We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great b&b” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Along River Ridge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Along River Ridge
Ranked #4 of 52 Calgary B&B and Inns
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great b&b”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

Garth A This is a wonderful b&b. Great facilities & amenities & delicious breakfast. Fantastic stay ! So relaxing right by the river in back yard. Rooms very modern with fire place. Large common area and relaxing hot tub. Easy access to downtown, every thing for the business traveler, I will definitely return

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank garth a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    11
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
20
60
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this B&B mid September and boy were we pleased with our choice. Merril and Diane were very gracious, accommodating hosts. In fact Merril picked us up from Calgary airport and dropped us off at Market Mall plus the C-train during our 2 night stay. I don't think many hosts would go out of their way to do that. We stayed in the King Suite, a beautiful, big and tastefully decorated room. Can match and beat any 5-star hotel. Not many of the latter can claim to offer a Jacuzzi bath along with a shower that can double as a steam room! Not to mention the fab fire. Everything you could want during your stay was catered for. Breakfasts were superb, fresh and more than enough to set you up for the rest of the day. Even though the back yard was affected by the floods back at the end of June both Merril and Diane were very pragmatic about their experience and in no way has this event affected the way they function. We'd certainly recommend this B&B to anyone and would go back in a heartbeat. Take care and all the best ... Celia and Peter Wilkinson

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Celia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Wonderful hospitality - I would say it is a home from home but our room and breakfast at Along the River was a lot better! We stayed in the queen room - it had all the mod cons and a very relaxing spa bath and steam shower! Breakfast was a delicious feast - eggs, bacon, yogurt, pastries and fruit platter. We stayed at Along the River during the 2013 Stampede, immediately after the floods. Luckily the house wasn't affected by the floods, it was sad to see their beautiful garden was lost. We wish them luck rebuilding their garden and we hope to visit again in the future. Liz & Phil

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LizzieSerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vestavia Hills, Alabama
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Our stay at Along River Ridge began with Merril picking us up at the airport which was most welcome since this was our first visit to Calgary. Two nights in the Superior King room were so wonderful and the breakfasts were delicious, and so much more than I had expected. Merril took us to the C-train station where we headed out to see Heritage Park for a day of fun in the sun on Friday. Highly recommend seeing this place while in Calgary. Diane and Merril are wonderful hosts, and made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Along River Ridge was to be our base for the Calgary Stampede. We were initially very worried about the flooding which occurred a week before we flew out, but a reassuring email from Merrill put our minds at rest. Despite being evacuated for a few days, and losing forty feet of decking and garden, Along River Ridge was up and running and we loved it!
Dianne gave us such a warm welcome before showing us to the King Superior room. This room is huge, with a huge bed, a huge bath, a huge television and a huge closet! Well appointed, and spotlessly clean, it was an ideal place to rest our weary heads. There is a well stocked common kitchen area a few feet away, and a private entrance to come and go as you please.
Breakfasts were a huge work of art. Always plenty of fresh fruit, juice, healthy cereals, baked goodies and coffee/tea and all beautifully presented. Dianne rustles up a hot course, whilst Merrill offers travel advice etc. We certainly breakfasted in style, with views over the Bow River, just yards outside.
However, what made our stay here, was the huge friendliness and generosity of Dianne and Merrill. Despite what they had just gone through, nothing was ever too much trouble for them. Merrill gave us a lift to the Transit station on the morning of the Stampede, and then again into town on the next night, when a taxi was not forthcoming. Just incredible hosts in a fantastic B and B. Our thanks

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Temptus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

We spent two wonderful nights in the Superior King room in this comfortable B&B, furnished with a comfortable huge bed and lots of amenities. Merril and Diane are gracious and interesting hosts, full of helpful tips on places to go and how to get there. Breakfasts were delicious and the view of the river is spectacular! (We hope it continues to recede and return to its normal level!!) The easy-to-use train into downtown is a short distance away. We highly recommend this lovely, quiet and beautiful place when visiting Calgary. -Mark and Lynn

Room Tip: We loved the Superior King....lots of room; very comfortable. However, if you want a river view, thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LynnDc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

Along the River Ridge is a fabulous place to stay while in the Calgary area. We couldn't have been more comfortable. Diane and Merril have to be the best B & B hosts ever! They are there for you with super advice regarding where to go and how to get there, but you also have a lot of privacy while you are there too. We found their advice extremely valuable during the Calgary Stampede. The location is very spacious. We were even able to entertain guests in the private living room available for guests. The view of the river is stunning. I was delighted when we returned to the home one evening and were greeted by a lovely walkway with at least 20 tea lights which were lit and welcoming us. The beds at this B & B are new and comfortable and the HD TV cable offers many more channels then we had at a hotel. Diane and Merril provide delicious breakfasts. You will be very happy you booked here.

PS If your budget allows, book the Royal Queen Room, it has everything and more! You won’t want to leave!

Room Tip: The royal queen room is great but the less expensive regular rooms are good too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northwest Calgary
Days Inn Calgary Northwest
Days Inn Calgary Northwest
#44 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
Beltline
Hotel Elan
Hotel Elan
#2 of 109 in Calgary
4.5 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Calgary
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Calgary- University Northwest
Northwest Calgary
Hotel Alma
Hotel Alma
#70 of 109 in Calgary
3.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Northwest Calgary
BEST WESTERN PLUS Village Park Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Along River Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Along River Ridge

Property: Along River Ridge
Address: 1919 52 St NW, Calgary, Alberta T3B 1C3, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northwest Calgary
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Along River Ridge 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along River Ridge B&B is a restful all-seasons retreat, a romantic hideaway, and a quiet and quaint getaway. Come relax and discover a cosy, comfortable and memorable B&B adventure at our Canada Select 4 Star Bed and Breakfast. Rest and Renew in the tranquil backyard with a "garden of delights" . Savour the Sights, Sounds, and Scents of a unique blend of urban and rural. Enjoy a truly indulgent experience that rejuvenates spirits,soothes souls, and bonds friendships. We have 2 standard rooms(queen size bed & a Luxury Royal King room(king size bed) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Along River Ridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing