We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gold floors are more spacious”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Fairmont Palliser
Ranked #19 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
172 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Gold floors are more spacious”
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

We got a room for the evening to attend a XMas party nearby. The gold floor room was worth it. The bathroom was huge. And the room was spacious. You will have access to the gold lounge which means snacks in the afternoon, breakfast in the morning and appies around 5pm. Alcohol is extra charge. Unfortunately, we had a noisy neighbour. So, they comped the room service charges.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Calgary4togo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFairmontPalliser, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont Palliser, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Thank you so much for your Golden review of our property and its Fairmont Gold offerings! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your night's stay with us following your holiday party. We look forward to have you be our guest again soon.

Best,
Jacqueline Tyler
Communications Manager
The Fairmont Palliser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,099
    628
    236
    100
    57
See reviews for
334
820
113
615
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (410)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
144 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

Lots of history and is definitely cool. But rooms are old and had peeling wallpaper. Bathroom was not cleaned very well as there were hairs on the counter and bath tub. It's expensive and not great value. Oh and the heating system is terrible.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank deanguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFairmontPalliser, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont Palliser, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Hello Dean,

We’ve read your thoughts about your recent experience as a guest with us and definitely hope to hear more. If you could send us a note directly, we’d be happy to review your stay details and pass on your feedback to our housekeeping department; your feedback on cleanliness if definably not our standard.

Thank you for your time and thoughts.

Best,
Jacqueline Tyler
Communications Manager
The Fairmont Palliser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
170 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

I enjoyed my 3 night stay here. I was on the 9th floor and could look up to the Calgary tower out of the window. The room was a cozy feeling. Not too big but I've been in the Banff Springs and had the same type of room. I think that is how they were built. Very clean. An $8 fee for drinking the water would be excessive though. I didn't use it. There was a bar fridge stocked which would be handy if you'd like a nightcap. Pricey again. Would be cheaper to bring something. Valet parking is pricey but there is a parkade right behind the hotel that is a bit cheaper. I was here for a convention and it was very handy to be connected to the pedway. I didn't have to go outside if I didn't want to. All convention locations were accessible with the indoor pedway. If you become a member of their presidents club you get free in-room wifi. Otherwise you have to pay a fee. No charge to join the club.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Albertatraveller2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFairmontPalliser, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont Palliser, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Hello there!

It’s great to hear you found our hotel’s location so convenient for your recent stay with us for a conference of yours. We too love the pedway to get around downtown- especially in the winter months. It’s also great to read that you were aware of the complementary WiFi for Fairmont President’s Club Members. We look forward to have you back!

Best,
Jacqueline Tyler
Communications Manager
The Fairmont Palliser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

I've always been intruigued by the Fairmont/Old CP Hotels so on a recent trip to Calgary stayted at the Palliser. Service was fantastic - friendly helpful staff. My room was recently renovated and clean. Good workout facilitites and breakfast was very nice. The lobby has great bones but could really use an update - as could the fact that there were a number of stairs and difficult to "haul" my luggage up all of them! I would stay there again...thanks to the staff for making a quick trip a pleasant experience:)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFairmontPalliser, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont Palliser, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Hello Sue!

Thank you for your feedback! It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay at our "Grand Old Lady".

Happy Holidays!


Best,
Jacqueline Tyler
Communications Manager
The Fairmont Palliser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marche
Level Contributor
86 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

I stayed for a few nights in November; staff at the reception was kind of cold and same for concierge service. I asked just a couple of information since I wanted to go to Banff park but they couldn't care less of helping me. I called the park and got from them all the infos about transportation to get there.
Gym in the hotel was fine, and there is a small pool too which is ok if you just wish to relax (forget swimming!)
Food was ok.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosalita_65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFairmontPalliser, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont Palliser, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Hello Rosalita,

Thank you for your feedback. We are currently working on training all of our front desk guest agents with a new concierge program that we’re really excited about. This will allow our team to be fully educated on all of the nearby sister-resort offerings and city of Calgary’s attractions.
We look forward to have you be our guest again soon.

Thank you again.

Best,
Jacqueline Tyler
Communications Manager
The Fairmont Palliser
Jacqueline.Tyler@fairmont.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

First time staying at the Palliser, but definitely not new to Fairmont. I spend about 20 nights a year at the Royal York, Queen Elizabeth, and Hotel Vancouver. Each one of these knows how to turn events into 'experiences'. Fairmont is all about exceeding expectations.
Now for the Palliser.. What a disappointment. When I checked in, the room that I requested was not available (smoking). I made my extreme displeasure known (without being rude)..waiting for the young lady at the Presidents Club desk to make it right. To no avail. Room was average.
Food and beverages exceptionally overpriced. $5 for a coffee, $20 for Fish Taco appetizer that wasn't good at all. However, service was impeccable in the restaurant.

Definitely better options in Calgary at this price point.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jk7370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFairmontPalliser, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont Palliser, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Hello there!

We are honoured to hear about your loyalty to our Fairmont Brand, and are happy to hear you found the service at our hotel exceptional. We would however, love to find out more about your room preference should we have the chance to have you be our guest again. We’ve also past on your feedback to our culinary team.

Thank you again.

Best,
Jacqueline Tyler
Communications Manager
The Fairmont Palliser
Jacqueline.Tyler@fairmont.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mae Sai, Thailand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

We stayed at the fairmont for our first night together as newlyweds ... we were recommended the fairmont from friends, and knowing the reputation of the fairmont it felt like a perfect place for our first night together. When we walked in we were welcomed and shown promptly to our room which was the 'junior suite' (the room recommended from friends). The room itself was very nice and spacious, except for the bathroom, which was very cramped and extremely cold. It was hard to close the door to the bathroom if you were in it! Our major complaint was that the heat for our room was not working, which we finally had enough of at 4am. We live in an old building ourselves, so having temperamental heat issues is not new, but this was an issue of not having heat at all, we literally felt our heads freezing as we tried to get to sleep! In response to this the fairmont staff were helpful in moving us to an upgraded gold room, where the heat was working just fine. The staff did seem helpful, so we had no problems with the service the staff provided. It provided for a memorable first night, but not something we were wanting to encounter on such a special occasion.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EvandM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFairmontPalliser, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont Palliser, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Hello Evan,

Congratulations on your recent wedding! We’re honoured that you chose our hotel to spend your first night together. We apologize for the inconvenience of the heating arrangement in your room – we’re a 99-year-old property where our engineering department works tirelessly to support. We’re just as happy to hear that Fairmont Gold was about to take care of you and move you to a new room.

All the best and we look forward to have you return!

Best,
Jacqueline Tyler
Communications Manager
The Fairmont Palliser
Jacqueline.Tyler@fairmont.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Hotel Le Germain Calgary
#7 of 109 in Calgary
839 reviews
Hyatt Regency Calgary
#15 of 109 in Calgary
1,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beltline
Hotel Arts
Hotel Arts
#31 of 109 in Calgary
1,035 reviews
Beltline
Hotel Elan
Hotel Elan
#2 of 109 in Calgary
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairmont Palliser? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Palliser

Property: The Fairmont Palliser
Address: 133 9 Ave SW, Calgary, Alberta T2P 2M3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Calgary
#6 Luxury Hotel in Calgary
#9 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
#9 Business Hotel in Calgary
#14 Family Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmont Palliser 4*
Number of rooms: 407
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1914, The Fairmont Palliser has been the city's premier address, the cornerstone of Calgary's hospitality industry and a landmark building that is rich in history and architecture. Set in the heart of the city, The Fairmont Palliser is a historical landmark offering distinctive accommodation in elegant surroundings. Recent renovations include five floors of guest rooms and the expansion of Fairmont Gold. A brand new Fairmont Gold Lounge, Concierge and Check-in area can be found on the Penthouse Level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Fairmont Hotels, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Fairmont Palliser reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Palliser Hotel Calgary
Fairmont Hotel Calgary
Fairmont Hotel Palliser
Fairmont Calgary
Calgary Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing