We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“$109.00 plus tax was too much!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites University
Ranked #86 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“$109.00 plus tax was too much!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

I have stayed in Comfort Inns in my travels in Canada and the US. The breakfast was fine; the room was fine; but I found the price a bit higher than other hotels in the vicinity - and there are quite a few in the that strip.

Room Tip: I cannot; just went to my room and went to bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Esmail J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saddiq K, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites University, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking out time to comment about your stay at our hotel. It was our pleasure to serve you during your stay at our hotel.

Our rates vary with demand and supply as our system, like others in the hospitality and the airline industry, run on a yield management system, i.e. they are affected by the demand and supply of rooms in our market. Which this means that it is best to book in advance to take advantage of low rates rather than booking at the last minute. We do run specials on advance purchase rates and perhaps next time you may want to avail that facility.

We offer superior services than many of the other hotels in Calgary and particularly our area as we serve a full hot breakfast daily, we have a two story high indoor heated water slide with Jacuzzi and fitness center, free WiFi, free parking, free daily news papers and free local calls.

Once again thank you for the opportunity to serve you and we look forward to welcoming you at our hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    58
    64
    43
    76
See reviews for
79
48
41
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Do not stay at this hotel. Run down and filthy. That includes the building itself and the room we had was filthy. Housekeeping staff don't care. The elevators act like they will quit at any moment and also are filthy. Lots of low life drug addicts hanging around and it shows. I'm not a fussy person but this place is bad. The only plus is it's right across the road from the LRT station.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saddiq K, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites University, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking out time to post your opinion about your stay and our hotel. We thank you for your patronage.

We have recently removed our entire hotel and have put in brand new flat screen LED TVs in all rooms, new floors, new wall paper and new carpets and that has totally changed the outlook of our hotel. We have more than adequate staff to take care of the daily housekeeping needs and on top of that we have a room checker as well as an executive housekeeper.

We are proud to say that we are among the top choices of hotels for guests visiting Calgary due to our location and proximity to the C-Train station which gives an easy connection to downtown via a short train ride as well as to the Children's Hospital and Foot Hills Hospital which are merely a 5 min drive away.

For the comfort of our guests we offer free high speed WiFi internet access throughout the hotel, free parking, free local calls, free daily newspaper, free daily hot complimentary breakfast featuring scrambled eggs, boiled eggs, sausages, waffles, cereal, milk, juices, muffins, tea, coffee, fruits etc. We have a 2 story high indoor heated waterslide with a heated swimming pool, jacuzzi and fitness center in addition to guest laundry facilities.

Once again thank you for your patronage and we look forward to welcoming you back at our hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

If you don't like someone or just want to pull an ugly prank, send them to this hotel. Very dirty, beds unchanged, elevator smells like burned plastic -one time was more bearable, it smelled like someone smoked weed there. Price is way too high for it, I saw highway motels worth 50/night cleaner than this. There is a "renovating" sign printed off a cheap printer probably trying to explain the poor state of building, obviously I did not see/hear any work in progress-but nice try.

Worst hotel ever- and I was to quite a few places...

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Adrian_Ge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saddiq K, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites University, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking out time to post your opinion about your stay and our hotel. We thank you for your patronage.

We have more than adequate staff to take care of the daily housekeeping needs and on top of that we have a room checker as well as an executive housekeeper. The only way a room is left untouched if the guest puts a Do Not Disturb Card on the door. It may have been possible that when they came to service the room of this guest, there was a DND on the room. Nonetheless, we have staff available 24/7/365 at the front desk to take care of such small issues and if this was raised during their stay it would have been addressed accordingly and every effort would have been made by the staff and management to make their stay comfortable and enjoyable.

Renovations are only happening in the breakfast area during the day time only (which too are almost complete) and all efforts are made not to disturb guests with any kind of noise. I am sorry for the frustration this guest felt but can assure you this is not at all the kind of standard our hotel provides.

We are proud to say that we are among the top choices of hotels for guests visiting Calgary due to our location and proximity to the C-Train station which gives an easy connection to downtown via a short train ride as well as to the Children's Hospital and Foot Hills Hospital which are mearly a 5 min drive away. For the comfort of our guests we offer free high speed WiFi internet access thoroughout the hotel, free parking, free local calls, free daily newspaper, free daily hot complimentary breakfast featuring scrambled eggs, boiled eggs, sausages, waffles, cereal, milk, juices, muffins, tea, coffee, fruits etc. We have a 2 story high indoor heated waterslide with a heated swimming pool, jacuzzi and fitness centre in additon to guest laundry facilities.

Once again thank you for your patronage and we look forward to welcoming you back at our hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

Very happy with the stay for 4 days. very clean, great staff and good breakfast. Took care of all our players and coaches. They understand how to take care of teams. Thank you from the Calgary Colts
.

Room Tip: Nice Staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saddiq K, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites University, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

Dear friends at Comfort Inn May 5,2014
It has been two weeks since my trip to Calgary.Just got all my photos and videos all sorted and my routine of working again back in order.I just want to say I had a very memorable stay in your hotel and made some very close friends.All of you made me feel at home in your hotel and the service was excellent.A hotel is not just walls and a bed,it's the staff that run it and all of you made me feel welcome and apprechiated.I would recommend your hotel to any traveller for they will be treated like family.Looking forward to my return real soon.Thank you again for everything.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less A C unit noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saddiq K, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites University, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete the review. We are always striving to improve and the great reviews are showing it! We look forward to welcoming you again at our hotel very soon in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

Staid 1 night with my family on our visit to Calgary. Not bad hotel, average for this price range. They have swimming pool with a slide and it's open till late. The breakfast is good, no complaints. The room was new, probably after renovation, but could be more clean. Dust everywhere. Curtain in the shower was dirty with something brown / black. As you can see from many reviews here, the cleanliness is not their best side. I had a discount from my employee, so the room was priced right for me. 2$ charge for the safe is ridiculous. Yes it's only 2$, but why should I pay for something I don't use? If you really think that we should pay for the safe, why don't you include the price in the total price people see when the make the order?

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evgeni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saddiq K, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites University, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Thank you for taking out time and commenting about your stay at our hotel. It was indeed a pleasure to serve you during your brief stay at our hotel. I am glad that you liked our services and facilities. We have recently undergone major renovations including putting brand new tiles in the entire hotel, new carpets, vinals and wall papers. Also a couple of weeks back we have introduced brand new bedding at our hotel which is second to none in the industry which also offeres differet types of pillows for different people who would like either a soft or a firm pillow.

You mentioned about the safe charges. We have digital safes in the rooms which carry a $5,000 warranty (as a result of forced entry). The chare is for the insurance of the same. At the time of check-in if you had mentioned that you did not need a safe or that you will not be using a safe, we would have gladly cancelled it. This is an added service we are offering to our customers and has been appreciated by so many customers who rather put their valuables e.g. passports, credit cards, cash, phones, laptops, etc. in safe than in their bags. Nonetheless, I encourge you to contact me direclty on the hotel phone, and I will gladly refund the safe charges back to you.

Once again thank you for your patronage and my staff and I look forward to welcoming you back at our hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castlegar, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

We arrived at the hotel and when we got to our room it smelled really bad inside. Then we went in the bathroom and it was filthy, the tub wasn’t even wiped down. I went right down to the front desk to complain and she said there was nothing she could do until the manager gets back. We told her we can’t stay there so we had to go to another hotel.
Once we got to speak to the manager, I’ve never been treated so poorly before. He was very rude to us and didn’t believe us that the room was dirty. The front desk clerk made notes saying the room was dirty and even went to the room to see for herself. He said there was nothing he could do and wouldn’t refund our money for the night we didn’t even get to stay in. When we tried to reason with him he started swearing at us and said he would phone the cops. DO NOT STAY HERE YOU WILL REGRET IT AND LOSE YOUR MONEY. NO REFUNDS! Currently taking comfort inn to small claims court.

Room Tip: This hotel needs to be condemned!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saddiq K, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites University, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
This couple came in the evening and were checked into a clean fresh room. After checking in they wanted to leave as some of their friends were staying in a hotel next to our hotel.

Our front desk agent went to their room to see if everything was alright or that they would need any service. To her amazement the room was neat and tidy. Nonetheless the guests were offered a complimentary upgrade to the suite at the same price, but they wanted to stay with their friends at another hotel. One of their friends also came to pick them up.

The following morning they came to demand the money back for the previous night. We explained to them that since they checked out and cancelled the room at the last moment, we would not be able to offer them a refund. Upon hearing that they starting swearing in front of other guests and customers and created a scene. It was appalling to see a lady use such offensive foul language. We immediately requested them to leave stating as we have zero tolerance against offensive and abusive language in front of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northwest Calgary
Travelodge Calgary University
Northwest Calgary
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Calgary- University Northwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Calgary
BEST WESTERN PLUS Village Park Inn
Northwest Calgary
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary NW-Banff Trail
Northwest Calgary
Days Inn Calgary Northwest
Days Inn Calgary Northwest
#44 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites University

Property: Comfort Inn & Suites University
Address: 2369 Banff Trail, N.W., Calgary, Alberta T2M 4L2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northwest Calgary
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites University 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites University
Comfort Inn & Suites University Hotel Calgary
Comfort Inn Calgary
Calgary Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing