We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect End to a Fantastic Honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kensington Riverside Inn
Ranked #26 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, New York
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Perfect End to a Fantastic Honeymoon”
Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for the last two nights of our honeymoon before flying back to the States, and I'm so glad we added this to our honeymoon! This was the best all around hotel experience either of us has ever had. The front desk staff was lovely and helpful. Our room was beautiful, and when we arrived had chocolates and rose petals with a hand written note congratulating us. Each morning coffee and a newspaper are outside your door, and a gourmet breakfast at Chef's Table is included in your stay - the pancakes were delicious! We also had a wonderful dinner at Chef's Table, and took a nice stroll by the river afterwards. We had few plans in Calgary, so we took out the Inn's bikes for a twenty mile ride to explore the city. They gave us helmets and bottled water and sent us on our way - such a great perk! We will definitely stay here any time we return to Calgary!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesse_KRI, Manager at Kensington Riverside Inn, responded to this review, September 29, 2014
We thoroughly enjoy hosting newlyweds! We make it our goal to ensure that your time with us is as relaxing and magical as you both dreamed your honeymoon would be. Thank you for all of your kind words. We hope that we are able to host you again in the future…perhaps on your first wedding anniversary!

Warm Regards,

Mandy Piedimonte
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    77
    24
    23
    5
See reviews for
42
232
17
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2014

We stayed for two nights at the start of August and my wife and I had a wonderful time. The room was very clean and modern, and the bed was great - very comfortable. We had a ground floor room that had a little private patio, so we could relax with our morning coffee and paper (which they delivered for free every morning).

The staff were excellent especially Pascale at the front desk who was friendly and very helpful. She even helped adjust our bike seats for us on the hotels' loaner bikes which we took on a leisurely ride on the river pathway. The staff and breakfasts in the restaurant were great as well.

The hotel has a great location in the Kensington district with lots of restaurants and unique stores; it's also just a short drive or walk to downtown.Whether you live in Calgary and want a get - away weekend or you travel from afar, this excellent hotel is worth the stay!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesse_KRI, Manager at Kensington Riverside Inn, responded to this review, September 29, 2014
Thank you for all of your kind words. We aim to give our guests a relaxing atmosphere during their stay and we are very glad that you were able to experience this to its fullest during your time with us! Our bikes are a great summer perk, especially being so close to the river pathways. I will happily pass along all of your kind words to our staff, especially Pascale, as I know they take great pride in the service they offer our guests.

Regards,

Mandy Piedimonte
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

This is a truly perfect small hotel, from the service and food to amenities and location. And it's quite reasonably priced too.

We arrived early (10 am) on our check-in day. We were cheerfully greeted, our room was soon ready for us, and we were made very comfortable as we waited. The room was modern, quiet, and well-equipped.

The staff are cheerful, knowledgeable and personable. Theatre tickets were quickly arranged. Loaner bicycles were provided and adjusted, with information on pleasant routes. The Inn is in a charming neighborhood of boutiques etc., next to the river and near downtown.

Complimentary coffee and excellent small croissants start the day. The hotel provided a credit to apply to charges at the restaurant, which has won awards from Wine Spectator and others.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesse_KRI, Manager at Kensington Riverside Inn, responded to this review, September 29, 2014
We are all so pleased to hear that we have exceeded your expectations for accommodation, thank you for your kind words.

We aim to deliver personalized service at all times, and I can say that all of our Innkeepers thoroughly enjoyed hosting you both! Thank you again for your kind words and we are looking forward to the opportunity to host you in the future!

Warm Regards,

Mandy Piedimonte
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, UT
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2014

My wide and I stayed for three nights recently. As per the manager, the hotel has been recently renovated and redecorated. I thought the décor was sophisticated and added to the upscale feeling the hotel projects.

All staff was very helpful. For example, the first morning the manager approached us and asked if we had any comments. We told him about a couple issues -- the bathroom is dark and the blinds are not very effective at keeping out light -- and he explained the decorators had made some decisions they were now going back and correcting. It was nice to have the manager take an interest in our concerns and provide feedback on how the hotel was addressing the problem.

All the furnishings, linens and towels are high quality. Our king room was spacious and very comfortable.

The breakfast each morning was very delicious. We did not have a chance to eat in the restaurant at night so I can't comment on the evening meals.

The location is close to downtown, restaurants and bars. As well there is easy access coming in from the airport.

Overall, we enjoyed the hotel's intimate atmosphere and location. We wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VolRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesse_KRI, Manager at Kensington Riverside Inn, responded to this review, September 29, 2014
We are very glad to hear that the quality of our product and services met your expectations and that you would stay again. We are looking forward to hosting you in the future, at which point we will have hopefully corrected the issues you experienced.

Warm Regards,

Mandy Piedimonte
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2014

We celebrated our anniversary here. It was quaint, personalized, clean and the perfect stay-cation getaway. Perfectly situated to walk to many restaurants, parks, etc. The outdoor patio off our room was a bonus. Enjoyed a delicious breakfast on the outdoor dining patio.

Room Tip: Having a room on the main floor was nice to enjoy the garden patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NerdYYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesse_KRI, Manager at Kensington Riverside Inn, responded to this review, September 29, 2014
Thank you very much for choosing our Inn for your anniversary celebration. The Inn has become a popular place for a romantic get-a-way in the city and we are so glad you were enjoyed your experience with us! Hopefully we can host you for your anniversary next year as well.

Warm Regards,

Mandy Piedimonte
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 29, 2014

My husband and I stayed three nights at this lovely little hotel and thought it was wonderful. We had a luxury room (it was expensive in my view) that faced a busy street but the traffic noise did not bother us. The river is also across the street and we could see it a bit from our room. The room was spacious and very comfortable with a gas fireplace that would be wonderful during the cold weather. The best part was the service, everyone was highly helpful and friendly. Hot coffee was delivered each morning to our room and the small restaurant had absolutely delicious breakfasts. We even asked the chef how he made the scrambled eggs!! They were the best I ever had. We will be returning to Calgary next year for a wedding and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunnySouth23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesse_KRI, Manager at Kensington Riverside Inn, responded to this review, September 29, 2014
Thank you for your kind words! I will ensure to pass on your kind words to our staff as they take great pride in the level of service offered to our guests. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly next year and I would be happy to ensure that you are well taken care of during your stay.

Warm Regards,

Mandy Piedimonte
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

We arrived very late at night after flying in from a stay in Alaska. This 19 room hotel had someone there to greet us, but we weren't able to get any refreshment after our long day of travel. Our room was large and modern with fireplace, flat screen TV and chocolates. In the morning coffee arrives at lyour door before the included breakfast in the dining room. You are given breakfast vouchers for breakfast which was very good. The hotel is very tastefully decorated. When we mentioned at checkout about not being able to enjoy a glass of wine after our long day, the management gave us a small reduction in our room rate for the mistake. You may want to arrange through the hotel for transportation from the airport seeing that our taxi driver did not know its location. They contract with a taxi firm which brought us back to the airport efficiently.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JKS55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesse_KRI, Manager at Kensington Riverside Inn, responded to this review, September 29, 2014
Thank you for your honest feedback about the Inn.
As mentioned upon your departure, we apologize for the lack of service you experienced upon your arrival, as this is not the level of service that we pride ourselves on. I would like to assure you that this issue has since been rectified, and I am glad to hear that the resolution that was provided upon check out was satisfactory. More importantly I am so pleased to hear that all other aspects of your stay were enjoyable and I sincerely hope we can host you again should your travels return you to Calgary.

Warm Regards,

Mandy Piedimonte
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Hotel Le Germain Calgary
#10 of 109 in Calgary
873 reviews
The Fairmont Palliser
#21 of 109 in Calgary
2,241 reviews
Beltline
Hotel Elan
Hotel Elan
#3 of 109 in Calgary
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Calgary
#16 of 109 in Calgary
1,511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kensington Riverside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kensington Riverside Inn

Property: Kensington Riverside Inn
Address: 1126 Memorial Dr NW, Calgary, Alberta T2N 3E3, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northwest Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Calgary
#5 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
#9 Luxury Hotel in Calgary
#31 Family Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kensington Riverside Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kensington Riverside Inn is Calgary's premier luxury boutique Inn located steps from Downtown Calgary along the banks of the picturesque Bow River in Kensington Village. This 19-room boutique inn features upscale accommodations for the discerning traveler, as well as our newest addition, Oxbow, serving unique and seasonal cuisine, letting you appreciate dining as it was meant to be, honestly uncomplicated. Your "Inn" experience will include evening turndown service, morning coffee/tea tray with newspaper, as well as complimentary high-speed wireless internet and bottled water in the guest room. When booking with the Inn directly, guests will receive a $20 per person culinary credit at Oxbow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, World Independent Hotel Promotion, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Kensington Riverside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Riverside Hotel Calgary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing