We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good budget option in Calgary”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ramada Limited Calgary Northwest
Ranked #97 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Reviewed January 4, 2011

Booked last minute and was very happy with our stay.
Simple but clean accomodations.
Right off the Transcanada and close to downtown.
Free Breakfast included with hot waffles.
Very friendly staff.
Free in-room Wi-fi is awesome.

Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank g4480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (252)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

213 - 219 of 252 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2010

So.....

I spent an evening out in Calgary with the girlfriend. Needless to say, we came back late and full of food and drink.

The next morning we discovered someone else's t-shirt in the bed. This would not have been possible if the sheets had actually been changed. So I guess we slept in someone else's night-time funk. I hope the next guest didn't sleep in ours. It would be one heck of a nasty multi-person funk cocktail. Drink up.

DO NOT STAY HERE. All of the information contained in the negative reviews is accurate. The franchise should be revoked from the owner. I honestly believe that you are putting your health at risk by staying here. I do not say this lightly. I've stayed in a variety of dumpy hotels throughout the world. This was by far the worst.

I complained to the front desk, who reluctantly comped the room and made me sign a receipt that stated "final compensation." I complained to Ramada, who promised me that they would look into the matter. I was told that the management would be sending me a letter. I have waited...but no letter. Ramada checked back with me, I told them I never recieved the letter of apology that was supposedly in the mail. I have received no further communication with them.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank ProfANON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2010

Like a few other reviews here, I too banked on the Ramada brand name instead of checking out reviews.

It’s a rather dirty hotel. There's dust in the corners, a brown stain on the toilet seat that I didn’t want to investigate (think public washroom), torn wallpaper and stained carpets. The whole room is very rough looking; I tried not to look around much. The hotel had wireless internet, but it was slow and hard to pick up a signal.
Based on the condition of the room, I passed on the free continental breakfast. But surprisingly I had a good night’s sleep on the mattress.
There are better hotels close by. This place is good for a one night stay. Only stay here if there's a major event in town and other rooms are hard to get.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gbsask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2010

The room was filthy as were the carpets, the trim was missing from the air con unit. Windows were disgusting. DO NOT STAY THERE, only stayed in a Ramada twice, this was the second and last time EVER.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GordonWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2010

We stayed here for just one night and really looked forward to it as it was, what we thought, a RAMADA. Didn't realise it wasn't the big RAMADA chain. It was okay, the pool appeared clean enough and the breakfast was very adequate with toast, cereal and cookies, etc, and the wireless was a bonus as it was quite fast. Rooms are very old and dark and could do with some serious upgrading, particularly from the outside part of the hotel looking out to the car park. The staff were friendly enough and did what you requested. Many, many customers appeared to be making complaints about their rooms though so not sure about that. Our room had a real OLD beer smell (like beer had been spilled quite heavily) and although non-smoking (and I am a smoker) had a stale cigarette smell coming through our bathroom wall from whoever was smoking in the next door room. Our door didn't open properly from the outside but after numerous attempts each time it eventually worked. To be fair we informed the staff the next day and they took note. Okay if you are not looking for anything too comfortable, not really a nice and safe-looking place. I would also question the area, not knowledgeable enough to comment but don't think it was a great area.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brotherdogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2010

I was booked to stay here on 22 & 23 Jan 10. I was the adult with three 16-year old girls. The room was small and the beds were up against the baseboard hearters. Pillows were hot. One girl noticed a large bug running across the carpet. We killed it. Then went into the bathroom to discover logs of unfamiliar bugs in the tub. That was it. We couldn't stay there and went to another hotel. Needless to say that I will never go there again and will be very leary about the Ramada chain of hotels.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dalejnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2009

We stayed in this hotel November 7th for 1 night, thank God. The reviews are right, it is dirty, and dated. Do not stay here! Yuk.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank twoblue_iis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northwest Calgary
Travelodge Calgary University
Northwest Calgary
Calgary North Thriftlodge
Calgary North Thriftlodge
#92 of 109 in Calgary
201 reviews
Northwest Calgary
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary NW-Banff Trail
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Calgary
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Calgary- University Northwest
Northwest Calgary
Aloft Calgary University
Aloft Calgary University
#33 of 109 in Calgary
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Limited Calgary Northwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Limited Calgary Northwest

Address: 2369 Banff Trail North West, Calgary, Alberta T2M 4L2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northwest Calgary
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range: $53 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ramada Limited Calgary Northwest 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*AMENITIES AND SERVICES: King & Queen Beds Free Continental Breakfast Free High Speed Wi-Fi Internet Access Free Local Calls & Incoming Faxes Free Weekday Newspaper Free Parking for Guests Indoor Swimming Pool & Hot Tub Coin Laundry on premises Same Day Dry-cleaning (Weekdays). 100% Non-Smoking Rooms Variety of Restaurants nearby LRT (City Transit) across the street *ATTRACTIONS: McMahon Stadium - 1/4 Mile University of Calgary - 1/4 Mile Foothills Hospital - 2 Miles SAIT / Jubilee Auditorium - 2 Miles Speed Skating Oval - 1/2 Mile Olympic Saddledome - 2 1/2 Miles Stampede Park - 2 1/2 Miles Canada Olympic Park - 3 Miles Calgary Zoo - 3 1/2 Miles Calgary International Airport (YYC) - 10 Miles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Limited Calgary Northwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Limited Calgary Hotel Calgary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing