We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent Place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites University

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites University
Ranked #85 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Decent Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

Were just looking for a place to stay overnight - This one is pretty good for the price -- Has pool and waterslide but did not use it - Decent breakfast - the hotel was right close where we needed to be so that is why we chose this one. $119 for the night

Room Tip: Not really any "rooms with a view" so does not matter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tonykaren02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    57
    63
    43
    73
See reviews for
78
47
41
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

If you are looking for a well furnished, quiet, warm and friendly place to stay in Calgary, this is it. It is a step away from local transit, malls and restaurants.

I keep going back there because it is a perfect place for a business trip or personal stay with facilities that are more than adequate for both intentions.

The staff and management are accommodating and I have seen them going out of their way to satisfy walk-in clients as good as veterans such as I.

The hot continental breakfast is not only adequate but one gets personalized attention at all times.

I strongly recommend this as a choice for a anyone.

Room Tip: The hotel has 2 roomed suites with a pantry. Choose the side facing downtown - the sunrises are gorg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emgee999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medicine Hat, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

The front desk staff were rude and argumentive and slow. The rooms were dirty and overall maintenance of hotel is run down and dirty. Heating unit was so noisy, TV did not work, hard bed and tiny pillows were awful, and no clock radio. Location by LTC is only redeeming quality, but very disappointing for a Comfort Inn hotel. It's damaging for the hotel chain to have this continue Would not return or recommend it for the price you pay for the room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ariel3050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria Capital Regional District, Canada
Level Contributor
131 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

The only good thing I can say about this hotel is that it is in motel village and close to the University of Calgary. That's it -- I have no other positive comments. I found the evening desk personnel to be gruff and off-putting. There was a constant smell of stale smoke throughout the hallways and into the room. The hotel room was a bit shocking in that the comforter on the bed looked unkempt and had tears and stains. The pillows are about the size of a travel pillow. There is not a clock to be found anywhere in the room -- really are clock radios that expensive? Missing tile in the bathroom, marks on the wall, and just a feeling of rundown and dirty throughout the hotel and the room I stayed in. Tucked behind the door is a balancing act of mini-fridge, microwave, and coffee pot which is a bit awkward. Breakfast is basic and I didn't really end up partaking of anything but the coffee & a half-muffin.

There are signs everywhere that the hotel is being refreshed -- I doubt I'll be back to see if anything improves as I found no value staying here. There are plenty of other fine choices along this strip of road.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rstwohee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Unfortunately I stayed here for 4 nights as I was in town for work and it was the only hotel available in NW Calgary. I can understand they were under renovations, however, the overall look and feel was dirty. The elevators were dirty and made terrible noises and the hallways were also dirty. If you are under renovations, you need to step up the cleaning to accomodate for the renovations. The room smelled faintly of stale smoke, and the coffee maker was stained and the whole hotel felt like it was 30 years old with 30 year old dirt. I managed to stay with a friend for my last night in town and had mentioned when I checked in that I might need to cancel the last night. I called to cancel the next day and she said no problem, I will cancel. And then said she would have to check wtih the manager if she can cancel. Also, I booked this through booking.com. I spent over an hour on the phone between the two to ensure that I would not be charger for this final night I had booked. Also, there were 5 pillows on the bed however, they were the size of a couch pillow. I went to ask if they had any normal sized pillows and they advised that was all they had. I have never had a non standard pillow in any hotel.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Huskie83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

The MANAGER himself checked us in, very rude man. The next morning I came out my room and heard an old woman call the cleaning ladies " a bunch of lazy morons!" I was in shock. Come to find out she is actually an owner. Breakfast had mouldy bread and that same lady was trying to make us hurry up to eat. One my way out the front desk lady was getting yelled at in front of customers. Who runs a business like this? Why doesn't choice hotels step in and do something about this property? It's their name going down the drain. Ill never stay here again. Big thumbs down. I should have followed my gut after reading the reviews and stayed at a best western instead.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Frugalmum85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

From first contact after a long day at a local hospital...this place was a joke. Front desk person talked on phone for 10min before acknowledging us. We requested a suite and were given a standard room. Then he tried to tell us it was a suite. Everything was very run down and they really didnt seem to care . I wouldn't recommend this for you family pets. This maybe a good place to recommend for relatives visiting in town that you don't want to stay long.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Walsh3032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northwest Calgary
Travelodge Calgary University
Northwest Calgary
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Calgary- University Northwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Calgary
Aloft Calgary University
Aloft Calgary University
#47 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Northwest Calgary
Days Inn Calgary Northwest
Days Inn Calgary Northwest
#44 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
Northwest Calgary
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary NW-Banff Trail
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites University

Property: Comfort Inn & Suites University
Address: 2369 Banff Trail, N.W., Calgary, Alberta T2M 4L2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northwest Calgary
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites University 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone and Choice Hotels so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites University
Comfort Inn & Suites University Hotel Calgary
Comfort Inn Calgary
Calgary Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing