We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“OK but lacks good service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Calgary Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Calgary Airport
Ranked #16 of 110 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Saskatchewan, Canada
Level Contributor
147 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“OK but lacks good service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

This hotel is new and a bit hard to find tucked off of a major road etc. We had a very nice mini suite which was great. If one thing this hotel lacks is good service and attention to detail. After check in we were not called (as we are in other Garden Inns) to ask how our rooms was. Also, they did not bring or have bottled water in the room we had to go down with the coupon to get it.

The cordless phone in the bedroom did not work- battery or something broken. Called the front desk but it was evening and nothing they could/would do. The next morning the toilet plugged up (not a big deal). Called the front desk and they said someone would be right up. Waited 20 minutes and called again. Again they said someone would be right up waited another 20 minutes called again. Finally after 45 min someone came. It was a bit hard to get ready for a meeting as one had to wait until they came.

Also, the front desk clerk in the AM looked only partially dressed; certainly not dressed in business attire.
Elevators are the slowest I have seen since eastern Europe.

One good thing is the the parking is free.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Teacherbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer R, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Calgary Airport, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
We are sorry we were not able to provide you with the quality of services and accommodations you deserve. This is not typical of our hotel and staff, and we are always looking for ways to improve our customer experience. Please accept our apology for the delay in your service call and any inconvenience this may have caused you. We have shared your comments with our Team Members and assure you we will work harder to provide you the best stay possible in the future. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you will consider staying with us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    232
    53
    13
    8
See reviews for
131
225
41
221
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alberta Canada
Level Contributor
139 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Service second to none, beautiful clean rooms and free shuttle to and from the airport. This hotel also offers parking packages so you can leave your car while you fly off on holiday. The site is also located close to numerous wonderful restaurants like "the Cactus Club". A great overnight we or destination stop.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Canada
Level Contributor
134 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

seems to have some renovations going on, but the place was very clean and very little evidence of it.

the restaurant still is a bit slow and a strange menu/buffet combo.

we had sandwiches and salad for lunch and they were very good.

the room was very clean and quiet.

will definitely stay again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Churchill_Fortunato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer R, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Calgary Airport, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you for taking a moment to share your recent experience with us. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and I have shared your comments on your dining experience with our food and beverage team. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford,Pa
Level Contributor
326 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed here the first night and the last night of our trip to the Canadian Rockies. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the staff were friendly and helpful. When I was checking out I wanted to pay for bottled water for our trip but they gave it to me free. The shuttle for the airport was convenient and runs every half an hour to the airport. The food was okay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Milford_PaMooseman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer R, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Calgary Airport, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you for taking the time and filling out a review from your recent stay with us. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay, our staff and our shuttle services. We hope that we will see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle Washington
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Given that I waited almost three months to write this review, but still remember the horrible food in the dining room and okay staff, should speak volumes.

On a positive note, the room was very clean and kept up. The "air" bed was an interesting touch, though I did not really notice any difference between it and sleeping on a regular mattress. Also, the fitness room, though small, was clean.

On the negative side, the food in the dining room was absolutely horrible. I ordered the $25 special, which got me a main entrée, drink and dessert. The entrée, which was pork, was tougher than a baseball glove and the apple dessert seemed "old." There was only wait person, so the service was slow, despite having what appeared to be a manager just standing around watching. Another issue occurred when I asked a staff member where I could buy some ibuprofen and he directed me to drive 15 KM to drug store. I then discovered that they sold extra strength Tylenol only about five feet away from the front desk. Finally, though this might be user error on my behalf, the room just would not cool down at night. I felt like I was sleeping in a sauna...

Overall, this was among the worst Hiltons I have stayed at in years. So bad, that I elected to stay at a Comfort Inn for my next two trips to Calgary, despite being a Hilton Honor member.

As usual, I do reserve the right to say that maybe I just stayed there during a bad time, but given it was not busy, I did elect not to return.

Room Tip: The elevator is a bit slow, so find a room closer to the lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NWCN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer R, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Calgary Airport, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank You for the review of your recent experience at our hotel and restaurant. I understand that you were disappointed with the level of service you received and your entrée. I have shown your comments to our Kitchen team so that they are aware of the meal that you were served. I would also like to apologize that one of our team members sent you to a drug store when we had Tylenol for sale here. I have made all staff aware of what we have available for sale in our Pavilion Pantry.
I hope that the next time you are in area you will come back to see the changes we have made. Thank you once again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Booked this hotel online for our first night in Calgary before heading for Banff. We got a good deal and was cheaper than many budget motels. Easy to find from the airport (we did it in the dark without a satnav).
The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was large and well equipped with a fridge and microwave. Very quiet even though it was close to the airport. The large bed was very comfortable and the pillows were the best we ever had at a hotel (almost felt like taking them away with us!).
The breakfast was extra but was well worth it.
We would certainly stay here again if we came back to Calgary.

Room Tip: Look for ways of getting a discount (usually have to accept a no cancellation package)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Les41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
245 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Well appointed hotel with good size rooms. Particularly appreciated were the front desk staff who were most understanding when our departure flights were delayed. They let us check out very late at no extra charge and had the free shuttle on hand when it was time to go. That's the sort of flexibility guests sometimes need from airport hotels but in my experience many fail miserably when put to the test. The only real downside we found with the hotel was that there is no real restaurant, just a lobby bar which serves food. Fortunately there is a Moxies Bar Grill and an excellent Tim Hortons family restaurant within a few minutes walk. The rooms do not have safes which is very inconvenient if you don't wish to walk around carrying passports etc. Try harder, Hilton!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bognor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer R, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Calgary Airport, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you for your great review, we are so pleased you enjoyed you stay with us, we are sorry to hear that you were dissapointed that there are no safes in our guest rooms, however we do provide free safe deposit boxes at the front desk and we do apoloize that this was not passed along to you. We hope that the next time you are here to visit us you will try the Great North American Grill which serves Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner with a wide range of menu items.

We look forward to seeing you again soon and thank you for your business,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northeast Calgary
Wyndham Garden Calgary Airport
Northeast Calgary
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Freeport Inn & Suites
Northeast Calgary
Hotel Clique Calgary Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northeast Calgary
Radisson Hotel & Conference Centre Calgary Airport
Northeast Calgary
Lakeview Signature Inn Calgary Airport
Northeast Calgary
BEST WESTERN PLUS Port O' Call Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Calgary Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Calgary Airport

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Calgary Airport
Address: 2335 Pegasus Rd NE, Calgary, Alberta T2E 8C3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northeast Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
#10 Business Hotel in Calgary
#15 Family Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Calgary Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Calgary Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Calgary Airport Hotel Calgary
Calgary Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Calgary
Calgary Airport Hilton Garden Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing