We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Trip to Calgary”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Fairmont Palliser
Ranked #23 of 110 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 24, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for a few days whilst in Calgary on business. Excellent service, beautiful hotel. Would highly recommend it. Right in the centre of town, near everything. One tip. If you want free wifi, sign up to the presidents club. It's free to join and hey free wifi. I only found that out after I have paid $13 for 24 hours.

Room Tip: I stayed in a room on the 2nd floor, which has obviously been done up recently. My colleagues were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pat F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFairmontPalliser, Fairmont President’s Club Manager at The Fairmont Palliser, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. We are pleased to hear that you found the service at The Fairmont Palliser to be excellent and that you would highly recommend our hotel. We are delighted to welcome you as a new member of our Fairmont President’s Club and are glad that you had the opportunity to enjoy one of the many initial benefits.
We look forward to seeing you again on your next business trip to Calgary and thank you again for your feedback.

Kind Regards,

Jaryd Manastyrski
Fairmont President’s Club Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,386)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,022 - 2,028 of 2,386 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2012

whatit's hat can I say, we love this Fairmont and the gold level is upper great. it s the place o be!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArthurSousa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFairmontPalliser, Fairmont President’s Club Manager at The Fairmont Palliser, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2012

Thank you so much for posting such kind comments regarding your recent stay at The Fairmont Palliser. We look forward to welcoming you back to Fairmont Gold very soon!

Kind Regards,

Jaryd Manastyrski
Fairmont President’s Club Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

We have been very fortunate to be able to stay at a number of Fairmont properties and we are never disappointed. Our last stay here was over 5 years ago and we were pleased that the rooms had been tastefully upgraded. Service was top-notch, room service food was great. Cleaner than clean. Thank you.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meggsy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFairmontPalliser, General Manager at The Fairmont Palliser, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2012

We appreciate you taking the time to complete such a wonderful, candid review! We are very happy to learn that you have had the opportunity to take pleasure in a number of Fairmont properties and that you have never been disappointed. We are also delighted that you were so impressed by The Fairmont Palliser's newly renovated guest rooms and our colleague’s signature guest service. Thank you again for your gift of feedback. We look forward to your family’s next visit!

Sincerely,

Dan McGowan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

Absolutely love this historic magnificent hotel in Calgary - I live here but wanted to spend a special New Year's in the City core - no question the The Fairmont Palliser - as a great Canadian hotel and historical landmark, as well as a divine experience. Totally in the middle of everything downtown, parking, shopping walking sites, culture all at the doorstep -- as a local and a tourist its a great spot when wanting to be in an exceptional place in Calgary.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VistadeckTina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Weekends are a great time to stay at the Fairmont Palliser in Calgary. It is fairly quiet on the weekends and the rates are usually better than anything around it.

Unfortunately this time our housekeeping staff left quite a lot to be desired. I would definitely call the front desk immediately next time rather than waiting until check out to let them know what was happening.

Don't stay nex to the ice machines on the weekends if you want any sleep!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seinard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFairmontPalliser, Director of Operations at The Fairmont Palliser, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your weekend stay and that you had the opportunity to visit Calgary with your friends. Again, we appreciate you bringing your guest room concerns to our attention and sincerely value your feedback. As a loyal guest, we look forward to welcoming you back to The Fairmont Palliser very soon.

Sincerely,

Frédéric Paré, MBA
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We stayed 1 night in early January for the IIHF World Jr tournament. The room was spacious, beautiful, Newly renovated, comfy beds, nice & quiet. Bathroom was small, but as we were only there one night, no big deal. Room faced the train tracks, but we never heard any train noise. We ordered room service twice, was delicious the first time, the second time it left something to be desired: nachos were soggy, chicken strips dry. Room service and valet parking were outrageously expensive, but this seems to be the norm with Fairmont properties.
I will most likely stay here again, but will self park and dine out!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 85er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFairmontPalliser, Director of Operations at The Fairmont Palliser, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of The Fairmont Palliser on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed a newly renovated Fairmont guest room and that you found our beds to be comfy, nice and quiet. We regret to learn that your second In-Room Dining experience was less than exceptional, but are delighted to hear that it was delicious otherwise. We thank you for your comments and hope to welcome you and your family back again.

Sincerely,

Frédéric Paré
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

The good- checked in prior on getting to the hotel and had our room keys waiting for us as we dropped off our car at the valet. The room was on the 10th floor and had a very comfy bed. We had a very large room #1056. Nice decorations, nice mini bar and a big screen that turned depending on where you sat or laid if in bed.

The bad- the bathroom was very old looking and was in desperate need for a remodel. The towels were dingy looking and the curtains above the window had thick dust on the top. Yes I'm picky...

The ugly... Our room was next to a huge suite with folks who knew nothing of voice control. They came back with what sounded like 6 different folks and started to party at about 1:30 am. I made my first call to the desk at about 1:45 am and yet again at 2:45 am where I was told they would be going up yet again to quiet them down. Finally at about 4:00 am the noise died down. I would never expect this type of behavior from a facility like this. I will say that once I heard the cork pop off the champagne bottle that the walls MUST be paper thin. Not something I would have expected in this hotel. The shower from their suite ran for what sounded like a half an hour with someone pounding on the door to open up. I was beginning to think someone might have drowned in the tub from all the pounding... They didn't as they were up by 9:00 am screaming and yelling at it again!!!

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room away from any parties. Two weddings going on the night we were there so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank love_to_travel32825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFairmontPalliser, Director of Operations at The Fairmont Palliser, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2012

Thank you for your thoughtful comments. We are pleased to hear that your keys were cut and ready for you upon arrival. Our colleagues take great pride in anticipating the needs of our guests. We are truly sorry to hear about the noise coming from your neighboring guest room and sincerely apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you. We appreciate your detailed feedback of guest room 1056, as we look forward to completing our multi-phase guest room renovation project in the near future. We hope to welcome you back to our landmark property during your next visit to Calgary and thank you again for your gift of feedback.

Best Regards,

Frédéric Paré
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Hyatt Regency Calgary
#16 of 110 in Calgary
1,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Le Germain Calgary
#8 of 110 in Calgary
917 reviews
Beltline
Hotel Arts
Hotel Arts
#30 of 110 in Calgary
1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairmont Palliser? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Palliser

Address: 133 9 Ave SW, Calgary, Alberta T2P 2M3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Calgary
#8 Luxury Hotel in Calgary
#9 Business Hotel in Calgary
#9 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
#14 Family Hotel in Calgary
Price Range: $120 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmont Palliser 4*
Number of rooms: 407
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1914, The Fairmont Palliser has been the city's premier address, the cornerstone of Calgary's hospitality industry and a landmark building that is rich in history and architecture. Set in the heart of the city, The Fairmont Palliser is a historical landmark offering distinctive accommodation in elegant surroundings. Recent renovations include five floors of guest rooms and the expansion of Fairmont Gold. A brand new Fairmont Gold Lounge, Concierge and Check-in area can be found on the Penthouse Level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Fairmont Palliser reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Palliser Hotel Calgary
Fairmont Hotel Calgary
Fairmont Hotel Palliser
Fairmont Calgary
Calgary Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing