We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely place, best breakfast ever”
Review of Along River Ridge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Along River Ridge
Ranked #6 of 54 Calgary B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cow Bay, NS
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“lovely place, best breakfast ever”
Reviewed March 6, 2011

Nicely located on the Bow river. Must be even nicer in summer than in winter.
Every morning a different scrumptious breakfast! We were spoiled.
Hosts are very helpful and friendly. Nice place to relax or play some pool in the common area. Hope to be back some day.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank albertak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    13
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
20
63
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2011

Although the rooms and bath were a little smaller than we expected, every other aspect of our stay was top shelf. Merril and Dianne, the owners and hosts, were very gracious, and so so enjoyable to chat with.

Breakfasts were excellent, with a delicious assortment, including fresh fruit, muffins, cheese, and a freshly prepared hot dish. A hugh selection of books, magazines, games, and movies were readily available.

New suites were almost complete. Very large rooms, with every high end amenity. We'll be staying in the one overlooking the river on our next visit to Calgary.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medicine Hat, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2011

The B & B hosts were very nice and the living area and bedroom were very comfortable. I had all the comforts of home plus some - the wood fireplace, hot tub, wireless internet, and microwave popcorn were nice touches. Also, the breakfasts were delicious.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rascal46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2010

Really scenic setting on the Bow River, large garden with lots of seating,relaxing areas. Indoor spa tub - very enjoyable after busy sightseeing day. good bus transport close by to downtown Calgary. Amazing breakfast - keeps you going all day, great guest facilities - microwave,fridge,coffee making, bowls of sweets, bedside chocolates, reading material - everything you can think of. Cozy, homely atmosphere, we also had the place to ourselves so we were extra lucky. Thanks Merrill and Diane

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fallcanusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caz726
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2010

We stayed at Along River Ridge on the last night of our holiday before we flew back and we couldnt have asked for a better place to spend our last night.

There were so many facilties provided for us - a lounge area with books, films and games, a pool table, a kitchen stocked with all of different teas and coffees plus sweets and pretzels to nibble on, a beautiful garden overlooking the river with lots of places to sit and relax - more facilities than I've ever had in a B&B before. Plus extra nice touches like chocolates on the pillow, water in the bedrooms, a photo souvenir....the list goes on.

Breakfast was fantastic and made all the better by chatting to our host Merril, who couldnt have been any more friendly.

It was easy to find off Highway One on our way back from the Rockies and there was plenty of free parking. We caught the bus into downtown Calgary, the stop was just 5 minutes away and the journey to downtown was 15 minutes maximum. Much nicer staying here than staying downtown in my opinion.

I'd definitely recommend this as a place to stay in Calgary.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank caz726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 30, 2010

Along River Ridge is a Bed & Breakfast that was recommended to me by my grandparents. At first, I was a little skeptical on the whole idea since I have never actually stayed in one before; mainly I stay in hotel chains. When we entered the drive way it seemed as though the place was under going some kind of renovation, there were some boards that lay along the outside of the house and it didn’t really seem all that welcoming. When the door opened a very friendly man greeted us at the entrance. I was quite surprised at the amount of knick-knacks and décor, which filled the room. It felt like a home, even more importantly, you felt relaxed and at ease, A kind of relaxation that you feel when you are treated as a human being, rather than just a number.

After being shown my room on the top floor, a light smile etched across my face. My room had a small desk and a bench, which was right up against the window. The room also included a full functioning sink, toilet and shower. At first I expected that there wouldn’t be an Internet connection, but as I investigated the room further, there lay the name of their connection and a password in order to utilize it.
After a night sleep I woke up at 8:30 am (the time I had given the hosts for breakfast) and made my way to the tables. Not long after a hearty breakfast of eggs, toast, fruit and jams with fresh orange juice arrived, along with much needed coffee.

In conclusion all I can say is this place served good food, company and a memorable location. “Along River Ridge” may sound a little hokey at first, but until you take a look in the back yard and enjoy a late night tea in the gazebo, you just won’t understand the significance of its name.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James_Yas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panacea, FL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 17, 2010

Delightful place to stay--much more than just a bedroom and breakfast. Has a commons area with fireplace, seating area, dining area, hot tub and kitchenette; can sit on the ridge overlooking the river in a number of chairs, tables or sun. GREAT stay!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ValLaHart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northwest Calgary
Days Inn Calgary Northwest
Days Inn Calgary Northwest
#46 of 109 in Calgary
670 reviews
Northwest Calgary
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Calgary- University Northwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beltline
Hotel Elan
Hotel Elan
#3 of 109 in Calgary
627 reviews
Northwest Calgary
Best Western Plus Village Park Inn
Grey Eagle Resort
#12 of 109 in Calgary
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Along River Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Along River Ridge

Property: Along River Ridge
Address: 1919 52 St NW, Calgary, Alberta T3B 1C3, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northwest Calgary
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Along River Ridge 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along River Ridge B&B is a restful all-seasons retreat, a romantic hideaway, and a quiet and quaint getaway. Come relax and discover a cosy, comfortable and memorable B&B adventure at our Canada Select 4 Star Bed and Breakfast. Rest and Renew in the tranquil backyard with a "garden of delights" . Savour the Sights, Sounds, and Scents of a unique blend of urban and rural. Enjoy a truly indulgent experience that rejuvenates spirits,soothes souls, and bonds friendships. We have 2 standard rooms(queen size bed & a Luxury Royal King room(king size bed) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Along River Ridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing