We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel in the heart of downtown”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Calgary
Ranked #14 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
kelowna
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great hotel in the heart of downtown”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Nice sized room. Courteous service. Great beds, I slept well and the room was a very good temperature... no adjustment needed. The bathroom was large. I was on the 7th floor and it had a view of the city. The concierge and staff were helpful in directing me to stores and the convention centre is connected by a hallway, no need to go outside. I recommend this hotel for service, sleep and quality. I didn't check out the spa and I ate next door at the Convention Centre. The appetizers at the Convention Centre were, quite honestly, the absolute best I have ever had... incredible and for meeting planners, they are worth whatever you have to pay!!! :)

The only thing that was a turn off was the price but that is the same as all hotels in Calgary. At least Alberta doesn't have the extra tax of other provinces. To be honest, you can't beat Calgary for friendliness.

The Calgary Tower is about two blocks away and an impressive sight as you leave the hotel and the C-train is very close, you can hop on it to go to the hockey game if you want and get around most of Calgary.

There was a little store almost opposite the hotel that was great for gifts. Winners is on the same block and had some business dress and a better selection than I have seen in other Winners. The mall is just a block away.

If you like nightlife, there are MANY restaurants close by and an Irish pub. You can stay in the hotel area and find lots to do and the market is not far away at all.. four small blocks, if you want to go for Korean food, which is fabulous.

Room Tip: I always choose a room higher up to avoid noise from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank walkswithafriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    785
    441
    138
    42
    16
See reviews for
231
332
68
620
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

The staff here are great - if i needed anything at all (even if it was weird) they cheerfully and without hesitation sorted out everything.
i also really loved the swimming pool and gym and the food menus both in the restaurant and for room service were excellent and really well thought out. They had a great variety of dishes and of lots of different sizes available no matter what time it was which i appreciated. I'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SRHolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spruce Grove, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Room was great, dinner was good and breakfast buffet in AM was excellent. Only complaint about the hotel was that the hot tub was colder than the pool. But all of the amenities are very very nice here

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blondellie_j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Staff was great. Nothing wrong with hotel , very nice.
First hotel I ever had to pay for parking tho..
Had trouble using my room key to get out of parking lot.
I always seem to have trouble with those cards.
You get two when you check in and for sure only the one will work.
The one thing that really impressed me about this hotel was the security, my daughter and I were wondering around the hotel and it was less than 5min. security was asking us what we were doing and if we need help finding anything. I,ll be staying at this hotel again...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffcoo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Stayed here for a conference over the weekend. Hyatt's online check-in and check-out made things easy. The staff were outstanding - every last one that I ran into: professional, attentive, and very friendly. The hotel itself was in great repair, very clean and very comfortable.

Only observation: like most hotels, the hot tub/pool closed at 10 pm, a bit too early for me but still reasonable. I should say though that even here one night a family showed up at 9:45 and the staff extended the pool hours by 15 minutes out of compassion.

Internet was free I believe due to a free Hyatt rewards membership.

I prepaid $119 + taxes etc which made this hotel a great value.

Highly recommended. I will absolutely stay again. (I gave breakfast an average rating since I didn't eat there)

Room Tip: The higher the better for view - no other benefit that I could tell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WJGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We live in Calgary but were going to have a night out on the town for our anniversary. Had lunch at Milestones across the street which was great.
Had a late dinner at Sky 360 in the Calgary tower which was fantastic
then we headed out for drinks.
room was small for a wheelchair accessible room, it was clean but nothing special.
service was good

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seasoned_experienced
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
143 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed at the Hyatt on a working visit to Calgary - our first. From the outside, including the main entrance, the hotel doesn't look like much. However, once you step in, the handsome decor and lofty foyer makes a really good impression. I loved the paintings on the walls. The room was spacious, the bed good and the bathroom roomy. I would appreciate more than on bath mat. The floor is cold and you have to move the one and only mat to where you need to be. There was no shoe-cleaning cloth. Oversight?

The restaurant is situated in an old sandstone building incorporated into the hotel. The thick walls prevent wi-fi, so you cannot use your credit card in the restaurant but have to follow the waiter into the bar to do that bit. In 2013! No bid deal, though.

The waiters in the restaurant were almost too attentive, continuously interrupting our conversation to ask whether everything was ok. It was, thank you. They meant well.

We had a view of gleaming skyscrapers.

We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lamppu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
The Fairmont Palliser
#21 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,088 reviews
Hotel Le Germain Calgary
#8 of 109 in Calgary
4.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beltline
Hotel Elan
Hotel Elan
#3 of 109 in Calgary
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
The Westin Calgary
#26 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Calgary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Calgary

Property: Hyatt Regency Calgary
Address: Hyatt Regency Calgary 700 Centre St SE, Calgary, Alberta T2G 5P6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Calgary
#5 Luxury Hotel in Calgary
#8 Business Hotel in Calgary
#8 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
#9 Family Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Calgary 4*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency Calgary offers world-class service, elegant surroundings and unsurpassed modern convenience. At the corner of Stephen Avenue Walk, a popular pedestrian street filled with restaurants, pubs, shops, theatre and entertainment venues, we are also connected to the Convention Centre. Nestled in one of the city's historic sandstone buildings, the hotel showcases the region's heritage, while embracing a contemporary, western feel that embraces Calgary's cosmopolitan personality. Not only is Hyatt Regency Calgary structurally stunning, it also captures the spirit of the surrounding landscapes with +500 collections of original western paintings and sculptures created by local artists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Calgary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Calgary Hotel Calgary
Hyatt Calgary
Calgary Hyatt Regency

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing