We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Palliser provides great service for business travellers!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fairmont Palliser

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Fairmont Palliser
Ranked #20 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Palliser provides great service for business travellers!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Staff are great. Rooms very comfortable. Main resteraunt has exceptional food but pricey. Would like to see the gym area expanded. Can get quite busy. Very central to Calgary business, shopping and eating. Make sure to reserve well in advance because this place is busy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim5601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFairmontPalliser, Director of Operations at The Fairmont Palliser, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay at The Fairmont Palliser. We sincerely appreciate your wonderful, detailed feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Calgary and thank you again for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor.

Best Regards,

Jon Mathews
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,944 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    997
    580
    222
    93
    52
See reviews for
298
755
108
559
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (372)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, MA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

I love Fairmont Hotels across Canada. They were all built in the early 1900's and have a lot of charm. The lobbies are spacious, beautiful, classy. The service is always elegant, the rooms are absolutely charming.
I stayed at the Palliser for five nights. The hotel is well located, right by shops and great restaurants. My room was nice, painted in grey with a very tall window. My bed was very comfy, and the room was very clean. I had free internet being a club member, and the room came with a coffee maker, a kettle and a mini bar.
The bathroom, however, was in need of renovation. It looked old. Some tiles were cracked, the paint was peeling off a bit, I was surprised by the lack of care.
The service was wonderful, and the spa divine. It is a wonderful place to stay, even if it is starting to show age spots.

Room Tip: The 4th floor has been recently renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suitcase63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFairmontPalliser, Director of Operations at The Fairmont Palliser, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our historic property. We have completed an extensive renovation project that included five floors of guest rooms and a new Fairmont Gold Lounge on our Penthouse Level. We look forward to the opportunity of having a fully-renovated guest room product soon. We appreciate your wonderful feedback on our employee’s guest service and of RnR Wellness Spa. Thank you again for your comments. We look forward to your return.

Best Regards,

Jon Mathews
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowsnest Pass, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

Charming & historical, The Palliser is a Calgary landmark and the stately hotel is enduring. Typically rooms are beautiful, staff exceptional and the state of rooms are beyond excellent. Our patronage of this hotel goes back decades and generally the grand hotel has been a fond and favorite place to stay for social or business travel. Yet, things change - our latest visit was somewhat disappointing, We stayed in a junior sutie that is need of renovation - a quick walk-through suggested all was well but on closer inspecition we noticed rust marks in the tub and sink, the tub drain metal-ring slides off during use and may pose a risk, the sink becomes clogged, bathroom plaster is discoloured. However, we and our guests enjoyed a lovely breakfast and dinner at The Rimrock and our waiter was wonderful. However, one hostess seemed impatient when our young grandchild tried to open locked doors just minutes before the opening time. Also out-of-sorts was the state of the restaurant restroom. Not what we have come to expect of a Fairmont. Also when making reservations under the senior`s rate, it is best to mention whether or not a room designed for handicap use is indicated.

Room Tip: Request a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dimaes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFairmontPalliser, General Manager at The Fairmont Palliser, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you kindly for your feedback. We regret to learn that your experience did not far exceed your expectations and we apologize for any inconvenience that these issues may have caused you. We take your comments very seriously and appreciate you taking the time to publish a review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your recent experience at The Rimrock Restaurant and we thank you for your thoughtful recommendations. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back, in hopes of restoring your confidence in our hotel.

Sincerely,

Dan McGowan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

Such a beautiful hotel right next to the Calgary Tower. The lobby was decked out in Christmas trees and decorations and the room was great (including a huge cushy bed). When we ordered room service it arrived promptly and the other hotel staff were very friendly. It's also close to Stephen Avenue and Fashion Central which are both trendy parts of town. It really is a great experience except for one thing. The hotel does back onto the rail road tracks (not public transit which is close but the other kind) and this does cause a little bit of noise however I didn't find it too bad.

Room Tip: Ask if you can have one that doesn't back onto the rail road tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFairmontPalliser, Director of Operations at The Fairmont Palliser, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your recent visit to The Fairmont Palliser. We are delighted to hear that you had the opportunity to enjoy our 24-Hour In-Room Dining service and that you found our staff to be very friendly. We are also happy to hear you were able to take advantage of our property’s central, downtown location. We thank you for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future.

Best Regards,

Jon Mathews
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
201 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

I was in Calgary for an annual conference and the Fairmont was the ‘preferred’ hotel for the event. This was my second time staying at this hotel, the first was last year. Over all, the hotel is beautiful, elegant, and is a historical gem.

The room rates are outrageous and I’d say the quality of the rooms and service is comparable to many other hotels.

I was extremely dissatisfied with the room we received this time. The first thing we noticed was the supposedly a ‘non-smoking’ room smelt like an ashtray – it was disgusting. Not long after getting in the room we take our shoes off and realize the carpet was covered in wet spots… We hoped that they must have just cleaned the carpets as our first thought was someone brought a pet...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fly0nthewall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFairmontPalliser, General Manager at The Fairmont Palliser, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We regret to learn of your unsatisfactory stay and are very sorry that your visit did not exceed your expectations. We are disappointed to learn of your unacceptable experiences and can assure you that this is not our standard. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience that these concerns may have caused, and look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in hopes of restoring your confidence in us.

Thank you,

Dan McGowan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Palliser anticipates business traveller's needs. I recommend upgrading to stay on the President's Gold floor. Typically higher priced hotel room than regular floors however the cost balances out with complimentary breakfast and cocktail hour and the fantastic atmosphere of the floor. The Palliser is a gem in the city and a pleasure to stay in.

Room Tip: Pay the extra to stay on the President's Gold floor it is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caroline416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFairmontPalliser, General Manager at The Fairmont Palliser, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
We sincerely appreciate your wonderful feedback and thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to learn that you so thoroughly enjoyed our Fairmont Gold Floor and Lounge. We are also pleased that you had the opportunity to experience our enhanced Fairmont Gold amenities and services as well. We look forward to welcoming you back again on your next business trip to Calgary.

Best Regards,

Dan McGowan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
86 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

Fairmont Palliser lives up to the usual high Fairmont standard, beautiful lobby, beautiful rooms, and fantastic customer service. If you like the 'ye old english' look then this is right hotel for you, i'm personally not a fan but i can't deny it the rooms are nicely decorated and furnished. However...the bathroom is very small (no room for toiletries), the beds are so soft it's uncomfortable and the rooms are heated way too much for a good night's sleep. Not sure if i didn't know how to work it but the air conditioning didn't work in the room and i spent all night sweating.
Location is great, right next to the Calgary Tower and close to Stephens walk.
Overall, if you have money to splurge then Fairmont Palliser is great but there's better value hotels in Calgary.

Room Tip: a lot of the rooms look directly onto the train tracks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank piggy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFairmontPalliser, Director of Operations at The Fairmont Palliser, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
We sincerely appreciate your kind and considerate review. We are so pleased to hear that you had such a delightful visit to The Fairmont Palliser and that you enjoyed our colleagues and the property’s city-centre location. We also thank you for your gift of feedback and have communicated your comments with the appropriate departments. Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on TripAdvisor. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Jon Mathews
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Hotel Le Germain Calgary
#9 of 109 in Calgary
4.5 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
Hyatt Regency Calgary
#19 of 109 in Calgary
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Westin Calgary
#24 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,305 reviews
Beltline
Hotel Elan
Hotel Elan
#2 of 109 in Calgary
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairmont Palliser? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Palliser

Property: The Fairmont Palliser
Address: 133 9 Ave SW, Calgary, Alberta T2P 2M3, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Calgary
#6 Luxury Hotel in Calgary
#9 Business Hotel in Calgary
#9 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
#14 Family Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmont Palliser 4*
Number of rooms: 407
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1914, The Fairmont Palliser has been the city's premier address, the cornerstone of Calgary's hospitality industry and a landmark building that is rich in history and architecture. Set in the heart of the city, The Fairmont Palliser is a historical landmark offering distinctive accommodation in elegant surroundings. Recent renovations include five floors of guest rooms and the expansion of Fairmont Gold. A brand new Fairmont Gold Lounge, Concierge and Check-in area can be found on the Penthouse Level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Fairmont Palliser reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Palliser Hotel Calgary
Fairmont Hotel Calgary
Fairmont Hotel Palliser
Fairmont Calgary
Calgary Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing