We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We always stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Executive Royal Hotel Calgary
Ranked #52 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
southern alberta
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“We always stay here”
Reviewed January 14, 2009

My husband and I stay here at least twice a year. We are from out of town, about two hours away. We stay here because the rooms are fairly reasonable, they offer free parking while we're away, and free shuttle service to the airport.
We usually stay here when we have an early airport departure,and in the winter we can't always be sure that the weather will allow us to make our plane on time , so we like to leave a day ahead of time, and stay at the ERI.
The rooms are decent, The food is also good. Recently they have changed their restaurant breakfast from a la carte, to buffet. I prefer a la carte, as I prefer hot food rather than food that sits for a few hours. But other than that, we have no complaints.

  • Liked — Free Parking for 2 weeks and shuttle sevice
  • Disliked — Breakfast buffet
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happyface2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    124
    57
    23
    16
See reviews for
70
106
24
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2008

I've had to stay here twice for business. If you are a seasoned business traveler and usually stay in decent hotels such as Hilton, Marriott, or Westin, you will be extremely disappointed. The rooms are old, furniture threadbare and excessively worn, and the beds have cheap mattresses and are hard.

I would avoid this place if at all possible. All the reviews you see talking about how nice this place is must be from folks who have no idea what decent is. I hope to avoid the place in the future at all cost.

  • Liked — there is nothing worthy of this property
  • Disliked — bed is hard, mattress is cheap
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bikepch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2008

We stayed there for two nights, and we got a special rate due to where we are employed. But I we were to stay there full price I would say that it is worth it. The rooms are nice, but the housekeeping could use some lessons on cleaning a washroom, and maybe I am a little biased because I use to be a housekeeper. We stayed in a standard room, and for a standard room it was pretty nice, basic, and simple. Not much else you can say, its not like it is the hotel Mcdonald or anything.

When we first arrived the front desk staff was very nice, but when we went down later to let them know that our other room would be arriving around 4am, and to not cancel the room, and DO NOT pre authorize our card because the other party was using their own. They did it anyway, but aside from the fact that that money would be held for about a week, it did not bother me because I knew the other party would be paying for their room.

I have worked in hotels for about three years now, and I think that makes you more critical when you travel, I am very particular on how clean the rooms are because I have done it, I am also very picky about how the front desk staff behaves, I think that if your going to be in customer service, you better be good at it, or else find a different job.

All in all, it is a decent place to stay, clean, comfortable, average customer service, and decent rooms. However, their breakfast could use a little work, I think out of everything they had to offer I only enjoyed the cereal.

  • Liked — The Bed
  • Disliked — The Night Audit Staff.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Layton, Utah
Level Contributor
537 reviews
185 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 409 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2008

We arrived at the hotel late from the National Parks, and had an early flight out the next morning. It was a shame, because we would have liked more time to relax and enjoy the spacious room.

The decor was very tastefully done. The unique bedside reading lights (on ceiling) were very innovative [one person can read while the other sleeps]. There was a nice desk and a sofa-bed in the room. There was a separate area with a mirror, hair dryer, and coffee maker. A free morning paper was provided. There are quick key drops located in areas of the hotel other than the front desk. The room was quiet, and the A/C worked well. The shower was nice and extra towels were provided. The hotel was reasonably close to the airport.

The only negative was the lack of exercise equipment. This is a big hotel, and the "fitness center" consists of an eliptical and a treadmill. The hotel should not be permitted to advertise a "fitness center" with only two pieces of equipment.

We paid more than double the price for rooms near the National Parks, but the Executive Royal Inn was a much nicer hotel experience (and half the cost).

  • Liked — Spacious and tastefully decorated rooms
  • Disliked — Fitness center inadequate
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Outdoorpartner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolingbrook, Illinois
Level Contributor
267 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 564 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2008

Excellent location near the airport and walking distance to many good restaurants. Friendly staff, large rooms and very clean. The breakfast buffet is a great way to start the day so I recommend the "bed and breakfast" rate when booking.

  • Liked — Close to the airport
  • Disliked — None
  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank HemisphereRambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monsey, NY
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2008

My husband, son & I spent our last night of our Canadian Rockies vacation at the Executive Royal Inn because we had an early morning flight and wanted to be close to the airport. The hotel appeared to be mainly for business travelers and conventions, but it was convenient for us as well. The room was clean, a nice size, with a queen bed and a convertible sofa, and had a micro-fridge and coffee maker. We utilized 1 of the 2 hotel's hot tubs. We booked through AAA Motor Club and got a fairly good deal for decent lodging in Calgary. The hotel is not a 5 star property, but it worked for us.

  • Liked — Convenience to Airport
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Monsey-Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2008

We stayed at the Executive Inn Calgary twice last week. The first was for one night on the weekend ($99). The room was clean, staff friendly, check-in fast. The second time was for two nights during the week ($140), but that was a larger room and included breakfast. I believe the same room we stayed in the first stay was around $130 during the week. The extra $10 was well worth it. It obviously is not a luxury hotel, but it is quiet and clean which it what we are usually looking for (especially on a business trip). The only complaint was the internet. The first room we stayed in had a really sketchy wireless connection that sometimes worked and sometimes not. The second stay there was no wireless connection. I was told it depends on where you are in the hotel whether it will work. They provide a cable, but with two laptop users in the room this just doesn't cut it.

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank CD001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northeast Calgary
Comfort Inn & Suites Calgary Airport
Northeast Calgary
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Calgary-Airport, AB
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northeast Calgary
Coast Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre
Northeast Calgary
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Calgary-Airport
Northeast Calgary
Lakeview Signature Inn Calgary Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Executive Royal Hotel Calgary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Executive Royal Hotel Calgary

Property: Executive Royal Hotel Calgary
Address: 2828 23 St NE | Corner of Barlow Trail and 27th Ave NE, Calgary, Alberta T2E 8T4, Canada (Formerly Executive Royal Inn North Calgary)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#39 Business Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Executive Royal Hotel Calgary 3*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious 201-room Executive Royal Inn Hotel & Conference Centre near Calgary’s international airport offers an assortment of hotel accommodation choices to fulfill the needs of the most discerning traveler to Calgary. This Calgary airport hotel is distinctly furnished with non-smoking guest rooms featuring useful hotel amenities that cater to business travelers to Calgary Alberta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Executive Royal Hotel Calgary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Executive Royal Inn North Calgary Hotel Calgary
Executive Royal Hotel North Calgary
Calgary Executive Royal Hotel
Calgary Executive Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing