We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Walk”
Review of Bow River

Bow River
Book In Advance
More Info
$46.39*
and up
Calgary Bow River Valley 60-Minute Segway Adventure
Ranked #10 of 301 things to do in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This feisty waterway is popular for its adjacent walkways used by walkers and bicyclers.
North Bend, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Great Walk”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Bow River Walk is right along the banks and considering the flooding the city went through this past spring it was an extraordinary place to enjoy. Flowers EVERYwhere! wide walking and biking lanes. several bridges to cross. It was just the nicest place I've walked in a long time.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    309
    137
    22
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great for boating, fishing, swimming and everything else”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great river with fresh clean water directly from the glaciers in the Rockies. You can tube, canoe, kayak or even swim the river with little or no risk as it is quiet around downtown Calgary

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank DaneCanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
167 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Best float in years:))”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

The river is open and floated the other day and it was amazing. It is the warmest I've seen it in years and clear, we swam all day. We usually rent from Lazy Day Rafts and launched from Baker park because Bowness Park is still closed from flood. We floated down to Kensington, it is about a 4 hr float. Lovely way to spend the day in Calgary!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Allinmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“It put on quite a show this year.”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

The Bow is generally quite a lovely river, not too aggressive, and rather blue because its source is glacial. But this year (2013) it became furious, muddy, and quite terrifying. It took over all the flood plain -- most of the people were unaware that they had been living and working in a flood plain. It's back to being its normal self now, though the river channels have shifted, and the sport-paddling Harvey Passage has changed to being even more challenging than was intended. Calgary is recovering from the Bow River, and I'm sure it will be years before we forget how very dangerous it can be.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Laurel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Place for a Run”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I like to run when I'm travelling. Once I made my way down to the valley I found the trails were really great for running. Check out the stairs on the north side of the river if you're in for a challenge.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Vegaskev72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bow River also viewed

 

Been to Bow River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing