We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standard HIExpress, you get what you pay for”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Calgary
Ranked #70 of 110 Hotels in Calgary
Reviewed September 22, 2011

Liked the location, free parking and free Internet.

Somewhat noisy due to construction work, and we went a full day without water (meaning no showers or restroom activities...) without being offered any refund for the inconvenience.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glopster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Calgary, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your past stay with us. I would like to apologize for any inconvenience that you encountered however we did ensure to call all arriving guests to advise that the City of Calgary was shutting off the water at no option to the hotel. We did this so guests could choose to stay at an alternate location as we had already discounted our rates that weekend. I hope that you will advise me if you are ever returning to Calgary as we would like to have you stay again with us to make it right for you. Many thanks, Sherry Blake, Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (168)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 168 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2011

My hubby and I stayed here for one night in August 2011. Check in was very friendly and prompt. Our room was very large and very clean. The bathroom was clean and had a great shower. We loved the addition of the microwave and fridge (even though we didn't use it - but will remember next time we travel with our kids). The location is awesome and being so close to the LRT is wonderful.
The breakfast is great too. Lots of options and seating. Always replenished and good food.
We never went to the pool or fitness room, however, we saw the hotel's plans to upgrade that area soon.
I would return for sure and wouldn't hesitate to recomment it to anyone else.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dlei76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

This was my first trip to Calgary. i liked the hotel very much, the breakfast was great and it was great to find a hotel with free guest parking. Not much in the area in the evenings so if u don't have a car...get a rental. The staff was really nice and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mustaali K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

Just spent 3 night here for the Calgary Stampede. Very comfortable suite, spacious and despite being next to the lift quiet (Suite 903) Special mention to Sherie Blake - Operations Manager - just what every good hotel should have. Accommodating and very efficient, nothing too much trouble) Great location, the Transit train is just around the block. Breakfast is okay, the only downside being a small area of tables. You may not get a seat. This is a nice Hotel!

Room Tip: Always ask for an upgrade, they can only say no!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teejaybeeBristolUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2010

This hotel was fine, rooms were clean, tidy and well presented. There was only a very small area for breakfast however you could take it back to the room if you preferred. There did not seem to be much to do in the centre of Calgary, mostly office blocks and there is a considerable amount of building work going on at present. The hotel was OK for a single nights stay but I would not want to stay there for longer.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oldgang598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2010

We traveled to Calgary to attend a wedding reception and after looking at many hotels, we decided to stay at this one for the weekend discount and becuase of the close proximity to the reception location. Needless to say we were pretty disappointed.

We arrived late at night to discover that the hotel was located directly beside a bar, which on weekends turns into a nightclub. From the parking lot all you could here was the loud bass from the club and there were an array of drunk club goers wandering outside near the main entrance of the hotel. Luckily, our room was on the 8th floor of the hotel, so we were far enough away that we couldn't hear the music all night long, but because there was little to no sound proofing from the sliding patio door we were disturbed on a regular basis by the yelling of club goers and a garbage truck emptying a dumpster in the early morning.

The patio, although I'm sure it provided a nice view of the city, was filthy dirty and covered in poop from the pigeons living in it.

Overall the room wasn't bad, it didn't seem really clean though. We booked a room with a King bed, which was supplied with pillows for a Queen bed. I asked the clerk at check out if this was typical and she said that they only had the one size of pillows, which I thought was a bit strange.

The continental breakfast was good, it was nice to have a 'hot food' option for breakfast. We also thought the underground parking was nice to have. I'm glad the hotel wasn't really busy that weekend though, becuase there are not many spots underground and I would not have been excited to have my car parked out on the street with all the people coming out of the club.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katn00n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2010

I spent two nights at the Holiday Inn Express in Calgary for a business meeting. The price seemed a bit high for a Holiday Inn Express, but at least there was no additional charge for parking or WiFi, and a simple buffet breakfast, typical of this type of hotel, was also included.

The elevator was quite small, but otherwise the hotel was ordinary.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank highcountrytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Beltline
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Calgary Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
ExecSuite
#77 of 110 in Calgary
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Calgary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Calgary

Address: 1020 8 Ave SW, Calgary, Alberta T2P 1J2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 110 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range: $107 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Calgary 2.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Calgary Downtown. We are a newly renovated hotel (complete in Spring 2016). We offer complimentary hot buffet breakfast, parking and WiFi. We offer a variety of rooms including King, King Executive, King Jacuzzi, Two Queen, One Queen Accessible and our large Penthouse located on the 10th floor. We also offer a 24 hour business centre and fitness centre. Our staff work hard to make sure that you are always taken care of and that you feel you are home away from home. We are located just west of the downtown core, close to Stephen Avenue Mall, the CORE shopping complex, trendy 17th avenue district and only one block away from Calgary's Light Rail Transit system (where travelling downtown is complimentary). We are also located very close to many corporate offices as well as many leisure activities. Families love our hotel for the clean, modern atmosphere as well as being so close to many family friendly activities. Don't forget our free hot buffet breakfast! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotwire so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Calgary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Calgary Hotel Calgary
Holiday Inn Calgary
Calgary Holiday Inn Express

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing