returns the safe key to the front desk when they do not intend to use it. If you have advised us that you do not want the safe box, then we could have reversed the charges for you.

With regards to the complimentary breakfast, I understand that breakfast time could be very busy as it is the time when guests check out too. We apologize if the food were not replenished on time as desk clerk could be busy checking out other guests.

Lastly, we feel sorry to know about your experience on your stay at our smoking suite. We do not let non-smoking guests stay in a smoking room unless they chose to. The smoking room that you booked for the last night is a standard smoking Queen bed room without a kitchen. If you have told us that you did not like the room and would not want to stay,we could have cancelled it for you with no penalty.

Again, we apologize for any inconveniences that you experienced on your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Always trying to save money when on a road trip so we can do fun stuff - we look for a "cheaper" option for a hotel. Hence, we look for a clean Super8. Sometimes one comes along that you are surprised by! We checked out a room before agreeing to the price - $120 (taxes included). Super 8's are never this much in the states. This even included a fully stocked kitchenette! Towels were fluffy and hair dryer was even supplied. Again, not always our experience. No worries here - we would easily recommend! Even has a pool!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank djfrog13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super8calgaryvillage, General Manager at Super 8 Village Calgary AB, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2012

Dear djfrog13,

Thank you for taking the time to write about us.

We are very pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay at the Super 8 Motel Village in Calgary. Thank you for noticing our fluffy towels and the outdoor heated pool.

We sincerely hope you will give us the pleasure of your patronage again in the near future.

Again, thank you for sharing your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northwest Calgary
Best Western Plus Village Park Inn
Northwest Calgary
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary NW-Banff Trail
Northwest Calgary
Travelodge Calgary University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Calgary
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Calgary- University Northwest
Northwest Calgary
Aloft Calgary University
Aloft Calgary University
#35 of 109 in Calgary
298 reviews
Northwest Calgary
Calgary North Thriftlodge
Calgary North Thriftlodge
#92 of 109 in Calgary
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Village Calgary AB? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Village Calgary AB

Address: 1904 Crowchild Trail NW, Calgary, Alberta T2M 3Y7, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northwest Calgary
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range: $59 - $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Village Calgary AB 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Super 8 Village Calgary AB reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Village Calgary Hotel Calgary
Calgary Super Eight
Calgary Super 8
Super 8 Calgary
Super Eight Calgary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing