We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good choice” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Executive Royal Hotel Calgary

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Executive Royal Hotel Calgary
Ranked #53 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

The main reason I selected this hotel (apart from good reviews) was because it had an Avis car rental agency on site, this made it so easy the next morning for our drive out to the Rockies.
After a long 20 hour plus flight from Australia we were very pleasantly suprised by the quality of this hotel. Very helpful reception, excellent large room with separate foyer, living room, bathroom, fridge and free WIFI. We found the room rate very good value for money.
We had a snack and drinks at the bar on arrival which had a nice atmosphere and also had a good breakfast in the restaurant in the morning.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aus_Roberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian S, Guest Relations Manager at Executive Royal Hotel Calgary, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the opportunity to share your experience with our hotel. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and have posted your great comments for our team to see.

I hope to see you back again in the future.

Yours in hospitality,

Brian Smith
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    121
    57
    23
    16
See reviews for
64
103
24
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

We had been booked by a family member into another hotel near by but when he saw the price my husband looked for an alternative. He booked the Royal Executive for more than $100 less!
My husband saw our family members room at the other hotel and we got so much more and were so glad we changed. In fact our family members moved to the Royal Executive for their second night. Nice clean very large room with foyer and living room and king size bed and sleeper sofa. Yes i agree the pillows were too big. Kerug coffee maker, free wifi. Fridge. All you can eat apples at the front desk!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hijennist2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian S, Guest Relations Manager at Executive Royal Hotel Calgary, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the opportunity to share your experience with our hotel. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and have posted your great comments for our team to see.

I hope to see you back again in the future.

Yours in hospitality,

Brian Smith
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

By the time we checked in, it was midnight and we just need a clean room with nice and comfy bed to lie down. And we were not disappointed. The room was clean, cool and have nice and comfy beds . The toilets are well equipped with all the accessories. Only thing is missing in the toilet is the exhaust and after the hot shower nothing can be seen on the mirror unless it is wiped. It was rather unusual when we found that the room does not have microwave although we were informed earlier that the hotel rooms have microwave, coffee maker and a small fridge. However, when we requested for one it was provided. We were informed that if someone requested for a microwave it will be provided only then. Yes, the front desk receptionists are cordial and friendly and try to accommodate if anything requested by the hotel guests. The Sun Ridge Mall and the Basha Foods , one of the biggest middle eastern grocery in Calgary is just the walking distance.

Room Tip: If you need a microwave in your room, asked while you book it , otherwise it will not be in the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zahmed2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian S, Guest Relations Manager at Executive Royal Hotel Calgary, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the opportunity to share your experience with our hotel. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and have posted your great comments for our team to see.

I hope to see you back again in the future.

Yours in hospitality,

Brian Smith
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Disappointed with this property. We booked it because of its location near the airport - it's not real close but it worked for us since we still had our rental car. The big issue was the thickness of the pillows - each bed was outfitted with three and they were all equally thick. I can't figure out who can sleep with that type of pillow - certainly not me! We were also disappointed with the onsite restaurant. The food was decent but the service was slow, even though the restaurant was nearly empty.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creston, B.C.
Level Contributor
112 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

Staying here between flights. Clean hotel, fitness room with stream rooms. Rooms are a good size. Walking distance to Sun ridge Mall. Friendly and helpful staff. Free shuttle s to airport as compared to $30 taxi ride. I've stayed here 4 or 5 times as rates are reasonable, can leave your carat hotel for reasonable rate.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DonCreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian S, Guest Relations Manager at Executive Royal Hotel Calgary, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the opportunity to share your experience with our hotel. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and have posted your great comments for our team to see.

I hope to see you back again in the future.

Yours in hospitality,

Brian Smith
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

We booked this hotel because it was advertised as being an "airport hotel"....a $30 cab ride is not an airport hotel The room was nice, beds were comfortable. However, we were not impressed with the front desk staff...well really just one young girl whom we had to ask twice to order a cab because she "forgot", and then it really felt like an inconvenience. The young lady that checked us in was great.
We were also surprised that the gift shop was closed in the middle of a Monday afternoon. We were on our way to the airport....this time we used the shuttle from the hotel that cost $5 each (really??? you charge for the shuttle??) and we wanted a bottle of water....but no, at 1:30 the gift shop was closed and was not going to re-open until 4:00.

We liked the room, it was clean, the beds were comfortable but I won't be in a big hurry to book it again because there were too many other parts of it that annoyed me.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelTime1833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

This is a very nice hotel with that well-kept chain type of feel.

The room was beautifully appointed with a comfy easy-chair and ottoman, desk and we were pleasantly surprised to find a mini-fridge in our room which can always be convenient.

I know I was tired but I think this was likely the most comfortable bed I'd ever slept in. I'm always a bit anxious when traveling and to be sound asleep when our wake-up call rang us awake, was most unusual for me.

My husband loved the shower but I didn't. I slipped a little getting in and didn't feel secure after that even though I probably was. The way they do their lighting is wonderful in that it slowly gets brighter as it's left on so the bathroom lights aren't obnoxious if you need to visit there during the night. It does take a little getting used to in the day when you're expecting a bright light to come on immediately.

The restaurant was very good and they were offering an incredible buffet of Prime Rib and much more. We didn't want to find ourselves accidentally overeating the night before our early flight home so we skipped it but it really looked worth far more than the $22 pp they were charging.

The front desk personnel were both very friendly and knowledgable. They assisted in getting us into our room prior to check-in time and it was terrifically appreciated. They also provided a variety of local information that was very helpful to us.

Certainly a hotel that even a discriminating traveler should be very happy with.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fran g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian S, Guest Relations Manager at Executive Royal Hotel Calgary, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the opportunity to share your experience with our hotel. We are glad to here that you have enjoyed all the recent updates in the rooms which include the chair, ottoman and beds as well. I have brought your concerns with the bath tub to our maintenance department’s attention. Your great comments have been posted for our team to see.

I hope to see you back again in the future.

Yours in hospitality,

Brian Smith
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northeast Calgary
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Calgary-Airport, AB
Northeast Calgary
Comfort Inn & Suites Calgary Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheraton Cavalier Hotel
#38 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Northeast Calgary
Coast Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre
Northeast Calgary
Ramada Plaza Calgary Airport Hotel and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Executive Royal Hotel Calgary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Executive Royal Hotel Calgary

Property: Executive Royal Hotel Calgary
Address: 2828 23rd St NE | Corner of Barlow Trail and 27th Ave NE, Calgary, Alberta T2E8T4, Canada (Formerly Executive Royal Inn North Calgary)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#39 Business Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Executive Royal Hotel Calgary 3*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious 201-room Executive Royal Inn Hotel & Conference Centre near Calgary’s international airport offers an assortment of hotel accommodation choices to fulfill the needs of the most discerning traveler to Calgary. This Calgary airport hotel is distinctly furnished with non-smoking guest rooms featuring useful hotel amenities that cater to business travelers to Calgary Alberta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Executive Royal Hotel Calgary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Executive Royal Inn North Calgary Hotel Calgary
Executive Royal Hotel North Calgary
Calgary Executive Inn
Calgary Executive Royal Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing