We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good if a downtown location is essential”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Calgary
Ranked #16 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Uk
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Good if a downtown location is essential”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Excellent location downtown . Self parking costs 25 $ day .
The rooms (ours had a king bed) are quite small and the decor and bathrooms are a bit dull and dated. We paid extra for Regency Club access and that suited us very well as we had some hours to wait on our departure day, and time to kill. Compared with other Regency Club facilities we have used, this one is also a little dull and dated, though perfectly comfortable. The evening hors d'oeuvres were limited and disappointing, though it was a Sunday evening and fairly quiet.....weekdays might be better.
Weekday breakfast is from 6am to 9am.......we went there at 8.30 am and by that time the hot options were dried out and unappetising (better quality sausages shouldn't be too difficult to source!!!!!!) . The fruit , cereals , etc were all very good. At 8.55am the server starter to clear away the breakfast.

It's interesting that the hotels used by previous reviewers strongly feature hotels close to the airport.
Given that there is not a great deal for non business travellers to do downtown, perhaps the better option is to stay closer to the airport , and take a taxi or public . transport into the city centre

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OTG26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    838
    463
    146
    47
    17
See reviews for
259
346
69
658
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

This is a higher standard of hotel than what I usually stay at, but I didn't know Calgary and decided to stay right in the middle of the town - this hotel is opposite the Glenbow Museum and a block or two from Chinatown and the skytower etc. The room was very comfortable (and had a row of power outlets right on the desk - no unplugging lamps to recharge devices, no climbing around under the desk looking for outlets!), the bed was comfortable and the amenities were very nice. I also had a great view, which was a benefit of paying $9 online for an upgraded room if available. There was also a first-class buffet breakfast available in the Balcony lounge on the second floor (ground floor restaurant was closed for renovation) for the incredibly good value price of $15. But best of all was the customer service, which was outstanding, right from check-in (when I got the very quiet room I asked for). I wasn't leaving town until midnight of the day I checked out, and the check-in desk manager allowed me to use their premium lounge on the 19th floor all afternoon and evening. I was able to get some urgent work done in peace and quiet and comfort. This was incredibly generous, considering I'd already checked out, and was by no means one of their regular guests, let alone a premium guest. Combined with an excellent advance-purchase room rate, this was altogether a wonderful stay and would stay here again in a flash.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fussytraveller29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Hotel looks great and is very chic. My room was not as clean as I expect for a hotel of this cost and caliber. There were long hairs in three different places in my bathroom and the drinking glasses looked like they had not been cleaned very well.
The public spaces are great and the restaurant serves an amazing burger that is freshly hand-ground.

Room Tip: Check for cleanliness. Otherwise, the place is really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
396 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

The Hyatt is an excellent downtown hotel. Well maintained, quiet and very good staff. We stayed over a weekend and it was a lovely bonus to have access to the Regency Club room for breakfast, cookies, water etc. Room was excellent. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CheshireLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
832 reviews
158 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

We booked one of the Hyatt Regency Rooms which was nicely appointed and the Club Lounge was great, with one of the best breakfast selections I have seen in such a lounge. The room was quiet with an excellent bed.
The reception staff were first class and most helpful.
Would definitely use agin next time we are in Calgary.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank UkSil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We booked into the Hyatt regency with your daughter and 5 grandchildren. The hotel had a children's welcome cart for the children to pick a toy of their choice. The staff was extremely pleasant and accommodating and the breakfast was first rate. the rooms, overlooking the C-train stop provided a great amount of entertainment for the four year old boys and there was no noise infiltration. A wonderful stay with all needs met in a pleasant and professional manner. The swimming pool was great for the kids and a good time was had by all.

Room Tip: Young boys should like the train. Ask for the side overlooking the train stop station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susanguilbault
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastopol, California
Level 6 Contributor
273 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Spent a week in Baff area and I tried to find a place there for the last day and 1 star hotels were more than $150 a night.
So I decided go back to Calgary one day before.. So I found a hyatt room at priceline for $90 a night...
Speaking about the hotel, the place looks great and very clean. The plus are:
Bed are great, bathroom are excellent and showers are nice and hot! the swimming pool and hot tub on last floor is amazing:-)
The only down for me was needed to pay for the parking!
Great place to stay in downtown Calgary!

Room Tip: Any room is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ricardofr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
0.1 mi away
The Fairmont Palliser
The Fairmont Palliser
#21 of 109 in Calgary
2,241 reviews
0.1 mi away
Calgary Marriott Downtown Hotel
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Suites Calgary Eau Claire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Germain Calgary
Hotel Le Germain Calgary
#10 of 109 in Calgary
874 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Westin Calgary
The Westin Calgary
#26 of 109 in Calgary
1,433 reviews
0.2 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Calgary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Calgary

Property: Hyatt Regency Calgary
Address: Hyatt Regency Calgary 700 Centre St SE, Calgary, Alberta T2G 5P6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Calgary
#6 Luxury Hotel in Calgary
#8 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
#8 Business Hotel in Calgary
#9 Family Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Calgary 4*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency Calgary offers world-class service, elegant surroundings and unsurpassed modern convenience. At the corner of Stephen Avenue Walk, a popular pedestrian street filled with restaurants, pubs, shops, theatre and entertainment venues, we are also connected to the Convention Centre. Nestled in one of the city's historic sandstone buildings, the hotel showcases the region's heritage, while embracing a contemporary, western feel that embraces Calgary's cosmopolitan personality. Not only is Hyatt Regency Calgary structurally stunning, it also captures the spirit of the surrounding landscapes with +500 collections of original western paintings and sculptures created by local artists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hyatt Regency Calgary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Calgary Hotel Calgary
Hyatt Calgary
Calgary Hyatt Regency

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing