We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hyatt Regency Calgary”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Calgary
Ranked #14 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Kamloops
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hyatt Regency Calgary”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Service was the highlight. Employees from the reception staff to housekeeping were very engaging. Certainly made you feel like a valued customer. WIFI access was expensive. Hyatt Gold Passport is nothing significant compared to other programs such as Fairmont Gold. Still a very enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    760
    424
    133
    41
    16
See reviews for
229
326
64
589
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Comox, Canada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

No better connection to the Convention Centre than the Hyatt. Rooms are great, service extraordinary, very attentive staff. When I needed bubble wrap and packing boxes, the staff directed me to a nearby UPS store. Oversize airport limo? No problem. One observation - in this day of personal hot spots on smart phones, why do hotels still try to sell wi-fi for $13.95 daily? Free wi-fi is now a feature of some room packages but the smart hotels don't discriminate. Set my people free!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marty D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Canada
Level Contributor
139 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Staying with my wife who is here for a conference. Had some time so I thought I would write mid-stay. I have no problem if I need to amend things later on.

Pros: great downtown location, friendly and helpful staff, overall clean, nice pool, good fitness center for a hotel (cables, db up to 50, machines, cardio', towels, h2o), connected to convention centre

Cons: parking(self is $25/day, valet is $35), some hairs left in our tub, the hot tub is more like a warm bath, walls are paper thin(can hear conversation in room next to us and in hallway), not sure if the c- train runs 24h/ day but you can hear it every time it goes by

Saving this con for the end. $14/day for wifi. It really disappoints me going to a "moderate" hotel and they usually offer free wifi, but when you go to a higher end hotel like a hyatt, it's hard to believe they charge for this amenity. For the record, I'm using my iPhone hotspot to write this review on my iPad out of principal to not pay the extra fee.

The hyatt is a nice hotel and if you need to be downtown for a convention, great location. Otherwise, I would look to stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Imthatguytcb247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We recently stayed at the Hyatt for a weekend Stay-cation. The location is excellent as we had access to all the amenities in downtown Calgary as well as the c-train station being located right around the corner that enabled us to go to the Scotiabank Saddledome to watch the Calgary Flames play the Chicago Blackhawks. All staff from the Concierge to the Front Desk Staff to the cleaning staff were extremely courteous and helpful and we were checked in quickly and efficiently. Our rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable. The best part was that the curtains blocked out any light from the street and contributed to a good night's sleep.

Room Tip: Rooms that are away from 7th Avenue (c-train tracks) are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katy365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementHRC, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Calgary, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Katy365,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay-cation and look forward to welcoming you back soon to the hotel.

Best,
Herb Rackliff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bentley, Alberta
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Us Central Alberta girls needed a break from mundane rural life & needed to head to the Big City & Big Lights!! Sooooooo based on Trip Advisor reviews & the hotels website, we choose the Hyatt... and we were Blown away!!! AMAZING SERVICE... special shout out to to HANS who helped up with our bags, gave us a breakdown of the hotel, places to go & things to do!

We had excellent views from BOTH of the windows in our 2 queen room. We were on the 20th
floor so we felt we were on top of the world!! Other then that, our 2 queen room was just that, a 2 queen room... expected a little more room-wise by opting out to be a member of the Regency Club :)

Beds were comfy, bathtub was little outdated - but cleaned to my insanley picky standards!!

Room Tip: If you can afford to book REGENCY CLUB... DO IT! The drinks (non-alcoholic), breakfasts, teas, coffe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nixjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine, Washington
Level Contributor
173 reviews
150 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

As always really enjoyed my stay here. Centrally located good and efficient staff. Great gym and pool. Rooms are comfortable as are the beds. Was on the regency floor and enjoyed access to the regency club. Only thing I don't like about this property is the lobby just a little cold and non "luxury" feel about it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MTCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementHRC, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Calgary, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear MTCB,

Thank you so much for your recent review. We appreciate your selection of our hotel for your stay and are glad that you enjoyed Regency Club, Health Club and the rooms. We look forward to you visiting again soon.

Best,
Herb Rackliff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We had two nights at the Hyatt booked and after the first night we decided to stay else where. We had two Queen beds for our family of 4. The beds seemed old as there was a dip in the center of the mattresses, and we kept rolling into the dip. The hot water took a full 5 minutes to reach our shower, The room was okay, but nothing really special. I liked the view of the city and the location, but there are many other places I would rather stay. The pool was small and the hot tub shallow, And on our way back to our room our key card decided not to work. We got a good rate on the room, but everything else adds up like parking, paying for wifi, and even a $3.50 can of pop from the mini bar seemed excessive. There are many other 3 star hotels that rated better in my mind then this!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrienenS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementHRC, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Calgary, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear BrienenS,

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback about your recent stay. It was disappointing to hear that you encountered some issues during your stay, but I can certainly understand your frustrations. I would like to offer an apology for any inconvenience you experienced as a result. I have shared your comments with our management team and will ensure we follow up appropriately.

We pride ourselves on delivering quality service and products to our guests, but in your case we fell short of this goal. I hope you can view this as an isolated incident and allow us the opportunity to serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Herb Rackliff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
The Fairmont Palliser
#22 of 109 in Calgary
2,054 reviews
Hotel Le Germain Calgary
#10 of 109 in Calgary
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beltline
Hotel Elan
Hotel Elan
#2 of 109 in Calgary
565 reviews
The Westin Calgary
#25 of 109 in Calgary
1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Calgary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Calgary

Property: Hyatt Regency Calgary
Address: Hyatt Regency Calgary 700 Centre St SE, Calgary, Alberta T2G 5P6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Calgary
#5 Luxury Hotel in Calgary
#8 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
#8 Business Hotel in Calgary
#9 Family Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Calgary 4*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency Calgary offers world-class service, elegant surroundings and unsurpassed modern convenience. At the corner of Stephen Avenue Walk, a popular pedestrian street filled with restaurants, pubs, shops, theatre and entertainment venues, we are also connected to the Convention Centre. Nestled in one of the city's historic sandstone buildings, the hotel showcases the region's heritage, while embracing a contemporary, western feel that embraces Calgary's cosmopolitan personality. Not only is Hyatt Regency Calgary structurally stunning, it also captures the spirit of the surrounding landscapes with +500 collections of original western paintings and sculptures created by local artists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Calgary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Calgary Hotel Calgary
Hyatt Calgary
Calgary Hyatt Regency

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing