We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent until the steak” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Charcut Roast House

Charcut Roast House
Reserve with OpenTable
Charcut Roast House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 3,490 Restaurants in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Canadian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: 9th Avenue SW
Description: "Top Chef" season 1 finalist, Connie DeSousa Co-Chef / Owner of this new restaurant located in Downtown Calgary. Featuring urban-rustic cuisine with a custom-built rotisserie and charbroiler, vintage-style slicer and hand-crafted charcuterie eating bar. A contemporary and inviting gathering place, CHARCUT combines local chef-driven cuisine with Italian and Country French accents. Ingredients are sourced from small, local artisan farmers and ranchers, with herbs harvested daily from its own garden, minimizing the miles food travels. Open late night with a full menu.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
“Decent until the steak”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

Brought one of our distribution reps from out of town for dinner. Credit where credit is due, the salads were good, the warm reclette and bread were really good and even the burger was solid. Then the two 24 ounce bone in striploin steaks came. They were cooked more like a roast then a steak, so the consistency was completely off, they were actually more like a roast. There was no char on the outside and the result was no flavour, and because of how they were cooked they dried out quite quickly on the board. Furthermore it seemed as though the cuts of mean were not centre cut, but more likely end cut as they were full of sinew and tough.

In the end we spent just over $600 and got an average meal for it. Not the sort of impression we wanted someone visiting for the first time to have of cuisine in Calgary.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nikolas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    347
    181
    94
    38
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
137 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Lunch OK But Not Special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

For those in a rush, this meat-centric resto adjacent the Le Germain Hotel offers a 45-minute "Lunch All At Once", at two price points, $15 and $25. No choices here - you get whatever they are making that day. My $25 rotisserie lunch consisted of a slice of beef brisket, a small arugula salad, fries, and condiments. After scarfing this down, you can then exit with a "bag of cookies" (two really) and a coffee to go. The food was good but not remarkable, and no bargain. I was a bit underwhelmed, given the hype. The place is "cosy", noisy and attracts a youngish crowd, at least at lunch.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank fussybob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Top chef indeed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

Charcut has become my favourite restaurant ever. I travel to Calgary monthly and won't miss an opportunity for a meal here. Seats at the food bar are recommended for one or two. Watching the action in the kitchen is almost the best part.
Menu changes regularly and all is fabulous. Pigs head mortadella is a can't miss. It's tissue paper thin served with house made grainy mustard. Mmmmm
Delicious spicy romain salad with feta was recently taken off menu and I'm not sure how I'll satisfy the craving.
Bone marrow with escargot is also one of the best experiences.
All staff make you feel at home and provide excellent service. When she's not directing the dance in the kitchen, Connie is always a pleasant host, making her way around to greet all her patrons.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank CharlseyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
160 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Ate until I got the meat sweats”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

We recently made a trip out to Calgary and Charcut was on our to do list. Many items on the menu looked good. For our appetizer, we settled on a salad and charcuterie board to share. There was enough food that if we had added on another appetizer or a dessert that we would have been more than satisfied. I had the chimichurri steak for my main and my husband had the pork chop. Everything we ate was excellent. The service was excellent. We would definitely go back. There were a lot of menu items that we'd love to try next time.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AndreaL19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Service excellent but food so so”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

While visiting a friend in Calgary we wanted to have a special meal. We used a website to search for the highest rated restaurants and Charcut came up as one of the top restaurants in Calgary. We made reservations a couple of days in advance as it was quite popular.

Charcut is set right in downtown Calgary. We were seated very soon after our arrival there. We ordered appetizers and drinks. The appetizers were out of the norm and we were excited to give them a try. Unfortunately they lacked much for flavour. We were hoping our main meals would be better.

I ordered a steak expecting that in a city known for its cattle and in a restaurant claiming to be a steak house that I would be treated to a good meal. Boy was I disappointed. Between the 3 of us the bill came out to over $400 but I think I would have had a more enjoyable meal at a place like the old Bonanza Steak Houses. The one positive thing I could say was that the service was very good.

Never going back though.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank elink40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charcut Roast House also viewed

 

Been to Charcut Roast House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing