We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kensington Riverside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kensington Riverside Inn
Ranked #20 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
New Haven, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

My husband and I stayed three nights at this lovely little hotel and thought it was wonderful. We had a luxury room (it was expensive in my view) that faced a busy street but the traffic noise did not bother us. The river is also across the street and we could see it a bit from our room. The room was spacious and very comfortable with a gas fireplace that would be wonderful during the cold weather. The best part was the service, everyone was highly helpful and friendly. Hot coffee was delivered each morning to our room and the small restaurant had absolutely delicious breakfasts. We even asked the chef how he made the scrambled eggs!! They were the best I ever had. We will be returning to Calgary next year for a wedding and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SunnySouth23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesse_KRI, Manager at Kensington Riverside Inn, responded to this review, September 29, 2014
Thank you for your kind words! I will ensure to pass on your kind words to our staff as they take great pride in the level of service offered to our guests. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly next year and I would be happy to ensure that you are well taken care of during your stay.

Warm Regards,

Mandy Piedimonte
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    67
    22
    21
    2
See reviews for
37
201
16
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Andover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
182 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

We arrived very late at night after flying in from a stay in Alaska. This 19 room hotel had someone there to greet us, but we weren't able to get any refreshment after our long day of travel. Our room was large and modern with fireplace, flat screen TV and chocolates. In the morning coffee arrives at lyour door before the included breakfast in the dining room. You are given breakfast vouchers for breakfast which was very good. The hotel is very tastefully decorated. When we mentioned at checkout about not being able to enjoy a glass of wine after our long day, the management gave us a small reduction in our room rate for the mistake. You may want to arrange through the hotel for transportation from the airport seeing that our taxi driver did not know its location. They contract with a taxi firm which brought us back to the airport efficiently.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JKS55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesse_KRI, Manager at Kensington Riverside Inn, responded to this review, September 29, 2014
Thank you for your honest feedback about the Inn.
As mentioned upon your departure, we apologize for the lack of service you experienced upon your arrival, as this is not the level of service that we pride ourselves on. I would like to assure you that this issue has since been rectified, and I am glad to hear that the resolution that was provided upon check out was satisfactory. More importantly I am so pleased to hear that all other aspects of your stay were enjoyable and I sincerely hope we can host you again should your travels return you to Calgary.

Warm Regards,

Mandy Piedimonte
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
178 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

I had high expectations for this Inn, having been strongly recommended to book it by my travel agent. There lies the problem, such high expectations are rarely met. As previously reported the rooms are large and my bed was incredibly comfortable. However the room was very dark with the blinds down and I couldn't have them out without being overlooked by the adjacent property. Lighting so poor that difficult to read at night. Street noise was defiantly an issue but only in the mornings when dust carts came past.However the tea and croissant delivered early each morning was a real treat. The staff were all lovely and the area was well served by restaurants and easily accessible to downtown.

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank fleetoffoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

While there is road noise, the staff bend over backward to help you out - we mentioned excessive heat in the room and the street noise, and immediately they moved us to another room. We love the location - Kensington is a fun place to walk around and it is easy to walk along the river and to head to Prince's Island. While we did not have time to use them, the hotel has bikes for guests. And the underground parking in the building made it easy to get in and out. We were in one of the luxury suites, which was comfortable. And will be back three more times staying there before the end of the year!
Early morning coffee or tea was delivered on time and in a thermos so still piping hot when ready to drink it. And they make a most-impressive omelet for breakfast!

Room Tip: Problems with the Wi-Fi. We like facing Memorial Drive, even though it is noisier. But we find the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CMG6523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

I had high expectations of the Kensington Riverside Inn, given other reviews. I must say it is not a 5-star place like some reviews might suggest. Nevertheless, this is a good choice in Calgary. Here are a few thoughts:

- The Inn is s comfortable, the room I stayed in was large, the bathroom was large, and there are some nice touches that I apprecaited (e.g. crossiants with your coffee, Aveda products, ...).
- Breakfast at the restaurant was quite good.
- Excellent location. Kensington is a fun area to stay in and is quite close to downtown without being in it. Many good restaurants and shops within walking distance.

What can be improved:
- The blinds were not great blocking the bright street lights in rooms on the east side of the Inn. The windows/walls were not great blocking street noise at night. (Neither a huge deal for me, but I can see this troubling some travellers.)
- The mattress was just OK.
- The Inn is starting to show age, but it's not at a stage where that is an immediate concern.

I pad $300 for two nights, which I thought was excellent. Given my experience at other hotels in Calgary and elsewhere, I think the regular prices of $300 or so per night would be a little too high for what you get.

Room Tip: There's free street parking on Sundays. Otherwise, street parking fees apply between 9 a.m. and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank icFace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

Twenty minutes from Calgary Airport and just across the river from downtown Calgary, this hotel provided all that was required after a long flight. The hotel was immaculate, the room was spacious, the bed was comfortable, the breakfast sumptuous but most of all was the friendly welcome by all staff and the quality of service delivered. If only all hotels could match this standard. We only stayed one night before heading north but would certainly return if we visit Calgary again the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank d_k_york
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesse_KRI, Manager at Kensington Riverside Inn, responded to this review, September 29, 2014
We are so glad to hear that we were able to provide you with everything you needed after a long and tiring flight.

We are sincerely hoping to have the opportunity to host you in the future.

Warm regards,

Mandy Piedimonte
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

I loved this hotel and i recomand it. The rooms are modern. The restaurant is amazing. Loved the breakfast. Enjoyed a bike ride on the side of the river with complimentary bike. Service is just perfect.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesse_KRI, Manager at Kensington Riverside Inn, responded to this review, September 29, 2014
We are so glad that you enjoyed your time with us, and even got to enjoy some time on our sunny river pathways. I will gladly pass along all of your kind words to our Innkeepers as they take great pride in the service they offer to our guests.

Warm Regards,

Mandy Piedimonte
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Hotel Le Germain Calgary
#10 of 109 in Calgary
4.5 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
Beltline
Hotel Elan
Hotel Elan
#2 of 109 in Calgary
4.5 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
The Fairmont Palliser
#21 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Calgary
#13 of 109 in Calgary
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,347 reviews
The Westin Calgary
#25 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kensington Riverside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kensington Riverside Inn

Property: Kensington Riverside Inn
Address: 1126 Memorial Drive NW, Calgary, Alberta T2N 3E3, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northwest Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Calgary
#5 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
#6 Luxury Hotel in Calgary
#31 Family Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kensington Riverside Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kensington Riverside Inn is Calgary's premier luxury boutique Inn located steps from Downtown Calgary along the banks of the picturesque Bow River in Kensington Village. This 19-room boutique inn features upscale accommodations for the discerning traveler, as well as the renowned Chef's Table restaurant. Your "Inn" experience will include evening turndown service, morning coffee/tea tray with newspaper, as well as complimentary high-speed wireless internet and bottled water in the guest room. When booking with the Inn directly, guests will receive a $20 per person food and beverage credit at the Chefs Table. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Kensington Riverside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Riverside Hotel Calgary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing