We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge South to your Saves list
Econo Lodge South
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7505 Macleod Trail South, Calgary, Alberta T2H 0L8, Canada (Southwest Calgary)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #83 of 110 Hotels in Calgary
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

This hotel/motel was quite clean with some great ammenities. The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. There was a nice pool and excercise room. A continential breakfast was offered every morning. In terms of location, very conveniently located to transit and access to downtown Calgary is quick. It's right on Macleod trail so there are lots of restaurants within walking distance. It looked like it had been recently renovated with some renovations to the roof and exterior ongoing.

Room Tip: smoking rooms are available. There are also rooms with doors that open on ground level in addition t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank whindianwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EconoLodgeCalgary, General Manager at Econo Lodge South, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind response and praise for our friendly staff. Comments such as yours help to keep our staff motivated to go the extra mile. And thank you for staying with us.

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    52
    23
    18
    16
See reviews for
32
33
7
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Spent 3 weeks here last year and couldn't fault the place. It was immaculate, bed was fresh every day and the towels. Everything was clean and just a really great place to stay!
Staff were friendly and loads of great places locally to visit, including the Chinook shopping mall. Limericks was a fab pub within crawling distance! Loved it

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellaanddylansmummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EconoLodgeCalgary, General Manager at Econo Lodge South, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you staying at our hotel. It was a pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and everything was perfect for your stay. We look forward to serving you again with same high standard that you have come to expect of us.

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
296 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I would have only rated the hotel itself 3 but the front desk staff was so nice I have no hesitation bumping up a star just because of them.
The hotel itself is a very ordinary motel type establishment. It is the kind of place we stay at if we are blowing through a town or city in North America and we need a bed for the night. Calgary was crowded this Saturday night, the Spruce Meadows horse jumping was on and this was the first hotel we came upon that had any non-smoking rooms available what so ever. We were in town for another big event, The Tour of Alberta, a world class bicycle race but I do not think it had a big impact on the room availablily in Calgary. If you are interested in The Tour of Alberta or other worldly destinations check out our NON commercial blog at http://havecarryonwilltravel.com.
The hotel has a pool that we did not use, free internet, and free breakfast.
The room was clean, and the beds were comfortable but the bathroom could use some work. There was a bit of black mold around the tub in the silicone. Nothing that bothers me but if you are fussy about that sort of thing check the room before you commit.
I did have trouble with the TV, someone had messed with the set up channel and I drew a blank. Again the fellow at the front desk had the answer and as soon as I set the box to channel 3 the pic appeared.
We had a completely noiseless night. There was no ruckus in the hotel and the highway noise was deflected by the strip mall between us and the road.
As I said the front desk staff was great. The fellow met me with a smile and made me laugh. He was light about his job but took it seriously. The lady that settled the bill in the morning was much the same. I went away from the desk both time with a smile and really astounded at how nice people are.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MurTheExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EconoLodgeCalgary, General Manager at Econo Lodge South, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful praise for our staff and for staying with us. Your comments about our staff was very well received and encouraging for our staff at the desk to
strive even harder to please all our guests who stay with us. I am glad that the few minor problems that you experienced were resolved to your satisfaction. I am happy to let you and all our guests know that moulds no longer exist in any of our bathrooms. Thank you for pointing that out to us.

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

And yet, as someone said below, it got worse. Me and my friend aren't usually the type to complain or make an issue to a hotel about specific issues that bug us, but this has to be said. We were here from August 6-8 2013 and all we ask for any hotel is an internet connection and a hot tub indoors. This site provided both to us for a cheap price. I knew when we saw the price for this, we needed to lower our expectations and for me and my friend, it isn't hard to lower it when you have lived in Haiti or Zambia with nothing but a mattress and walls. So we knew this would be luxury to us. However, on the first day there, the hot tub was broken and we made an issue on this the first day, and their answer to me was "Well, there's nothing I can do about this". Ummmm, yeah, there is something you can do about this, GET SOMEONE DOWN THERE TO THE HOT TUB AND FIX IT. I've been in customer service rep positions for 6 years and NEVER would I say that to ANY customer. I felt that was downright rude and ignorant to say. Then we found the internet was shotty time and time again through our whole stay. Also, it was kind of suspicious to us when we saw old mattresses sitting outside the back of the hotel and new ones sitting at the front of the hotel, kinda makes you wonder if there is some bed bug issues...not that there was any (I checked our room, we were clean). I will not stay in a place where even my basic needs are not met and I will not recommend this place..

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matthew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EconoLodgeCalgary, General Manager at Econo Lodge South, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
First and foremost I would like to sincerely apologise for the rudeness and poor comments made by any of our staff that offended you. I have discussed this with all our staff so that next time when something breaks down or does not work there will be a more appropriate response that does not sound so abrupt, rude or offensive to any of our guests in future.
Just for your information (and this is not an excuse) after regular office hours no company in Calgary services pools & Hot tubs. To make matters more worse, after the floods in June all businesses in Calgary that needed any kind of repair service electrical, mechanical or otherwise were being asked to wait for a technician for as many as 3 to 4 days right up to October.
I am so sorry that you had to experience that at our hotel.
As for the mattresses, that was a part of our renovation project in our new wing. To make it more efficient new mattresses were being brought in from the front and old ones were being carted out from the back..Just to assure you we do not have bug problems in our rooms.

Our pool and hot tub is now being monitored through out the day to ensure that they are operating at peak performance and all measures are being taken to ensure that it does not happen again.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Calgary hotels

Belleville, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Would I go there again? ... if they cleaned better maybe.
I will agree with most reviewers that the cleanliness is not spectacular. I am sure the sheets are clean and they did an effort of cleaning.
When it came to detail to cleanliness it was obvious there was none.
Tub could use a good scrub and some Tilex to remove the mildew on the tiles.
There was a moldy piece of food between the bed and night table... not sure how long that's been there...

Breakfast was decent, waffles, toast, boiled egg, banana, OJ, Tea, etc.

Friendly staff..

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Even though we are non smokers we and our friends took the last two smoking rooms as that was all that was available. The carpet was heavily stained, walls, trim, lamps etc were all yellow smoke coated in need of a wash. Bed was very old and hammock like. NO air conditioning working. Window was screwed closed so couldn't even sleep with a window open. Bath fan didn't work either. The evening desk clerk was very nice at check in and even grabbed us some frebreeze and a table fan.cost was around $149 at a ' prefered' rate, after talking to the manager it was $99. Had to sleep in smoking rooms before with no problems but this place was terrible.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ManimalChozenBreed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Everything about the EL was fantastic. I've stayed in budget accommodation and was sceptical about this one but my fears were put to rest when we walked into a clean room that didn't smell like cigarettes, even though the smoking rooms were 10 metres away. If I was running the hotel, I would have the smoking rooms at the end of the corridor so non-smokers and the pregnant don't have to walk past them on their way to breakfast, etc. The free continental breakfast was good. The hotel is close enough to everything, but far enough away. There is a massive shopping mall a mere 5 minute drive away and as we went for the Stampede, the train, which drops you right outside the front gates, was a 10 minute walk away! My only real concern was the fact that I could hear the room next door turn their shower on early in the morning.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James2385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Southwest Calgary
Travelodge Calgary South
Travelodge Calgary South
#85 of 110 in Calgary
3.0 of 5 stars 190 reviews
Southwest Calgary
Comfort Inn & Suites South
Comfort Inn & Suites South
#77 of 110 in Calgary
3.0 of 5 stars 149 reviews
Days Inn - Calgary South
#86 of 110 in Calgary
3.0 of 5 stars 615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southeast Calgary
Carriage House Inn
Carriage House Inn
#37 of 110 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 stars 442 reviews
Alyth - Bonnybrook - Manchester
Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South
Southeast Calgary
Stetson Village Inn
Stetson Village Inn
#84 of 110 in Calgary
3.0 of 5 stars 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge South

Property: Econo Lodge South
Address: 7505 Macleod Trail South, Calgary, Alberta T2H 0L8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Southwest Calgary
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 110 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge South 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is ideally situated in the energetic heart of Macleod Trail. Our location puts you just minutes away from a variety of tourist attractions, restaurants, shopping centres, pubs and nightclubs. Our many amenities and friendly welcoming staff will help set the stage for a total piece of mind during your stay. We offer 73 tastefully appointed guest rooms that will make you feel at home. You can count on our combination of outstanding value and personal service to make your stay as convenient and comfortable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Choice Canada, Hotels.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Econo Lodge South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge South Hotel Calgary
Econo Lodge Calgary
Calgary Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing