We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff Makes the Difference”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Calgary
Ranked #66 of 110 Hotels in Calgary
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Overall, the hotel was nice and clean. The location is nice, walking distance to many bars restaurants. The hotel was typical of Holiday Inn, but the staff was exceptional. The staff was quite knowledgable of the area and did a great job recommending activities and restaurants for my group. I would definitely stay again if I was in the area. Only downside was that the rooms were very expensive, $250+ per night.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NickL712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Calgary, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

I would like to thank you for your kind comments regarding our staff. We really enjoy being able to accomodate all of our guests and make them feel as if they are at home with us. We understand that Calgary can be quite expensive and we do really appreciate you choosing to stay with us regardless. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again in the future and will continue to strive to provide the best service we can!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (175)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 175 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel on average of about once per month for the last year and a half. The staff is excellent, the location is and the building, while older, is clean. It is a good value for something on the edge of downtown Calgary which is probably one of the most expensive cities for hotels in Canada.

The rooms all have wired and wireless internet options. The wireless is generally good but if you use a VPN then you will want the wired option. If find the beds to be comfortable if not luxurious and all rooms I have stayed in have a balcony. They are expanding the breakfast bar which will be a positive addition. The business centre is small but has free access to a printer. The biggest plus is the staff who all provide friendly, helpful service.

Be prepared for a 10 minute walk into the core of downtown. Not a big deal unless it's minus 30. Cab service is quite fast unless there is extreme weather. There are good restaurants in the core but nothing that is really close (as in next door) to the hotel. The area wasn't great a few years ago but is changing for the better with the expansion of the train line and the overall growth of the city. I never feel in danger when walking around the hotel. They also have a security guard on the property at night.

This property has a great balance of location and relative value for the area. However, set your expectations correctly. If you want luxury, views and pampering this is not the hotel for you. If you functional, clean and good service then you will be happy with this Holiday Inn Express.

Room Tip: It's a bit quieter in the rooms in the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Calgary, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us and for choosing to stay with us on your trips to Calgary. I am also glad to hear that the breakfast bar expansions seem to be very positive with all of our guests. We look forward to the upgrades that will be occuring in our property and improving so we can contimue to serve all of our guests in the future as well! We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Wow, have stayed in a lot of hotels, but this was one of the best. Given a room on the back of the hotel, had a nice little balcony, windows opened and it was very neat and clean. Certainly will stay at this hotel again, but it was pricey as are most downtown Calgary hotels.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the backside of the hotel, 2nd. floor, they have balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RickSandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Calgary, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad to hear that you were happy with our property and your room! We hope to have you return and feel free to contact us to request your preferred room again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Was in Calgary for a conference. The host hotel wanted about $100 per night more for a room so I decided to give the Holiday Inn Express a try. The room was well furnished, with a very bright and clean bathroom, a larger than average flat screen TV. Bedding was very comfy. There was a fridge and microwave in the room. From the looks of it each room has a small balcony that is wide enough for standing only. There is wireless and LAN internet. My wireless service failed the first night, and they loaned me a LAN cable to use. Excellent front desk service on taking care of the problem.

I have stayed at a number of Holiday Inn Express hotels, and this hotel has the best or nearly the best breakfast service of any that I have stayed in. They even have a Pancake machine - the only limitation is it only makes one pancake at a time so you might want to make one then eat it and come back for seconds. Each morning they had two other hot entrees. They do not have an onsite restaurant - just breakfast

The hotel is one block from the C train line. There is a new C train line opening in a few weeks on 10 th st - one block away. The C train is free of charge to use in downtown Calgary. During my visit it was a 3 block walk to the train stop on 8th. I used the airport shuttle to get to the hotel and the Holiday Inn is a regular stop. If you want to walk to the Kensington district, it's about a 15 minute walk

Room Tip: The north side faced office buildings - the south side a large parking lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank azrundfunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Calgary, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience regarding your stay with us. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and your time in Calgary. We hope you will choose us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Average hotel rooms; functional; nothing special; decent TV selection. Hotel amenities were good....decent restaurant, pool, exercise room. Service was very good....all of our requests were addressed promptly and efficiently (extra blankets; extra kleenex). Restaurant food was good; very good service.

Parking is free; location was good...near Chinook shopping center

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bbb57aolcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for work, and the location was pretty convenient for where I needed to be, just on the edge of downtown. Nothing's too far away, with downtown and the entertainment areas of Stephen Ave & 17th Ave all within short walking distance. I also liked that it was close to the running & biking trails by the river.

The room itself was very basic, exactly what you'd expect, with a king-sized bed, desk and chair. Just the right size for one or two, not cramped at all. I was surprised that I had a full balcony overlooking the rail line, which is nice for getting some quick fresh air.

Welcome amenities were free parking (a perk in downtown Calgary), free wifi and free breakfast that met my needs (including hot eggs, sausages, panckes). The exercise room is a bit of a joke, but I'd rather be outside anyway. Reception was very friendly.

Overall, although nothing really stood out here, this hotel met all my needs.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EdmontonMarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Calgary, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. As noted in other reviews we have a couple of areas of opportunity to upgrade in and one is the fitness room. We look forward to being able to complete this renovation as soon as our new great room and breakfast bar is completed. I hope you will be able to enjoy our changes in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

It was on the edge of downtown so it was a slight walk to most restaurants. Building and rooms were OK but not of great note. It did not have much of a lobby. It did have wifi in the rooms. The staff was helpful in finding us a restaurant close by on our first night in when we had no car. The car rental place was close by. It had parking but most spaces were a bit cramped to get in and out of. It was an adequate hotel for 1 or 2 nights, typical of most Holiday Inn Expresses.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nnoSfBayArea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Calgary, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience regarding your stay with us. I do appreciate the comments and concerns that you expressed about our property. We are currently undergoing upgrades to our lobby and breakfast bar area as we see this is the most requested item. I hope that you will choose to stay with us in the future so you can let us know how we did.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beltline
Hotel Elan
Hotel Elan
#2 of 110 in Calgary
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Calgary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Calgary

Address: 1020 8 Ave SW, Calgary, Alberta T2P 1J2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 110 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range: $96 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Calgary 2.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Calgary Downtown. We are a newly renovated hotel (complete in Spring 2016). We offer complimentary hot buffet breakfast, parking and WiFi. We offer a variety of rooms including King, King Executive, King Jacuzzi, Two Queen, One Queen Accessible and our large Penthouse located on the 10th floor. We also offer a 24 hour business centre and fitness centre. Our staff work hard to make sure that you are always taken care of and that you feel you are home away from home. We are located just west of the downtown core, close to Stephen Avenue Mall, the CORE shopping complex, trendy 17th avenue district and only one block away from Calgary's Light Rail Transit system (where travelling downtown is complimentary). We are also located very close to many corporate offices as well as many leisure activities. Families love our hotel for the clean, modern atmosphere as well as being so close to many family friendly activities. Don't forget our free hot buffet breakfast! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Calgary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Calgary Hotel Calgary
Holiday Inn Calgary
Calgary Holiday Inn Express

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing