We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Calgary-Airport, AB
Ranked #18 of 110 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We landed in Calgary (from Europe) and stayed here with our family of 5 (incl 3 young kids) and have been very pleased by the service. Rooms were good, spacious. Breakfast was ok. Swimming pool a great diversion to relax and fill the time (adjusting to the time zone...). Reception desk was very helpful.
Summary : great hotel if you are spending a few days in Calgary and want to avoid the overpriced city center hotels.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fvdp02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leanne S, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Calgary-Airport, AB, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay with us this summer.

We are happy to hear that you were able to enjoy time at the hotel upon your arrival from Europe while adjusting to the time zone.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to see you again should your travels bring you back to Calgary!

Kind Regards,

Leanne Shaw-Brotherston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (659)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

449 - 455 of 659 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2013

About as good as one can expect from a transit airport hotel: reasonable rate, large quiet room, exceptional complimentary breakfast, good shuttle, friendly and helpful staff. Only negatives are no on-site restaurant/room service (but we rarely eat dinner at a hotel restaurant and the complimentary breakfast is more than satisfying) and difficult-to-find entrance from roadway. We stayed here enroute Yukon to Ontario and immediately booked a room for our return trip. We will return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank woofer2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leanne S, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Calgary-Airport, AB, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay with us at the Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Calgary-Airport.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your first night with us so much that you booked a room for your return trip right away.

I note that you were disappointed that we did not have on on-site restaurant however I did want to take this opportunity to let you know that the Chili's restaurant right out our back door does provide room service for our guests who would prefer to dine in.

Thank you again for your time and feedback and we look forward to having you as our guests again when your travels bring you back to Calgary!

Kind Regards,

Leanne Shaw-Brotherston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights... staff were very polite and helpful; room was clean (although for some reason it felt a bit humid), bathroom was very clean. Only downside, the a/c was making a little bit of noise. The breakfast was included - great choice of muffins, breads and viennoiseries, oatmeal, eggs, meat, fresh fruit... I would recommend this place. 15 minutes from the airport - 15 minutes from downtown... did not have time to enjoy the indoor pool.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CathyD70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leanne S, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Calgary-Airport, AB, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience.

I am sorry that you found the room to be a bit humid and that the Air conditioning was making some noise and hope that this has been addressed by our maintenance department.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our breakfast and we look forward to your next stay.

Kind Regards,

Leanne Shaw-Brotherston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

I usually would stay at the Hyatt in Calgary but I actually checked this property out for a few nights as Club Carlson had a promotion going on. Was pleasantly surprised

Location is close to airport, and it is walkable to the train station from the hotel to get downtown if you don't mind a bit of excersise. The highway is right off the property for convenient access as well. I believe they offered me an upgrade as Club Carlson Gold, but I needed two queen beds so I stuck with that.

Room size was average, but was very clean. Staff were very friendly and welcoming. Free breakfast was not expected but they provide this. We actually were heading out to go grab some breakfast but we saw they had some(they were actually shutting down), but the server lady told us to come in, grabbed us all the food they had in the back(including eggs, bacon, pastries) and gave them to us without asking. Terrific service, as it was past the time they serve breakfast.

Would recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SKYEG91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leanne S, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Calgary-Airport, AB, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your stay with us at the Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Calgary-Airport.

We are pleased that you selected us to take advantage of a Club Carlson promotion and that you were pleasantly surprised by the service and breakfast we offer our guests.

We hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to Calgary.

Kind Regards,

Leanne Shaw-Brotherston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

So had a 3 night stay here, close to the airport (maybe 15 minutes away). It is a fairly nice facility, even has cookies at the check in desk each night (if you are so inclined). It is an interior corridor facility, 3 stories. Breakfast included, pastries, cereals, fruit, and some minor hot items (eggs, bacon, etc.), a decent breakfast to get you started on your day.

The rooms were nice, beds comfortable, had a work desk, separate chair and adequate sized bathroom. No in-room safe, which I have come to expect in most good properties... so that was a let down.

All in all a nice property for mid range hotel chain.

Room Tip: only 3 floors, no particular room would seem to be better than others. Heavy curtains so early morn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MacJoeFQV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leanne S, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Calgary-Airport, AB, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

We appreciate your time in posting a review following your recent stay at the Country Inn & Suites in Calgary.

I am sorry that you were disappointed not to find an in room safe available for your use, we do however we do have safety deposit boxes available at our front desk on a complimentary basis if you would like to secure your valuables.

Thank you again for your time and feedback and we do hope that we will see you again when your business brings you back to Calgary.

Warmest Regards,

Leanne Shaw-Brotherston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Booked this hotel again on Hotwire as was a year ago.\
Had a surprise when I arrived this time, my room was the handicap room.
At first I chuckled thinking I must be appearing old and frail to the staff but realized I've never stayed in a handicap/wheelchair room before. I don't know what the construction guidelines are, but it certainly seems to be very roomy allowing easy wheelchair movement within the room.

My room was on ground floor, closest room to the front desk.
The bed was a regular king, not a special bed.
The room was a bit larger and the bathroom was huge.
Certainly big enough for two wheelchairs to be in at the same time still allowing some maneuverability.
I've attached pix so that those who need/understand these rooms better can see what's there.
Sink has a cut out to allow wheelchair access. Lots of hand bars to assist moving in the bathroom. An alarm pull chain to alert hotel assistance is needed. With them being so close that would be very fast.
The shower has two sit down positions with a protruding portion in the middle either for grip or shampoos, etc. This shower is actually kind of awkward to stand in as an able bodied person as the protrusion leaves your footing on the edge and making you wonder if you slip. If you use either of the sitting positions, it works just fine. (took me a minute to figure that out first thing in the a.m. with no coffee).

Hot breakfast still top notch and the two well maintained waffle making machines are a treat.
Will definitely stay here again.
This airport area is great if you dont mind the slight industrial ambiance, as it's pretty quick to get to Deerfoot to scoot downtown or anywhere in Calgary. Lots of restuarants nearby including a new one I tried on this trip.
Great bang for your buck spent!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OccasionalTravellerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leanne S, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Calgary-Airport, AB, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay with us in Calgary.

I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us again this year and would like to thank you for posting the details about our wheelchair accessible room so that others who may require such a room can hear fist hand more about how the room is equipped.

Once again thank you for your time and feedback and we look forward to seeing you again when your travels bring you to Calgary.

Warmest Regards,

Leanne Shaw-Brotherston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

This is a GREAT find. Inexpensive and worthwhile. Service was totally beyond what was expected for a modest hotel; i.e., shortly after checking in, the duty manager called to ensure the room was suitable and inquired if there was anything we needed. The complimentary breakfast offers lots of variety: fresh fruit, oatmeal, cold cereal, waffles, eggs, hash browns, ham/bacon, breads, muffins, English muffins, etc. The busy attendant always found time to be helpful. She even explained the options thoroughly to someone's child who was overwhelmed by it all. Later, she warmed a bottle for another mom. Pool and exercise rooms are clean. The kingside mattress was very comfortable. The only downside is being so near the airport flightpath (aircraft take-off sounds were not that bad and were easily ignored after a bit). STAY HERE if you don't need to be downtown (10-15 min drive) or near the U of C (10 min drive). Easy to get on and off of the Deerfoot Trail.

Room Tip: Restaurant indicated above refers to the Breakfast Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank outboundticket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leanne S, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Calgary-Airport, AB, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Thank you for your very kind review of our hotel.

We pride ourselves on the service we provide our guests and I am very pleased to read that we lived up to this for you. I will be very happy to share your review with our entire team.

Once again thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to Calgary.

Warmest Regards,

Leanne Shaw-Brotherston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northeast Calgary
Lakeview Signature Inn Calgary Airport
Northeast Calgary
Radisson Hotel & Conference Centre Calgary Airport
Northeast Calgary
Best Western Plus Port O'Call Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northeast Calgary
Homewood Suites by Hilton Calgary-Airport
Northeast Calgary
Acclaim Hotel Calgary Airport
Northeast Calgary
Best Western Premier Freeport Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Calgary-Airport, AB? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Calgary-Airport, AB

Address: 2481 39 Ave NE, Calgary, Alberta T2E 8V8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northeast Calgary
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
#19 Business Hotel in Calgary
#19 Family Hotel in Calgary
Price Range: $85 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Calgary-Airport, AB 2.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Calgary-Airport, AB reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Calgary Airport Hotel Calgary
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Calgary Airport
Country Inn Calgary Airport
Calgary Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing