We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dated Amusement Park that is ok value for annual passes”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Calaway Park

Calaway Park
Ranked #22 of 294 things to do in Calgary
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An Old West Theme park.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Dated Amusement Park that is ok value for annual passes”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This amusement park has been around for a long time so it's not surprising that there is at least one to three rides that are "broken" and not running at any given time during the short season (end of June to end of August full time, Sept-Oct weekends). There is noticeable garbage around the base of the rides that is present all season long. In fact, the pond around the log ride has numerous baseball hats and other debris that has been around season after season. The washrooms are however pretty clean, which is much appreciated. The only food is fast food. There are no healthy food choices at all so many people bring their own lunch to eat at the provided picnic tables. It is a good idea to bring your own food as many of the concessions are generally closed, accept only cash or (as we discovered last weekend, the long weekend) were open late as they did not yet receive their food shipments. The annual passes (around $40) are nearly the same cost as the one day fee ($34) so there is pretty good value for an annual pass but it is really costly for a family coming just for the day.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shannon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    216
    149
    48
    18
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Ho hum Calaway Park”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

As mentioned by other reviewers, this park is looking a bit rundown these days. The majority of rides are really for kids 2-8. My kids were actually bored with the park and we were done within 2 hours. Family of four cost $91 with taxes, seemed overpriced. If your kids like those stuffed animal games, there weren't too many and for some reason the game attendants had to keep running to some office to get change for everyone who didn't have the correct amount to play. Strange. Food was expensive at the park as expected, but you can bring your own food into the park. Also, there were lots of gnats flying around all over the park and rides. I know it is a park, but that was an incredible amount of flies.

Odds are we won't be returning here again.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank sharka_boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spirit River, AB
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Getting old and tired”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Expensive for the day unless you have a half price coupon. Food was not great and slow service . My grandchildren have fun there though..
The family has a seasons pass and ho often. They have learned to pack a lunch..there are places to sit in the shade and eat your lunch. Many rides were closed for repairs

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sarah Lee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrace, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place for kids to let loose.”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Calaway Park has a great RV camping section to its operation. You also get a discount for the amusement park if you camp there on site. The kids can ride all day long as many times as they wish. The only thing that was disappointing was the price food that was offered on site, the quality wasn't the greatest.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Don_Sparks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Our family had a great time”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We went on the labour day weekend for our toddlers 3rd birthday. There were so many rides that she could enjoy with an adult and a few by herself. The line ups weren't to bad but it would be definitely nicer to go on an off day. There are coupons out there so there is no reason to pay full price for tickets you just have to look online. We actually stayed at the calaway campground and were able to walk back and forth through out the day. The park itself really needs a clean up. The picnic tables were beyond dirty and sometimes we were scared to sit on it because they seemed like they would fall apart. I never seen any staff walking around and picking up trash or cleaning bathrooms. They really need to improve on that. Everything could use a new coat of paint as well.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank MsC1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Calaway Park also viewed

 

Been to Calaway Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing