We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Okay . . . Nothing More”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Delta Hotels Calgary Airport In-Terminal
Ranked #37 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
USA
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Just Okay . . . Nothing More”
Reviewed July 21, 2007

No real surprises here, really: the pluses that other reviews bring up (i.e., convenience to terminal and rental car services) and the negatives raised as well (price, in light of small, not-particularly-modern rooms with no frills) have all been discussed. The staff at the desk were friendly, the gym is alright at best, and that's about all one can say.

If management either reduces prices (almost unimaginable) or puts some money into updating the rooms that would be a great improvement . . . short of that, one needs to determine whether such convenience is worth the extra cost (relative to other airport hotels that one needs a car/taxi/shuttle to access): it was for us . . . but only just barely.

  • Liked — Convenience to YYC (Calgary's Airport)
  • Disliked — Price paid, given no frills whatsoever
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Duberto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,020 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    415
    194
    50
    23
See reviews for
230
324
110
230
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2007

Main consideration was being on site of airport for early morning flight. Though the room was not large the facilities were good and the staff and swimming pool were great.
Did not like the smell of aviation fuel in the corridors but the room and other public areas did not smell.
The beds were very comfortable and we heard no noise from the airport.

  • Liked — Proximity to airport
  • Disliked — Smell in corridor
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank fairdealHartlepoolUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2007

This hotel partly shows its heritage as a former member of the Canadian Pacific chain; it's nicely decorated (especially for an airport hotel) and some of the old CP silverware is still around, a nice touch. There's nothing really remarkable about this building, but its location--the only hotel connected to the terminals at Calgary International--is a big convenience. The rooms, while on the small side, are absolutely silent and very well appointed (the bedding was excellent and we slept very well), and there's a nice-sized pool and hot tub, strangely located in the atrium lobby. We had a decent lunch in the bar (a good alternative to the giant Sunday brunch buffet, the only other choice on a Sunday afternoon) and enjoyed a long chat with the very friendly bartender. The front desk staff is a mixed bag: some very friendly and helpful (one gave us very good tips on using public transit to get downtown, an alternative to the $40 cab ride), others extremely rude. I suppose this means some training is in order, but on the whole this is an above-average airport hotel, and I do recommend it.

  • Liked — Pleasant room, very good bedding
  • Disliked — Smallish room, but that was no big deal
  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Lit-traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2007

I actually stayed in two different rooms on consecutive nights as a one night visit turned into two thanks to a cancelled Air Canada Jazz flight.

I tremendously appreciate the convenience of this hotel to the airport. From front desk of the hotel to check in counter of the airport is as little as a one minute walk. You can't beat the convenience. You do pay for it. I paid $301 CDN one night and $279 CDN the second night. These are not $280 CDN rooms.

As noted by other reviewers, the rooms are small. The bathrooms are absolutely tiny. I could not tell if there was air conditioning in the rooms or not. There are no light switches by the door - they are over by the sink / bar - which by the way takes up space that could be better used by modernizing and expanding the bathroom. I felt like I was in the late 1970's, room wise.

As noted by other reviewers, in addition to the convenience, you cannot hear airport noise.

Also worth noting: rooms overlooking the courtyard can be viewed into by people in rooms on the adjoining U shaped wings.

One mechanical problem in the room I was in the second night: the alarm clock did not work.

I found the staff to be not consistently helpful. When I checked in at 12:55 am on the first night (due to storms in Calgary), the front desk clerk asked how I was doing. I think that question at that time of day transcends the line from cheerfulness to stupidity. More seriously, when I checked in the second night, I asked the "assistant manager" who was checking me in if there was a charge for 1-800 phone calls (answer: there is: $1.33 CDN per call). He said he did not know and then 30 seconds later went into his rote spiel about contacting him if I needed any help whatsoever. He did catch himself and got the answer for me before I left the desk.

I had two meals in the hotel restaurant. I did have one negative experience. The $301 rate included a free breakfast voucher - for a continental breakfast buffet. The voucher clearly states that. When I was served, the waiter picked up the voucher looked at me as if I had a communicable disease and said, "This is not good for a hot breakfast. You need to pay $5 more for that." A) I did not want a hot breakfast. B) I think he would sell more hot breakfasts if he pitched as asking if I would like to upgrade to a full, hot breakfast for only $5.

  • Liked — Airport convenience
  • Disliked — Tiny bathrooms
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbtexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aimee_nik
1 review
Reviewed June 11, 2007

I stayed at this hotel just over this weekend and was VERY impressed. I had to go to the Calgary airport to pick up my new puppy who was being shipped from missouri, and need a one night stay that was pet-friendly. When I arrived, I was greeted by a very nice man, and a very nice woman at the front desk. They were extreamly nice and when I told them I was picking up a puppy from the airport, they asked me to stop buy so they could play with him. I went upstairs and walked into a very warm, comfey room. Very clean and spacious. And I was also impressed that I did not even have to rent a smoakers room because I had a dog, ALL the rooms are pet friendley! And when I realized my breader did not ship my puppy with food, the front desk girl even offerd to run to the Shoppers Drugmart to pick some up. In the morning I just packed up my things and made the 10 second walk over to the departures terminal. All in all I was very happy with this hotel.

  • Liked — Convience, Great Staff
  • Disliked — Little pricey
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank aimee_nik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 18, 2007

What a rip off. After spending 10 days travelling in Alberta this was the most expensive and worst hotel on our trip. The room and the bath room were very small. The water was not hot and the airconditioning was not cold. We spent a hot sleepless night before catching our flight the next morning. This was the only place we had to pay extra for parking and also for internet. What a relief to walk out the front door. Our next visit to Calgary we will choose a better Hotel a little further from the airport.

  • Liked — Close to airport
  • Disliked — extra charges
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Bridgebuildersmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2007

This is our second stay at this hotel for early morning flights. Overall we are not impressed. The convenience can't be beat, a short walk from your room to the departure areas. There is no airport noise in the rooms, however the rooms overlooking the courtyard and pool area get a lot of inside noise. Also the beds are not very comforatable and have overly stiff and noisy bedding. We also found, on both occassions, that the in-room, express checkout didn't work at 4:30 am. If you are a sound sleeper or by yourself, these items would probably not be a issue. After trying this option twice, next time we will opt for comfort over convenience and stay at one of the much less expensive offsite hotels. We feel that this hotel is very overpriced for what you get.

  • Liked — convenience
  • Disliked — uncomforatable beds
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank GetawayGangAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northeast Calgary
Radisson Hotel & Conference Centre Calgary Airport
Northeast Calgary
Homewood Suites by Hilton Calgary-Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northeast Calgary
Hotel Clique Calgary Airport
Northeast Calgary
Wyndham Garden Calgary Airport
Northeast Calgary
Acclaim Hotel Calgary Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delta Hotels Calgary Airport In-Terminal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Hotels Calgary Airport In-Terminal

Property: Delta Hotels Calgary Airport In-Terminal
Address: 2001 Airport Road NE | Alberta, Calgary, Alberta T2E 6Z8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northeast Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Calgary
#25 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
#36 Business Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Delta Hotels Calgary Airport In-Terminal 3*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently connected by indoor walkway to the Calgary International Airport, Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Airport In-Terminal in Calgary, Alberta, Canada offer a stress free beginning to a vacation as well as an excellent meeting location for your conference or social event. Our Calgary airport hotel's amenities include a variety of meeting facilities and beautifully appointed award-winning restaurants and lounge. The direct access to the Deerfoot expressway and Highway 2 allows for quick transportation to the businesses within the north, south or west end of the city, and a short 15 minute drive to Downtown Calgary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Delta Hotels Calgary Airport In-Terminal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Calgary Airport Hotel Calgary
Calgary Delta
Delta Hotel Calgary Airport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing