We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient location, very helpful staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Executive Royal Hotel Calgary
Ranked #53 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Convenient location, very helpful staff.”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Ideally located for business in Calgary NE, and closer to the airport than staying downtown. Staff are very helpful. Rooms are reasonably priced and are a decent size. Beds are comfortable. Paint and carpets are a bit tired, but everything is clean. Bar and restaurant serve tasty food, and the chef knows how to cook vegetables so they are still crisp and tasty!! The daily specials are worth a look.

Room Tip: The hotel is on a major intersection, which is immediately east and south of the hotel. So, rooms t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomMaggi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian S, Guest Relations Manager at Executive Royal Hotel Calgary, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the opportunity to share your experience with our hotel. We are currently in the process of painting all the guestrooms as well toward the end of the summer we will begin updating the floors as well. I have posted your great comments for our team to see.

I hope to see you back again in the future.

Yours in hospitality,

Brian Smith
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    124
    57
    23
    16
See reviews for
70
106
24
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coquitlam, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Large rooms, well appointed, comfortable bed, great shower. No complaints regarding room. Staff very helpful but an inexperienced front desk person failed to call in for the shuttle service which was arranged the night before. After a 15 min wait, realized the shuttle wasn't coming and they quickly arranged for a free taxi to take us to the airport. Breakfast buffet was nice, good value, great wait staff, good coffee and very nice fresh omelet station. Hotel is a little tired looking, very dirty elevator carpet. They should vacuum a little more often and give a good steam clean once in a while. It was really disgusting but the rooms were clean so guess that is all that really matters. Didn't check out the fitness area as only there for one night. Fresh apples at front desk and morning paper delivered to room are nice touches. Food at dinner was average but no complaints. Again, staff were extremely friendly and could see that others were regulars as staff knew them by name. A good hotel and would return if the Sheraton was booked (which is where I normally stay when in Calgary). Not as nice as the Sheraton but then again a lot better priced too. Good value for the money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian S, Guest Relations Manager at Executive Royal Hotel Calgary, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the opportunity to share your experience with our hotel. We have addressed the shuttle booking issue with the front desk agent in question to prevent any future mishaps. We agree the elevators carpet is showing its age and our maintenance team is looking to have it replaced in the very near future. I have posted your great comments for our team to see.

I hope to see you back again in the future.

Yours in hospitality,

Brian Smith
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Decent enough, bit out of the way and a tad pricey. The room wasn't the cleanest either. Overall it served it's purpose, and there were a lot of restaurant selections in the immediate vicinity. It wouldn't be my first choice in the future, it was represented as 3 star on Priceline but I would put it at 2.5 stars.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oracai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medicine Hat, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

The hotel offers a special rate for those from out of town who have hospital/Drs. appointments . It is very close to Peter Lougheed hospital. The staff especially Kathy Gamble the sales manager who is very accommodating and is always very helpful. Hotel close to mall and they also offer a shuttle service to airport

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sammy1222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
72 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Arrived at hotel at 100AM nobody was available at front desk; but a ring button was left for customers to press if nobody is there. I pressed the button and someone was at the front desk within 10 seconds :) Staff is very friendly ( might not know everything about the area but they do try ) Room was spotless clean and comfortable; but if you are allergic to feather down pillows and comforters you will suffer. No food services 24 hours; rooms are outdated; but comfortable. Hotel is in the middle of nowhere about 8 miles from airport and 8 miles from downtown. Free WI-FI. Overall I had a priceline rate so would stay again :)

Room Tip: Great for solo travelers :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank esaldana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trophy Club, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

I was on business and had some work to finish up before flying out the next morning, so the lack of a desk (just a small round table and two chairs) was my only disappointment. Otherwise, this was a great hotel. Stop in at the Toad and Turtle across the street for some fine German food, too!

The Executive Royal was in a cluster of airports hotels south of Calgary International and gave me the best rate of all of them when I missed my flight out of town. The hotel had lots of conference rooms, a restaurant and bar that were very busy and several other dining options within walking distance.

And, best of all, it was quiet for my short, unintended layover and the overlapping window shades (see photo)! That is an awesome detail that makes this hotel a step above the others! They even provided a recycle bin -- first one I've ever seen in a hotel!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SchultzDuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
212 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We have been here for 5 days now and overall I am pleased with the hotel but it could use some work. The bed is just okay. We have a small bed that is not very comfortable and could use replacing. The room is very clean and there is a nice flatscreen in the center that swivels as well as a desk for getting some work done. The property is nice but it seems like they have a lot of banquet groups that like to get loud at night. We had the lovely experience of dealing with a loud group of police hockey teams that were in town for a tournament that acted like they were let out of a cage. Walking up to the property we saw two of the guys outside smoking a cig and one was delightfully peeing on the side of the building one foot away from the door when there was a bathroom within 20 steps inside the building. We mentioned it to the receptionist who just blew it off and didnt seem to care less. After that, they decided to party all night and were extremely loud in the hotel, so if you are looking for a quite stay then I would look elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northeast Calgary
Comfort Inn & Suites Calgary Airport
Northeast Calgary
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Calgary-Airport, AB
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northeast Calgary
Coast Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre
Northeast Calgary
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Calgary-Airport
Northeast Calgary
Lakeview Signature Inn Calgary Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Executive Royal Hotel Calgary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Executive Royal Hotel Calgary

Property: Executive Royal Hotel Calgary
Address: 2828 23 St NE | Corner of Barlow Trail and 27th Ave NE, Calgary, Alberta T2E 8T4, Canada (Formerly Executive Royal Inn North Calgary)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#39 Business Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Executive Royal Hotel Calgary 3*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious 201-room Executive Royal Inn Hotel & Conference Centre near Calgary’s international airport offers an assortment of hotel accommodation choices to fulfill the needs of the most discerning traveler to Calgary. This Calgary airport hotel is distinctly furnished with non-smoking guest rooms featuring useful hotel amenities that cater to business travelers to Calgary Alberta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Executive Royal Hotel Calgary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Executive Royal Inn North Calgary Hotel Calgary
Executive Royal Hotel North Calgary
Calgary Executive Royal Hotel
Calgary Executive Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing