We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Fairmont Palliser
Nearby Hotels
$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Arts(Calgary)(Great Value!)
$134
$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$120
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$245
$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Delta Hotels Calgary Downtown(Calgary)(Great Value!)
$226
$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$158
$132
Sheraton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Best Western Plus Port O'Call Hotel(Calgary)(Great Value!)
$119
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Elan(Calgary)
$109
Hotel Elan
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$79
$73
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$157
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,527)
Filter reviews
2,527 results
Traveler rating
1,333
741
266
121
66
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,333
741
266
121
66
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgold floorthe penthousepresidents clubcalgary towerclassic hoteltrain tracksbeautiful hotelvalet parkingrocky mountaineersteam roomvalet servicestephen avenueheart of downtowncalgary stampedeoakloungeconcierge
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,849 - 1,854 of 2,527 reviews
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a night to celebrate a birthday. The service was stellar by everyone we had contact with, from room service to housekeeping, and front desk. Really quite impressive. Staff went out of their way to wish my partner a happy birthday-including room upgrade and a delicious piece of cake. Room features (duvet, bath soap, etc.) were high quality. Hotel is downtown next to Calgary tower and shopping. Cons-hotel looks dirty from outside and decore is typical Fairmont antique style-not my cup of tea. Our non-smoking room smelled like smoke (they even brought in an ozonater to remove the smell to no avail) and we were too busy to move rooms. If service is of primary importance definitely stay here, otherwise there may be better options.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Fairmont properties are always a bit of a surprise as there is such a difference in their hotels depending on whether it's a resort / heritage building or one of the new modern new builds. I'd say this is one of the better properties in their network and it is far better maintained than the Fairmont Hotel Vancouver. The rooms are comfortable and clean although there wasn't really anything that made this property "pop" as an extraordinary stay. The hotel is a classic beauty so for anyone who loves history this is an iconic property that reflects the old CP Hotel era. My only complaint is that the washroom toiletries are rose scented so as a male I could do without smelling like roses.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room facing away from the rail lines and high enough so that you can see the city - a lot of the rooms look into walls / alleys.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jedavan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for one night only. The location is great, right in the middle of town. The Calgary Tower is very close by as well. Continental breakfast was good but a bit expensive I thought. Room was clean and had plenty of space. Did not try any of the bars.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnedPreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Very impressive hotel and lobby,but the room we had was small with a view onto the traintracks.Woken up during the early hours by shunting.Small bathroom but with all amenities one could require.Hotel is very nicely situated within walking distance of shops,museum,the tower,restaurants etc.We used the spa pool,very nice.Had Wi-Fi in the room(I don't think we paid extra for it as another reviewer mentions..)We had a hire car and the hotel provides valet parking(extra cost)We did not have any meals here as the menu looked a bit expensive compared to the nearby restaurants.We enjoyed our stay nevertheless.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tokkelosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Last week my wife and I were at the Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel (never again; when are hotels going to learn that nothing infuriates and drives away guests more than being ambushed by tacked on extra fees upon checkout - what on earth is a "Resort Fee" anyway?, and why does this hotel appear to be the only one in the entire area charging a 2% "Tourism Improvement Fee" on top of a Alberta Tourism Levy?? Per day!), then the Post Hotel in Lake Louise (simply faultless, one of our favorites), and finally the Palliser. Since here 2 years ago the improvement has been transformational. We stayed on the Gold Floor, now located on the 10th floor Penthouse level. Previously the lounge space itself was somewhat cramped, at times too small for the breakfast rush. It is now greatly expanded, with sleek, modern décor, lots of light and lots of room, providing a view of the Rockies to the west. Food is first rate, excellent dim sum from 5 to 7 on our last night.The Gold rooms and suites have also been completely remodelled, very attractive and comfortable. We enjoyed our stay. We will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for the front of the hotel. This is, after all, one of the original railroad hotels and rooms at the rear are directly above tracks with trains coming and going at all times. Of course desk staff should be trained to fill the quiet rooms first and only resort to the back rooms when those are all filled, but alas that does not appear to be the case.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldwidewanderer93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews