We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall good, but pricey”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Calgary
Ranked #15 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
67 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Overall good, but pricey”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

The staff at the Hyatt in Calgary are phenonmenal. The price for what you get room wise... a little high. I was expecting more for the price. The beds were comfortable, but the sheets were not out of this world. If you do not upgrade to the Regency Club, internet is extra. The rooms looks wise are okay... they didn't blow me away.

Hotel is in the perfect location, you can walk everywhere! If you do not like walking, the hotel is right beside the train (free in the downtown area).

The pool was lovely and the steam room fantastic. Great views of the city and nice and peaceful and quiet.

The Regency upgrade was worth it for sure, the snacks and breakfast were fantastic.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    801
    450
    140
    43
    16
See reviews for
236
334
68
640
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
160 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

I was in Calgary for work and decided to split my time between the Le Germain Calgary and the Hyatt. I've stayed at the Hyatt several times before and had always enjoyed the experience. The latest stay was as good as ever. I really like this hotel. It's got a great vibe as soon as you enter the very beautiful lobby. My room was very comfortable. The bathrooms are a bit on the small side compared to many new luxury hotels, but it's perfectly adequate. The bed is comfortable and I had a beautiful view on a high floor. The fitness facilities are excellent with a terrific pool near the top of the hotel with a great view of the city. There's a new coffee shop/treat shop in the lobby that was very good. I've always had at least one meal in the lobby restaurant and did so again this time. The restaurant is a little bit pricey, but the food is good, and the staff are friendly. The lobby lounge gets very busy at the end of the business day. Staff here are very friendly and helpful. If you want to travel to one of the large malls in the city there's an above-ground train right around the corner, and you're also right on Stephen Avenue, a nice strip for walking, shopping and eating.

Room Tip: Ask for a city/mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikeymaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

After a couple of very good experiences staying at Hyatt hotels with my family, I decided to try the Hyatt Regency Calgary on a short business trip earlier this week. The welcome at check-in was very hospitable, with a personal touch, and I was pleased to get a room upgrade as I am a Gold Rewards member. The room itself was wonderful - a suite on the 20th floor with living room and bedroom. It was extremely quiet, even though the hotel is in the heart of downtown. Another benefit was breakfast in the Regency Club on the 18th floor - a small but comfortable place to have breakfast the following morning. There is more than one restaurant choice in the hotel but I decided on the oyster bar at street level. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angloinusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Stayed at the Hyatt on a recent business trip and have to say it most disapointing.

Met coworkers for cocktails in the lounge, the service was jarring. As I waited at the bar for service, the bar keep glared at me and asked me "what my problem was". I requested a drink and a menu, to which I was informed cooly that my server would be right with me. When our server Cheryl did arrive she came across quite abrasive and slightly obnoxious. She was asked how her day was, she snapped "do I know you" this was off putting for us. I would expect this type of response from a server in a beer parlour and most certainley at a Hyatt property. In addition to this, out appie platter was served undercooked, which Cheryl did make right.

Wanted to contact the general manager to provide this feedback directly, when I asked a hotel employee who the GM was the response from a high profile employee was "I think its Herb"

Housekeeping is on point and the property is very clean, service in the lounge just plain requires a employee make over. This is after all, the hospitality industry.

I usually stay at the Delta when in Calgary on business, and will continue staying at the Delta.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DOUG B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

My wife and I visited Calgary for an overnight visit and we wanted to be located downtown and the Hyatt Regency looked like a great choice. At check in, we were greeted by a very friendly and thorough front desk agent "Aileen" I think her name was. After we were welcomed to the property she ushered us right to the elevator and gave us a proper orientation to the property. We didn't get the chance to try out some of the restaurants, but my wife did try the Spa and she came back extremely satisfied with the level of care and service she received from the staff. It's the little things that also make a big difference. Each time I picked up the phone or had something brought to our room, I was greeted by name and always with friendly service. We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Imbatman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zwolle, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We have stayed here for 1 night when we arrived in Canada. The hotel is located very conveniently in the city center. The hotel itself looks great on the in- and outside, staff was friendly but there was a bit of a distance. It didn't really bother me as I was only there for one night.
The room was clean and of a decent size, so was the bathroom. Windows couldn't open, that was too bad because I like fresh air in my bedroom. There is free wifi in the rooms.
I didn't eat in the hotel so can't tell anything about that.
Overall, nice hotel for business and leisure and very well located in the center of Calgary. Would recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MazouV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

Last week I stayed at the Hyatt in Calgary for business. I have recently stayed in Pure rooms at other hotels and was now aware that all Hyatts have them so I booked one here.
Again, I had a great nights sleep and woke up feeling ready for a run along the Bow River. Also this time, there were special hypo-allergenic soaps and shampoos. Nice touch.
Had lunch at the restaurant (forget the name) but was really good. I had the steak sandwich... Filling and tasty.
VERY nice people at checkin.
I had stayed there a while back and they remembered me (or at least made me feel that way).
Great place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
The Fairmont Palliser
#20 of 109 in Calgary
2,120 reviews
Hotel Le Germain Calgary
#7 of 109 in Calgary
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beltline
Hotel Elan
Hotel Elan
#2 of 109 in Calgary
613 reviews
The Westin Calgary
#27 of 109 in Calgary
1,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Calgary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Calgary

Property: Hyatt Regency Calgary
Address: Hyatt Regency Calgary 700 Centre St SE, Calgary, Alberta T2G 5P6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Calgary
#5 Luxury Hotel in Calgary
#8 Business Hotel in Calgary
#8 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
#9 Family Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Calgary 4*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency Calgary offers world-class service, elegant surroundings and unsurpassed modern convenience. At the corner of Stephen Avenue Walk, a popular pedestrian street filled with restaurants, pubs, shops, theatre and entertainment venues, we are also connected to the Convention Centre. Nestled in one of the city's historic sandstone buildings, the hotel showcases the region's heritage, while embracing a contemporary, western feel that embraces Calgary's cosmopolitan personality. Not only is Hyatt Regency Calgary structurally stunning, it also captures the spirit of the surrounding landscapes with +500 collections of original western paintings and sculptures created by local artists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Calgary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Calgary Hotel Calgary
Hyatt Calgary
Calgary Hyatt Regency

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing