We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,775)
Filter reviews
2,775 results
Traveler rating
1,462
813
293
135
72
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,462
813
293
135
72
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gold floor the penthouse presidents club calgary tower classic hotel train tracks beautiful hotel rocky mountaineer valet parking steam room valet service stephen avenue heart of downtown calgary stampede oak lounge concierge
Filter
Updating list...
2,479 - 2,484 of 2,775 reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2011

Rooms were brights, high ceilings and excellent service, close to all ammenities that Calgary has to offer. I did find the loby to be a little congested during peek times but other then that nothing to compain about.

Date of stay: November 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nataschacan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalliser, Communications Manager at The Fairmont Palliser, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2011

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Fairmont Palliser! We appreciate your feedback regarding the lobby and sincerely appreciate you taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor.

Best Regards,
Jessica Reynolds
Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

We had a fantastic time at this hotel with our two young children. We had a perfect dinner at the Rimrock restaurant at the hotel. The food was outstanding- both taste and presentation. Quite possibly the best "kids meals" my young children have ever had. Dinner with our energetic/impatient 1-year old was actually enjoyable! The pool, though a bit on the small side, was a hit with my kids. Our room was huge (you can book "large" rooms) and really nice (it was on a renovated floor). In summary, this hotel was perfect for our family.

Date of stay: August 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Switzercat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalliser, Communications Manager at The Fairmont Palliser, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2011

Thank you for your wonderful feedback! We are so happy to hear that you and your family had such a fabulous stay. With our new guest room categories (Deluxe, Large Deluxe and Fairmont Gold Large), guests are able to enjoy a variety of agreeable room sizes. We are also so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your dinner at The Rimrock and that your children did as well!

Thank you,

Jessica Reynolds
Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Like much of the Fairmont chain, this hotel is old, but that can be both nice and not so nice. Nice, in that it has the grand old turn-of-the-century lobby with chandeliers and old elevators and feels historic and important. Not so nice, in that the rooms need renovation. It's a typical Fairmont: small rooms, okay bed linens, but lots of old fixtures from twenty or thirty years ago that really detract from the feeling that you're staying in a luxury hotel (which you should be when you're paying $250+ a night).

Take a look at the pictures, and you'll get an idea. They miss all the little things, like the 70s faucets and the plate coming off the bathroom door (really, it would be that hard for them to replace the screw?). It's possible the Gold Floor rooms have been renovated, but for the base model corporate-rate room you end up with something small and a bit shabby around the edges.

That said, I did find the staff very friendly and efficient; although I can't say I was treated like a "celebrity," as mentioned by a previous reviewer, I did find the front desk staff upbeat and friendly (not so much the bar staff). During a normal summer work week, the hotel (and the rest of Calgary) was very quiet -- it felt like the hotel was mostly empty.

Another positive is that the wifi is free for President's Club members, so that's a good reason to join the loyalty program.

Date of stay: August 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OffTheBeatenPath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalliser, Director of Operations at The Fairmont Palliser, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at The Fairmont Palliser. As a valued President’s Club Member we sincerely appreciate your feedback. We have recently completed the first two phases of an extensive renovation project, which included the total refurbishment of floors 4, 5 and 6 and the re-deign of our newly expanded Fairmont Gold offering. We are delighted that you found our colleagues to be friendly and efficient, and we look forward to soon having a completely renovated property for all to enjoy.

Best Regards,

Frédéric Paré
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

The Fairmont chain is easily among the top luxury brands available in Canada. What sets the Palliser and its ilk apart is its options. You can get an affordable room (same price as a Holiday Inn) or you can get the Royal Suite. You can get no breakfast and no parking, or valet and executive continental in your room. Thus, unlike like-priced budget hotels, the Palliser is not only centrally located, but the staff do not discriminate between Fairmont room (basic room) and those staying in suites. Everyone is greeted as a celebrity with the opportunity to use the immaculate pool, gym or spa. The rooms are elegantly decorated, high caliber toiletries and luxury fittings throughout.

Highly recommended and would / will gladly stay there again!

Room tip: Ask for an outward facing room!
Date of stay: August 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank localtravelore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalliser, General Manager at The Fairmont Palliser, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2011

We are delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful stay at The Fairmont Palliser! We take great pride in providing our guests with an exceptional and personalized experience. Each of our valued guests will enjoy a memorable and unique stay that is unmatched by any other.

Best Regards,

Dan McGowan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Recently stayed at The Palliser and was very impressed with the renovations that had been done during a year long absence from spending an over night in Calgary. Nice atmosphere has been created in the Gold Lounge. Open, roomy and the serving area is greatly appreciated by guests. The check in area is modern and Classy.
Rooms as well got an overhaul that takes the old-world charm and brings it into the modern era with flat screens. Thanks to Mandy, we were placed into a suite.
We will be back !!

Room tip: Pay the extra to get int Gold
Date of stay: July 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ricski64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalliser, Director of Operations at The Fairmont Palliser, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2011

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with such wonderful feedback regarding your recent stay on our newly renovated Fairmont Gold Floor. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our new design and that Mandy and our other Fairmont Gold colleagues were able to enhance your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best Regards,

Frédéric Paré
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews