We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but over-priced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Calgary
Ranked #16 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 12, 2010

My family and I stayed at the Hyatt for 4 days while I participated in a conference hosted at the hotel. The lobby, conference rooms, and guest rooms are nice and comfortable. The pool is small, but has a nice view. The food provided for the banquet was excellent, but the food in the restaurant was only average although priced well above average. The front desk and housekeeping staff were professional, friendly and helpful, but the food service staff tended to get rather upset if you used the wrong fork during your meal.

Parking in the underground parking is convenient but expensive, although the conference discount helped. Probably the most surprising charge to us was that the hotel wanted $15/day to allow me to log on to the internet with my laptop, even after paying for the room.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saskadon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,538)
There are newer reviews for Hyatt Regency Calgary
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,362 - 1,368 of 1,542 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2010

Just spent my pre-wedding night at the hyatt it was amazing. The rooms, service and hospitality room was amazing!! The spa was a great way to start off the day. We had people coming in and out doing makeup photos etc, the staff was great in accommodating us! Great stay over all

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tannermae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2010

What a great place! With the recession the prices are quite affordable. Excellent hotel with very kind staff along with decor and atmosphere that is very welcoming. Parking was affordable and easy to get to. Hotel was very clean and open. One block from the concert hall we went to. Would saty here again any time. Pool on the 18th floor is amazing.

Only negatives were there was no phonebook in the room, clock radio would not turn just the radio on for listening, and shower head was old and would not move.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElementTent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2010

cool and comfortable, nice location, lot of resturants are around

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skgudur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Hyatt for 4 nights and absolutely loved it! You can feel how clean the room was the minute you walked in. The bathroom was so spacious, and the bed/bed linens super comfortable. There was no clutter as most of the things like coffee maker, glasses/cups were neatly stored away. Fabulous flat screen which my boyfriend loved. We got up really late but housekeeping was so patient with us and accomodated our needs 100%. The frotn desk staff was very friendly as well. The pool/hot tub/ fitness facilities are located on the 18th floor and have a beautiful view of Calgary. It i slocated in the heart of downtown, so you can't ask for much more. It is a walk away from the large downtown mall, and about 30 second walk from a ton of great restaurants. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clauds_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2010

Got a great deal through Priceline so it made up for the $25 parking and $1 phone calls. Friendly staff, newer and clean. No problems, unplugged the noisy mini bar and it was quiet as well.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank P&ZH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2010

Very satisfied with this hotel. The lobby is beautiful and the rooms are comfortable and modern. Has 2 excellent restaurants connected to the hotel. Ate at both Catch and Thomson’s and enjoyed both places very much. The breakfast buffet at Thomson’s was so good we went 2 days in a row. The dinner there was equally impressive. Hotel location is ideal. The Calgary transit has a stop right by the hotel and we took it to go to the zoo instead of driving the car because it was just so convenient. The back of the hotel open onto a beautiful street filled with nice shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ori1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
0.1 mi away
The Fairmont Palliser
The Fairmont Palliser
#21 of 109 in Calgary
2,283 reviews
0.0 mi away
Calgary Marriott Downtown Hotel
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Suites Calgary Eau Claire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Germain Calgary
Hotel Le Germain Calgary
#10 of 109 in Calgary
885 reviews
0.2 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown
0.4 mi away
The Westin Calgary
The Westin Calgary
#26 of 109 in Calgary
1,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Calgary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Calgary

Address: Hyatt Regency Calgary 700 Centre St SE, Calgary, Alberta T2G 5P6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Calgary
#6 Luxury Hotel in Calgary
#8 Business Hotel in Calgary
#8 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
#9 Family Hotel in Calgary
Price Range: $160 - $454 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Calgary 4*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency Calgary offers world-class service, elegant surroundings and unsurpassed modern convenience. At the corner of Stephen Avenue Walk, a popular pedestrian street filled with restaurants, pubs, shops, theatre and entertainment venues, we are also connected to the Convention Centre. Nestled in one of the city's historic sandstone buildings, the hotel showcases the region's heritage, while embracing a contemporary, western feel that embraces Calgary's cosmopolitan personality. Not only is Hyatt Regency Calgary structurally stunning, it also captures the spirit of the surrounding landscapes with +500 collections of original western paintings and sculptures created by local artists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Calgary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Calgary Hotel Calgary
Hyatt Calgary
Calgary Hyatt Regency

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing