We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a short stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites University
Ranked #89 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect for a short stay”
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Friendly front desk with fast check in/out. Reservation room preferences were accommodated. Bathroom, linens, towels and room were all very clean. Unexpected bonus was the nice firm bed which enabled me to have a restful sleep. Location is convenient to LRT. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: If a non-smoker, ask for a room on the non-smoking FLOOR
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ontheroad_nomad07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    58
    67
    43
    77
See reviews for
82
50
41
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Check-in without a reservation to find the only room available was a filthy run-down room. The bathroom sink and toilet had hairs and the carpet soiled. Walking through the hallways on the 3rd floor we discovered the smell of cigarette smoke and students renting some of the rooms. While reviewing the billing particulars, I noticed an automatic $2 'convenience' daily charge applied without notice to the customer - surprise! This is not a standard that we have seen with other Comfort Inn Suites and chose to cancel our room and left. SCARY AND DIRTY.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NJOYNLF-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Seems like the owners are just sucking the money out and not doing any upgrades or repairs. Carpets are stained, furniture is chipped and broken, decor in rooms is outdated, linen stained or ripped. Stay away many better options in the motel village for cheaper price too.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oilerss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sugar land,tx
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

I was traveling on a last minute business trip. I booked at this hotel because it was right across from the public rail system. The taxi driver ask me "are you sure?" when I told him my destigation. As soon as I saw the hotel I was disappointed, yet they had my first night deposit so I went in. The area of town is very run down, and this hotel is DIRTY. Old I understand, I have stayed at many older hotels but they have been clean. My window had a lovely view of the dumpsters in the parking lot next door where the entertainment was to watch the homeless pick through for goodies. How lovely ??? I walked down the road and around the corner to eat and stopped on the way back for some cleanser to clean the bathroom; that's how nasty this place was. Seriously, this was not the cheapest place in town either, so I expected it to be as nice as most of the Choice Hotel chain hotels are. The breakfast consisted of small apples and some type of danish rolls. BIG MISTAKE to stay; it was Stampede week and while in the lobby using the computer ( no business center here, a computer in the lobby on a table was the only internet in the hotel) I heard the desk clerk state " usually our rooms are $99.00 but this week they are $169.00" RIP OFF. GO ELSEWHERE, there are many nicer hotels available for less money in another section of town.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrsmeber99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 21, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights on business. The hotel is extremely dirty. I was afraid to hang my cloths in the closet, because the room was very smelly. Carpet gross. The bedding dirty, too. Breakfast not edible.
Spider web and dust on the ceiling ventilation cover, right above the table I was having the breakfast at.
The staff (a lady in the morning) was nice.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2012

Everything I experienced in this hotel is below my expectation. From check-in to cleaness of the room, breakfast etc. For example, when there is pretty much nothing left for breakfast when I walked in at around 9am. The waiter somehow cannot see that there is no more juice, bagles, and yogurt. Bathroom is not as clean, carpet feels never vacuumed. Stayed here because it is near by the university and hospital, for business purposes, but then there are like a dozen hospitals on the same block. I would definitely try another hotel nearby instead of this one when I come again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dtai010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2012

Pros: free WIFI was fast and strong connection, great location (with car and non-rush hour: downtown = 8-10 minutes, foothills hospital = 2 min, COP = 12-15 min, Market Mall = 5 min). C-Train LRT right outside across the street.

Cons: getting very outdated (halls, carpets, bed comforters, curtains need serious update and/or major clean). Bed frame was VERY "squeeky" (found out so during, ahem, "bedroom activities"). Motel village area can be a bit "sketchy" for some at night.

Overall for a short, one night stay at $78 (would not have paid more than that), it was sufficient. Nothing extremely bad, nothing extremely good.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northwest Calgary
Travelodge Calgary University
Northwest Calgary
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Calgary- University Northwest
Northwest Calgary
Best Western Plus Village Park Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Calgary
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary NW-Banff Trail
Northwest Calgary
Aloft Calgary University
Aloft Calgary University
#41 of 109 in Calgary
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites University

Property: Comfort Inn & Suites University
Address: 2369 Banff Trail, N.W., Calgary, Alberta T2M 4L2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northwest Calgary
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites University 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites University
Comfort Inn & Suites University Hotel Calgary
Comfort Inn Calgary
Calgary Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing