We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Staff Try Hard”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites University
Ranked #88 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The Staff Try Hard”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

This hotel had terrible reviews and my expectations were low. I am usually a Westin, et al, quality hotel user. However, my room here was fine, and clean and completely acceptable. The staff tried hard and were polite and professional. The downsides were that the common areas were very untidy and worn, and the breakfast wasn't really very good.

If ownership/management invested a little money and put in some more effort, the results would be positive. I wouldn't necessarily stay here again, but this hotel could be an acceptable option.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeVictWW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saddiq K, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites University, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for submitting your reviews about your stay at our hotel.

We have recently undergone a complete renovation of all the rooms whereby we have installed brand new carpets, flat screen HD Televisions with Digital Receivers from Shaw Cable, high speed wireless internet, brand new wall papers, marble counter tops etc. Our hallways and lobby will shortly be renovated too and I do hope you will enjoy our new updated look.

We offer a full hot buffet breakfast which includes sausages, boiled eggs, scrambled eggs, fresh waffles, fruits, variety of flavored yogurt, fruits, juices, cereals, oatmeal, muffins, breads etc. Our customers really love our breakfast and the 2 story high water slide in the indoor heated water park featuring a Jacuzzi as well as fitness centre and guest laundry facilities.

We thank you for your hospitality and look forward to welcoming you again to our hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    58
    65
    43
    76
See reviews for
80
48
41
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

My stay was around the stampede season. I was attracted by location but other things were not optimal. Towels were no properly cleaned and I requested to change them, which was done immediately. The floor was not very clean as well. The staff was not that friendly and welcoming as you will expect from same standard hotel staff. I was not comfortable and decided to leave early in the morning without having breakfast, so I will not comment on that. I think this hotel's excellent location mandates significant improvement in service and facilities.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ahmed D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saddiq K, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites University, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for submitting your reviews about your stay at our hotel.

We have recently undergone a complete renovation of all the rooms whereby we have installed brand new carpets, flat screen HD Televisions with Digital Receivers from Shaw Cable, high speed wireless internet, brand new wall papers, marble counter tops etc.

We offer a full hot buffet breakfast which includes sausages, boiled eggs, scrambled eggs, fresh waffles, fruits, variety of flavored yogurt, fruits, juices, cereals, oatmeal, muffins, breads etc. Our customers really love our breakfast and the 2 story high water slide in the indoor heated water park featuring a Jacuzzi as well as fitness center and guest laundry facilities.

We thank you for your hospitality and look forward to welcoming you again to our hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

I stayed here in October of 2009 and gave this property a good review on this site. Since then things have obviously gone downhill.

Our room, 312, was dated, worn and dirty. Both bed quilts had obvious dirt and stains on them. There was a broken tile in the bathroom that was old and not new. Upon entering the room, I, as a non-smoker thought I smelt smoke and the window was open to perhaps air it out (despite it being a non-smoking room).

The hallway floors did not appear to be clean.

The breakfast was fine but the two people keeping things stocked were clearly overwhelmed and there were constant shortages.

I think I will try elsewhere next time......

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tango-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saddiq K, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites University, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for submitting your reviews about your stay at our hotel.

We have recently undergone a complete renovation of all the rooms whereby we have installed brand new carpets, flat screen HD Televisions with Digital Receivers from Shaw Cable, high speed wireless internet, brand new wall papers, marble counter tops etc. Had you mentioned your displeasure with your room we would have gladly moved to a room which would have been more appealing to you. Our entire hotel is completely non smoking, but unfortunately, we do sometimes have customers who despite our requests, smoke in the room. We however, try our level best get the room deep cleaned in order to get rid of the smoke smell.

We offer a full hot buffet breakfast which includes sausages, boiled eggs, scrambled eggs, fresh waffles, fruits, variety of flavored yogurt, fruits, juices, cereals, oatmeal, muffins, breads etc. Our customers really love our breakfast and the 2 story high water slide in the indoor heated water park featuring a Jacuzzi as well as fitness centre and guest laundry facilities.

We thank you for your hospitality and look forward to welcoming you again to our hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 25, 2013

The breakfast is very good with a large selection and the servive they provide is excellent. The rooms are ok, but the linnen is a little tired. Parking is free and it is across the street from the train station.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gtryetg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saddiq K, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites University, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out or your busy schedule to submit your comments. We appreciate your business and look forward to serving you again in the future as a valued client.

We are proud to be the top choice of our customers due to our location as well as services we offer which includes free parking, free WiFi, free daily hot breakfast featuring scrambled eggs, sausages, boilded eggs, a variety of fruits and delicious yogurts, variety of cerelas, muffins, fresh waffles, juices, tea, coffee, oatmeal, etc. We have an indoor heated water pool with a 2 story high waterslide, indoor jacuzzi and fitness centre along with guest laundry facilities.

Once again thank you for choosing Comfort Inn & Suites - University for your hospitality needs and we look forward to welcoming you again at our hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We booked this hotel at the last minute during Stampede as our pre-booked accommodation was flooded and closed. Having read the TripAdvisor reviews we were quite apprehensive. We had a few hiccups during the check in process and when we got to our room it stank of cigarette smoke. The staff were very helpful and the room was cleaned of the smell quickly once we notified them. The hotel facilities were more than adequate and the location across the road from a train station was supurb. The trip to and from Downtown/Stampede Grounds was simple.
My only real complaint is the price, what we were charged was ridiculous for the services provided. I appreciate all hotels charge exorbitantly during Stampede and it is a complete ripoff.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FionaA78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saddiq K, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites University, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out or your busy schedule to submit your comments. We appreciate your business and look forward to serving you again in the future as a valued client.

Our entire hotel is completely non-smoking and we charge a fine of $250 to every room that smells of smoke. At the time of check in we do ask all our guests to respect the no smoking policy and have them sign the confirmation that they will not smoke and in the event if they do smoke they will be charged the smoking fine.

During the stampede time the entire city is almost always sold out as it is a big event. Rooms are therefore booked in advance sometimes even a year in advance. In order to get the best possible pricing, it is advisable to plan ahead of time so that you get the best possible room and airline ticket rates.

We are proud to be the top choice of our customers due to our location as well as services we offer which includes free parking, free WiFi, free daily hot breakfast featuring scrambled eggs, sausages, boiled eggs, a variety of fruits and delicious yogurts, variety of cereals, muffins, fresh waffles, juices, tea, coffee, oatmeal, etc. We have an indoor heated water pool with a 2 story high water slide, indoor Jacuzzi and fitness center along with guest laundry facilities.

Once again thank you for choosing Comfort Inn & Suites - University for your hospitality needs and we look forward to welcoming you again at our hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

My family had to book a hotel last minute in Calgary and this was the only hotel available for a reasonable price at the time. When we walked in, the lobby looked well kept, but it was overpowered by the smell of the pool located beside the desk.

When we arrived in our room you could tell it was completely run down. There were stains on the bed sheets and the blankets had tears in them. The room smelled foul and it appeared to have moisture problems (maybe attributed to being located over the pool). The towel rack looked like it was going to fall off the wall, although, the bathroom was quite clean.

The complimentary breakfast was bad. Eggs were undercooked and not a lot of selection for food. You served yourself on paper plates and plastic cups which leads to overstuffed garbage bags and a lot of waste.

Seems like the owners haven't put much effort into maintaining the building. Stay somewhere else if you have other options!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mushu3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saddiq K, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites University, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for submitting your reviews about your stay at our hotel. I take pride in welcoming each and every customer at our hotel and strive our level best to give the best possible service and the highest possible standards available in order to make their stay enjoyable and comfortabable.

We have recently undergone a complete renovation of all the rooms whereby we have installed brand new carpets, flat screen HD Televisions with Digital Receivers from Shaw Cable, high speed wireless internet, brand new wall papers, marble counter tops etc. Had you mentioned your displeasure with your room we would have gladly moved to a room which would have been more appealing to you.

We offer a full hot buffet breakfast which includes sausages, boiled eggs, scrambled eggs, fresh waffles, fruits, variety of flavored yogurt, fruits, juices, cereals, oatmeal, muffins, breads etc. Our customers really love our breakfast and the 2 story high water slide in the indoor heated water park featuring a Jacuzzi as well as fitness centre and guest laundry facilities.

We thank you for your hospitality and look forward to welcoming you again to our hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

In reading some of these reviews, I was very hesitant in booking at this property. However, I was pleasantly surprised at what I found once I checked in, so much so that I booked again a couple weeks later rather than staying at the downtown hotels where I would usually stay. First of all, the convenience is obvious for those who aren't driving... 10 mins by C-Train to downtown (the LRT Banff Trail train station is across the street), services such as restaurants, a convenience store and a liquor store are a couple mins walk away. During a time when 90% of the hotels in the city were charging $200-$400, I was able to get a fair deal for $130 at the Comfort Inn & Suites University, which was very much appreciated. The room is what you would expect... has all the basics but some little extras that more expensive hotels may not have - a microwave, a fridge, cable TV that has an online guide so you can actually see what programs are coming up (in many hotels you have to channel surf to figure out what's on). There's free breakfast included in the cost of the room and while I was rushing and not able to avail of this service, it was a nice addition I thought. For drivers, the hotel has a lot next to the building so you don't have to depend on valet parking that you need to deal with at other hotels where you often have to wait 20-30 mins for your care to be brought up to the hotel entrance. I found no issues regarding cleanliness... both rooms were very clean and comfortable. All in all, a good experience. If I had to criticize, I would question why I needed to pre-approve a $50 charge on my credit card when my room was pre-paid.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GM33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saddiq K, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites University, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out or your busy schedule to submit your comments. We appreciate your business and look forward to serving you again in the future as a valued client. We just do the pre-authorization for any incidentals that you may have on your bill e.g. long distance telephone calls/faxes, etc. This is automatically reversered if there are no charges to your bill at the time of check out.

We are proud to be the top choice of our customers due to our location as well as services we offer which includes free parking, free WiFi, free daily hot breakfast featuring scrambled eggs, sausages, boilded eggs, a variety of fruits and delicious yogurts, variety of cerelas, muffins, fresh waffles, juices, tea, coffee, oatmeal, etc. We have an indoor heated water pool with a 2 story high waterslide, indoor jacuzzi and fitness centre along with guest laundry facilities.

Once again thank you for choosing Comfort Inn & Suites - University for your hospitality needs and we look forward to welcoming you again at our hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northwest Calgary
Travelodge Calgary University
Northwest Calgary
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Calgary- University Northwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Calgary
Best Western Plus Village Park Inn
Northwest Calgary
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary NW-Banff Trail
Northwest Calgary
Days Inn Calgary Northwest
Days Inn Calgary Northwest
#45 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites University

Property: Comfort Inn & Suites University
Address: 2369 Banff Trail, N.W., Calgary, Alberta T2M 4L2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northwest Calgary
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites University 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites University
Comfort Inn & Suites University Hotel Calgary
Comfort Inn Calgary
Calgary Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing