We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watch out for this hotel scamming your credit card”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites University
Ranked #88 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Kelowna, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Watch out for this hotel scamming your credit card”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Stayed at this hotel check out room service was right at room pay for everything all is good two days later they charge extra $250 to my credit card phone several times finally get manager he was rude disrespectful saying how me or someone I was with smoked in the room when I'm a non smoker and the one person that came to visit is non smoker as well. They will tell you how they had to bring in these services to take out the smoke smell don't allow yourself to get scammed by them like I did after research this is not the first time this hotel has done this either. The hotel wasn't that clean and smells in the first place but is of cheaper price for that area until they put the extra charges to your credit card. Be aware people don't let them continue doing this

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Rudi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    58
    67
    43
    77
See reviews for
82
50
41
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Me and my girlfriend two non smokers booked a room for two nights at this hotel when we got there everything was good walked into our room some one had smoked in this room before we talked about it but decided to not complain and just wanted to get our things in and get to our events. We where there for two nights and house keeping was in the room multiple times. When we checked out if there was a issue with anything from us put the charges there. 4 days later this hotel has charged me $250 extra for smoking I called to speak to some one three times then finally get ahold of the manager he was very difficult on trying to resolve this and saying how we smoked in the room and that its our fault. So be very careful of this hotel and that they don't charge you extra and the sad thing is they can just tell you that you did it and keep your money

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LaineC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Squamish
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel is great!

When we went to Calgary we ended up going to a not so nice hotel.. we decided to go for a stroll to see what other options were out there. We came across the Comfort Inn and explained to the lady at the front desk our situation. She was very friendly and welcomed us.

She also held the room for us while we went and checked out of the not so nice one. Even though they only had only two rooms left.

The location was great to the C-train ... as well

We also had the front desk store our bags for us when we went out for breakfast and they staff was great about it and took our bags and locked them up.

It was a great trip and this hotel was our saviour. :)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cmadriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

It started out fine till my wife found hair in the bed and makeup on the pillows. I phoned front desk and sounded like she wasn't. Surprised. After an hour they moved us to another room. In the new room there were bugs all over the bathroom. So we couldn't shower. Also the next morning the breakfast must have been stirring out for days it was sour and rotten not to mention we were up all night with the room full of kids above us. And the owner thought he did a good job and I didn't deserve a discount. Never again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Hiney204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peace river ab
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Booked at the comfort inn due to location and price! We booked this hotel 2 weeks in advance, we had reserved 3 rooms for family gathering ,we reserved 3 rooms together two adjoining!
Upon arrival discovered rooms not adjoining not even on the same floor! We made due, but when you book three rooms 2 weeks in advance you think they would honor their comitment.
House keeping was hit and miss one day after the room was made up , no coffee, no cups and no paper supplied! Looks like house keeping just tidy up the bed! Also one night at midnight woke to horrible screams in hall way, went out to see what the heck was going on, a man with no clothes was wrestling with a screaming woman, the fornt desk clerk was quick to arrive and take the woman way and let man back into his room! I do not fault the hotel for the actions of its guests though and staff handled it quickly! I wonder what would have happened though if we had not intervened, as only my son and I came out to help! We did enjoy the pool and water slide and continental breakfast was good! If comfort inn would improve the reservation system and the house keeping , I would stay again mainly for location, my 3 year old loved the c train ride!

Room Tip: Stay in another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank geoinlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

I spent close to 30 room nights recently in this well located hotel and found it a very warm, friendly, clean and homely place. Walking distance access to around 20 restuarants, stone's throw away from Calgary C-Train and transit, 5 minute wait for a taxi - it is an ideal place for business and family travellers. Their hot breakfast smokes! With 24/7 outlests such as Denny's and McDonalds nearby, I had no concern of returning late at night after work.

The entire staff, including their General Manager, made me feel welcome on a personal level and went out thier way to make my stay pleasant.

The rooms are well equipped, clean and well lit. Everything works! Including the high speed internet connection (most hotels offer Wi-Fi) that works in the corridoors). The beds (I have tried their King and Queen) are comfortable. The room prices are competitive and a certain value for money.

No doubts that this is a place I will constantly return to.

Room Tip: The Suites facing downtown on the 4th floor! Luxurious, quiet and have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emgee999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saddiq K, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites University, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Sir

Thank you very much for your review. It was indeed our pleasure to serve your hospitality needs. We at Comfort Inn greatly appreciate you giving us the opportunity to serve you during your stay at our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back to our property in the near future too.

Once again, thank you for choosing Comfort Inn & Suites University Calgary.

Yours in hospitality,

Saddiq Karmally
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanoose Bay, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Wow! Talk about bad business practices! On September 25, a Tuesday afternoon, we arrived in Calgary, Alberta to find hotel vacancies were very limited (our fault for not reserving in advance). At your Comfort Inn we found a room available for a quoted price of $249.99 plus room tax. Due to a lack of availability we decided to take the room. Our first problem was that they did not honour CAA although their sign indicated that they did. The second problem was the lack of value in the room for the price. The hotel premises and the room were dirty from the front outside entrance all the way to the room. The beds were not made properly, the shower head offered multiple settings but no normal position and everything else was substandard for a $250.00 room.

When checking out I mentioned the lack of the BCAA discount and the front desk clerk said that the quoted price would be the price - no discount because of lack of room availability and then he said,

“in fact the price of your room last evening (after we booked our room) had jumped up to $299. and $349.00 per room for their next available rooms because Comfort Inn Hotels constantly calls and checks surrounding availability at neighbouring motels and increases their prices accordingly to reflect the scarcity of rooms”.

Out of curiosity, after checking out and driving away from the hotel, we phoned the hotel back and asked the price of a room for a random date the next week. We were told the price was $109.99. So, in effect we paid a $150.00 premium for a room being available and barely got the value of a $100 room. I wonder how happy the people following us were who paid $299.00 and $349.00 for that value.

We would like to say that we have been a customer of Comfort Inns over the years and have enjoyed our stays in the past. However, in 40 years of business practices we have never seen price gouging on this scale. Needless to say, neither our business nor ourselves will ever support business practices like this. Goodbye Comfort Inns!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brenda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saddiq K, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites University, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. I appreciate your comments, and I very much regret you felt you were overcharged for your room.

As you are aware, hotel, airline and other similar industry rates fluctuate with seasons with further increases during high season and decreases during the low or off season. Additionally, the rates are even higher during special events such as conventions, conferences or concerts.

Unfortunately, your stay fell during at the time of a business convention, when all hotels in Calgary were offering higher room rates and most of them were sold out.
When you checked in, you agreed upon the rate, signed the registration card and initialled the rate acceptance.
In future, you may avoid such situations if you are able to plan your travels around any special events.

Comfort Inn & Suites – University, Calgary offers rooms and suites with free hot continental breakfast, free wifi internet, free local calls, a 2 story water slide and fitness facility. We also offer suites with a king bed in a separate bedroom, a sofa bed in the living room, 2 flat screen T.V. sets, a fridge and microwave.

You may contact me directly and I will be happy to answer any further questions

Warm Regards,

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northwest Calgary
Travelodge Calgary University
Northwest Calgary
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Calgary- University Northwest
Northwest Calgary
Best Western Plus Village Park Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Calgary
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary NW-Banff Trail
Northwest Calgary
Aloft Calgary University
Aloft Calgary University
#43 of 109 in Calgary
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites University

Property: Comfort Inn & Suites University
Address: 2369 Banff Trail, N.W., Calgary, Alberta T2M 4L2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northwest Calgary
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites University 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelsforEveryone, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites University
Comfort Inn & Suites University Hotel Calgary
Comfort Inn Calgary
Calgary Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing