We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience - recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Calgary
Ranked #16 of 110 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 5, 2013

The Hyatt in Calgary keeps up the high standard usually expected from Hyatt - I have yet to stay at a bad one. It's not cheap but they do deliver what they promise. We stayed overnight and had a meal and breakfast in Thompson'd restaurant. The room and the bed were very good. The only minor problem occurred when the valet forgot about getting our car.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RayHC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,613)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,094 - 1,100 of 1,613 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2013

I had the pleasure of spending 3 nights here on a conference. Excellent hotel with large, luxurious rooms, good views, great service and great proximity to restaurants, shopping and other attractions. Food in the hotel was excellent as well. Great workout facilities overlooking the city on the 18th floor. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay at this hotel.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
Thank Phyllis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Had a wonderful experience at the hotel all over.
The location was great and accessible easily.
the wifi was the only problem I had,
wish they had better wifi.
staff very accomodating and graceful
will be back

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Stayed for three days, the service was excellent and staff go above and beyond to be helpful. Food at the Thompson restaurant was amazing, we ate there at least four times. The room was very comfortable although I did not spend much time in the room. There is so much to do close by to the hotel and in walking distance, it is in the core of downtown and in the winter the shopping can be accessed without going outside. It is an excellent venue to host a conference, everything ran smoothly and the meals provided were all very good. There is a Starbucks on the ground floor of the Hotel which was a bonus. I did not get chance to use the spa however my colleagues informed me it was excellent.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We were guests of the hotel for 2 nights while on business. Our impressions are mixed.

The location of the hotel can’t be beat. it’s proximate to many good restaurants, the Glenbow Museum, and some excellent shopping.(Holt Renfrew and Harry Rosen.) Stephens Avenue is only steps away.

Customer service and hospitality are noteworthy. Although this hotel’s physical amenities are far from 5 star, the service and courtesy we experienced were top notch.

We booked an upgraded room on the 17th floor. City views were wonderful. The room was a good size. The room appeared to be recently redecorated, but it felt dated. The dark colours of gold and greens are part of the hotel’s Alberta western rugged aesthetic. Think of it as an extension of the Calgary airport but in better taste. Beds were very comfortable. We, too, experienced problems with the TV reception. The picture would either freeze or stutter. Coffee is provided but the maker is cheap and the coffee poor. Locating an outlet to plug in the machine was difficult. We couldn’t locate an outlet on the credenza in which the machine was located and were obliged to prepare it in the bathroom. It took an excruciating long time for the coffee to drip down. Come on Hyatt- time for a Kuerig or, even better, a Nespresso

The bathroom was a good size but the shower looked cheap. It was spotless, however. There was no magnification mirror. Toiletries were nice. We noted what appeared to be makeup stains on the bathroom wallpaper near the vanity that wiped off with a damp tissue. Housekeeping was otherwise good.

I used the hotel gym on one occasion on a Monday morning. It was empty. There are several ellipticals, treadmills, and bikes. I also recall a stepper. There were a few weight machines, balls, mats, and free weights. The pool is incredibly small.

There are two better restaurants in the hotel - Thomson and Catch. We ate at the former and a review will be posted soon.

In the end, the benefits outweighed the deficiencies and we would stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fearful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

The Hyatt Regency is by far my favourite hotel in Calgary. The staff live and breathe excellent customer service - from the front desk staff who checked us in, to the nice man who delivered our room service. Everything was wonderful. My husband and I were made to feel special all weekend. Our room was magnificent. We were upgraded to a conference suite on the 17th floor. I highly recommend that you get the Regency package. The evening turndown service and bottles of water and chocolates were a nice touch too. Everything about it our stay was wonderful. Thank you Hyatt! We shall return.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank JLP1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

You don't want to stay here for a dream vacation unless you like nightmares.
I recently had the pleasure of attending a 3 day convention (31 October- 02 November) in Calgary; a beautiful friendly city. But, unfortunately my hotel left much to be desired;
1. The TV picture breaks up constantly into little squares. When it does come back on the sound and lips are not synchronised. This very disconcerting during a news program,
2. The shower does not have a grab-bar inside or outside the shower enclosure. This is a safety item that is unacceptable,
3. There is a non-refundable deposit equal to one night's room rental plus applicable taxes due 30 days prior to arrival ($279). YIKES,
4. The radio's light is enough to read a book by so I put a pillow over it,
My reservation for a King sized bed was changed to 2 Queen sized beds. On arrival in room what did I find - a KING,
5. The staff were very pleasant and could not do enough for you at all times, and
6. There are 2 dining areas I attended, Thomsons and Catch (seafood) - both were excellent.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementHRC, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Calgary, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Dear John A,

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback regarding your stay. I was disappointed to hear that you encountered several issues during your stay, but I can certainly understand your frustrations. I would like to offer my sincere apologies for the inconveniences you experienced. Rest assured, I have shared your comments with our management team and will ensure we follow up appropriately.

Please let me know if you would like to discuss further or if I may be of any assistance.

Herb Rackliff
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
The Fairmont Palliser
#23 of 110 in Calgary
2,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Le Germain Calgary
#8 of 110 in Calgary
917 reviews
Beltline
Hotel Arts
Hotel Arts
#30 of 110 in Calgary
1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Calgary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Calgary

Address: Hyatt Regency Calgary 700 Centre St SE, Calgary, Alberta T2G 5P6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Calgary
#6 Luxury Hotel in Calgary
#8 Business Hotel in Calgary
#8 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
#9 Family Hotel in Calgary
Price Range: $124 - $354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Calgary 4*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency Calgary offers world-class service, elegant surroundings and unsurpassed modern convenience. At the corner of Stephen Avenue Walk, a popular pedestrian street filled with restaurants, pubs, shops, theatre and entertainment venues, we are also connected to the Convention Centre. Nestled in one of the city's historic sandstone buildings, the hotel showcases the region's heritage, while embracing a contemporary, western feel that embraces Calgary's cosmopolitan personality. Not only is Hyatt Regency Calgary structurally stunning, it also captures the spirit of the surrounding landscapes with +500 collections of original western paintings and sculptures created by local artists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hyatt Regency Calgary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Calgary Hotel Calgary
Hyatt Calgary
Calgary Hyatt Regency

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing