We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Downtown - central” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Regency Calgary

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Calgary
Ranked #13 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
89 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Downtown - central”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

Located in the city, a few steps to the pedestrian area and Calgary Tower. First impression: Old fashioned. High-ceiling lobby, carpeted (large flowers) floor.
Reception was quick and friendly.
We had a room on the 18th floor (club-room). The room is spacious, functionally equipped with 2 queen size beds, desk, flatscreen.In the bathroom there is a combined bathtub/shower with shower curtain which is for hygienic reasons no longer up-to-date standard.
The aircondition is easily adjustable and low-noise.


The club lounge is totally uncomfortable. Restricted offer. Soft drinks are free, the prices for alcoholic drinks are high. The breakfast offer is sufficient with two hot dishes. The staff was kind and helpful. Free Wi-Fi for club-guests.

We tried the Thomsons Restaurant for dinner but found the quality of the food mediocre. We recommend Ruth's Chris steakhouse, located in the Tower nearby.

Pool: Small long indoor pool and gym on the 18th floor.

Valet parking: Extremely expensive with 35 $/night.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank voyager-liese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    744
    414
    131
    41
    16
See reviews for
228
319
63
574
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

We were near the end of our 10 days in Alberta when we got to the HR Calgary. Our two nights there were some of the best sleep we have had in years. Located Downtown, the hotel is walking distance to many wonderful restaurants and a quick train ride to the local CFL game (Calgary Stampeders).

Room Tip: Parking is pricey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nina0801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Calgary, responded to this review, July 15, 2012
Dear nina0801,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback about your recent stay with us. I was excited to hear that you felt your two nights with us were some of the best sleep you've had in years. Our beds are very comfortable and we often hear great comments about them.

Please come back and see us again for another restful evening!

Herb Rackliff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Hyatt from June 29 to July 6. We were on the 18th floor which is known the club level. The heated swimming pool and hot tub is located on this level as well as an excellent gym facility. Breakfast was included in the club lounge. The club lounge is excellent. It is open for breakfast from 7-9 a.m. Breakfast had two hot items such as bacon and sausages and eggs, then there were boiled eggs, toast, pastries, greek yogurt, cheeses, fresh fruit, cereals, bagels, english muffins, banana bread, etc. From 5-7 p.m. two kinds of hot appetizers are served along with breads dips and spreads, fresh vegetables and steamed vegetables, and you can eat as much as you want. From 7-9 p.m. desserts are served. The rest of the time the club lounge is open from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. at night whereby you can access tea, coffees, lattes, espressos, and cappuccinos. They also have a bar at the club lounge which you can help yourself to but there is an honor system.

We were able to have a fridge and microwave in our room as we also had our 4 year old with us. However, they do have a microwave in the club lounge which a guest may access. The staff are really friendly and have good manners. Nothing seemed to phase them. They always had a smile on their faces. The staff at the Club Lounge were terrific and Brian was awesome!
When we had a few requests the staff managed to figure it out and find solutions with a smile! We were impressed!

Thompson's Restaurant was excellent! They catered to our 4 year old. For instance, pasta and tomato sauce is not on the kids menu however, the Chef was accommodating. Our hats off to the Chef!

We would like to thank the staff at the Hyatt Regency and Manager Mr. Cokar for our wonderful stay!

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank A and Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Calgary, responded to this review, July 15, 2012
Dear A and Z,

Thank you for leaving feedback about your stay with us, what great comments to hear! I was particularly happy to find that you had such great compliments about our staff, specifically Brian, our Culinary team and Mr. Cokar. I will be sure to pass along your kind words and personally thank each of them for their efforts in making your stay a success.

Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon!

Herb Rackliff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

While renovated, it's not quite the Hyatt you might see in a larger US city. Location is good, sleep quality was "ok" not great. Room placement is significant for quality sleep at this hotel. Staff was nice but cannot do much at check in if not empowered. I would book the Marriott next door for all nights next time as I stayed at both properties, loving Hyatt as a chain. Business services were down or broken or not existing and while staff was nice, the line was long to get help.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank artandbeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

This hotel was our base camp for enjoying the Calgary comic expo which was only a quick 10 minute walk to the BMO Center. The accommodations were clean and well appointed and the bed were comfortable. The washrooms were your standard hotel washrooms with nothing really fancy.

Now the one thing I absolutely hated was the horrendous parking fees. and the fact they kept pushing the valet because they kept saying the self park was full yet, people were still going in and finding spots.

All in all, some advice would be to try the self park yourself and if that doesn't work out, find some alternate parking somewhere else.

Room Tip: Higher up is probably better as the Ctrain is quite close to the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EtownTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

I slept at this hotel last week, prior to July 1st week-end.
I had a hotwire rate. As always, I was suspicious. The reason being that I'm always given problematic rooms when i use hotwire for booking. At first, the room looked ok. I did not think that this useless door in the middle would cause much problems. It is in fact a cardboard door leading to next doors conversation. That night, nextdoor was a group of foreign tourists, slamming doors, shouting, drinking. I called security at 23:30, and again at around 2:00. The noise stopped at around 3. The person at the switchboard told me that the people were being evicted. They were not. And they started their noise again at 7:00. I slept about 4 hours that night. Even with a hotwire rate, its a lot to pay for such a short and bad sleep.
There needs to be stricter rules about noise at that hotel, and maybe the staff should be less thinking about calling me by my last name every 2 seconds and being so polite. I don't care about polite, i go to a hotel to sleep. This hotel, never again. And therefore, hotwire rates for Calgary, never again. I am sure there are a lot of 3 stars out there much better runned and much quieter.

Room Tip: If assigned a room with a connecting room, ask to be changed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeeceebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

Loved staying at the Hyatt. My first time staying there in Calgary, and it has been updated and renovated recently. Upgraded us to a King sized bed (complementary), which was much appreciated. The hotel lobby is beautiful, with an upside-down canoe in the ceiling. Tip: for Sunday brunch lovers, I had one of the best brunches of my life at Thompson's, located on the main floor of the hotel. It is *definitely* worth the $30/person as a special treat -- and we didn't need to eat for the rest of the day. Love the Hyatt -- we will be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WesternTravelGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Calgary, responded to this review, July 7, 2012
Dear WesternTravelGal,

Thank you for leaving the fantastic comments about your recent stay with us. I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed our recent lobby renovations, as well as the brunch in Thomsons. I will pass along your feedback to our employees as they truly enjoy hearing such great stories.

Thanks again and come back soon!

Herb Rackliff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
The Fairmont Palliser
#20 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,038 reviews
Hotel Le Germain Calgary
#10 of 109 in Calgary
4.5 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Westin Calgary
#25 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
Beltline
Hotel Elan
Hotel Elan
#2 of 109 in Calgary
4.5 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Calgary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Calgary

Property: Hyatt Regency Calgary
Address: Hyatt Regency Calgary 700 Centre St SE, Calgary, Alberta T2G 5P6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Calgary
#4 Luxury Hotel in Calgary
#8 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
#8 Business Hotel in Calgary
#9 Family Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Calgary 4*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency Calgary offers world-class service, elegant surroundings and unsurpassed modern convenience. At the corner of Stephen Avenue Walk, a popular pedestrian street filled with restaurants, pubs, shops, theatre and entertainment venues, we are also connected to the Convention Centre. Nestled in one of the city's historic sandstone buildings, the hotel showcases the region's heritage, while embracing a contemporary, western feel that embraces Calgary's cosmopolitan personality. Not only is Hyatt Regency Calgary structurally stunning, it also captures the spirit of the surrounding landscapes with +500 collections of original western paintings and sculptures created by local artists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Cheap Tickets and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Hyatt Regency Calgary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Calgary Hotel Calgary
Hyatt Calgary
Calgary Hyatt Regency

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing