We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Downtown Calgary with Old School Class”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Fairmont Palliser
Ranked #23 of 110 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 24, 2013

In the midst of this busy Calgary city, its nice to walk through the doors and experience class and grace of years gone by. The elegance and refined service are so enjoyable. The rooms are classic and from a time gone by, but it is a pleasure to enjoy the classic workmanship.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank InsightfulWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,389)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,794 - 1,800 of 2,389 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2013

The impressive palatial decor of this excellent hotel recalls the past glory days of first class travel on the Canadian-Pacific. From the moment of our arrival we were well looked after by attentive staff - without exception friendly, helpful and efficient. We even had the best table in the lounge bar reserved for us when we told them at cocktails that we would be dining there later. We needed a very early start, so we ordered a cooked breakfast in our room. This arrived right on time, on a separate wheeled table, Great care had been taken to ensure that everything arrived hot, including the toast.

If the weather is bad there is no need to go outside to visit the nearby Calgary Tower or the museum. An undercover walkway, which passes a steakhouse, takes you there.

It is rare to find everything just right during a hotel stay - this was almost such an occasion. The only blemish was the charge of $8 for the bottle of water in the room. They should think again about this - the negative impact far outways the benefit of the small sum..

Room Tip: Our 5th Floor room was spacious and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trotter93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFairmontPalliser, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont Palliser, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Hello there,

What a wonderful and kind review of your recent stay with us, we appreciate your time to share this with us. We enjoy providing in-room dining services to our guests as it’s always an opportunity to showcase an extra special feeling of hospitality and experience- we are happy to hear you enjoyed it as so. Thank you for your thoughts too on our water bottle cost, I’ve passed this on to our operations team. We hope to have you be our guest again soon.

Best,
Jacqueline Tyler
Communications Manager
The Fairmont Palliser

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Amazing stay at the Fairmont in Calgary. Exceptional service and beautiful rooms! We were treated to a bottle of complimentary wine which was chilling in our room as a gift from teh Fairmont team. It truly meant a lot to us. The Gold Lounge was fantastic and the appetizers were deliscious!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Syreetam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We had a lovely stay at the Fairmont Palliser in Calgary. My wife and I came up for a wedding and stayed two nights. The room was very big with a wonderful bathroom. We were on the fourth floor on the inside so the view was none existent. Unless you have a balcony, you don't usually stand and stare out your hotel window. The staff were great and the bed was very comfortable. We got a great deal because of the wedding. We had the Sunday brunch at the Rimrock in the hotel. Awesome food, everything was top notch. It was a bit pricey though at $45 per person. A nice treat.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFairmontPalliser, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont Palliser, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Hello John,

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at The Fairmont Palliser as you were a guest of ours while you enjoyed a wedding. It’s a pleasure to hear that your bedroom, bathroom and breakfast all stood out to you and was a nice treat. We look forward to host you again sometime soon.

Best,
Jacqueline Tyler
Communications Manager
The Fairmont Palliser

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

Same room as the Laurier in Ottawa. The only upgrade is the flat TV and he keuring coffee machine. Clean comfortable although our room was dark facing a inner courtyard. On the psi tube side the pool tiled is awesome and the g is standard. Well placed there is a real coffee shop almost across the street ask the concierge.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laloux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

I recently stayed at the Palliser, while I like the Fairmont brand and have paid more per room at their resorts overseas, including Hawaii, the room I had for $549 a night was far from worth it. Small bathroom, bed that needed replacing, peeling paint on the ceiling and what was just a very basic room that was tired and needed some TLC. That said the staff are friendly and the online checkin and checkout works well.

In addition the railway track was outside our room and you could hear the trains.

Room Tip: ask to be away from the railway track
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DAB_LMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFairmontPalliser, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont Palliser, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Hello there,

Thank you for your loyalty to Fairmont and for the review of your recent stay with us at The Fairmont Palliser. We assure you that such feedback around peeling paint and beds needing replacing are not our standard and have shared this with our operations team. We appreciate your understanding that we’re a heritage property with a tie to CP railway in that it’s very special yet can be a bother sometimes with the nose. We are happy to hear you found our staff to be friendly and that our online check-in and check-out accessible. We look forward to have you be our guest again soon.

Best,
Jacqueline Tyler
Communications Manager
The Fairmont Palliser

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

I recently organized a meeting at the Fairmont in Calgary. The hotel went above and beyond to ensure myself and my clients were happy. I received nothing buy great reviews from my attendees and my client was impressed with the overall service. Kudos to the Catering and Banquet staff.

I also stayed over at the hotel and was very happy with the size, look, and cleanliness of my room. I liked that it had lots of light and it felt very spacious.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Hyatt Regency Calgary
#16 of 110 in Calgary
1,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Le Germain Calgary
#8 of 110 in Calgary
917 reviews
Beltline
Hotel Arts
Hotel Arts
#29 of 110 in Calgary
1,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairmont Palliser? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Palliser

Address: 133 9 Ave SW, Calgary, Alberta T2P 2M3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Calgary
#8 Luxury Hotel in Calgary
#9 Business Hotel in Calgary
#9 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
#11 Family Hotel in Calgary
Price Range: $119 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmont Palliser 4*
Number of rooms: 407
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1914, The Fairmont Palliser has been the city's premier address, the cornerstone of Calgary's hospitality industry and a landmark building that is rich in history and architecture. Set in the heart of the city, The Fairmont Palliser is a historical landmark offering distinctive accommodation in elegant surroundings. Recent renovations include five floors of guest rooms and the expansion of Fairmont Gold. A brand new Fairmont Gold Lounge, Concierge and Check-in area can be found on the Penthouse Level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Fairmont Palliser reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Palliser Hotel Calgary
Fairmont Hotel Calgary
Fairmont Hotel Palliser
Fairmont Calgary
Calgary Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing