We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kensington Riverside Inn
Ranked #19 of 110 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 7, 2014

I have now stayed twice, each time for only a night, for business. The service has been tremendous. The staff are very courteous and professional. They seem to try to ensure you have everything you need for the day including umbrella, coffee, directions, tips, etc. Rooms were large and luxurious. They were also very clean. Mattress was excellent with high quality bedding. 20 dollar breakfast voucher also included that covers main breakfast entrees in high end restaurant. Overall, not inexpensive but worth it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dazzle03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesse_KRI, Manager at Kensington Riverside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2014

Making the decision to return to stay with us a second time really shows that our service and amenities have met your expectations and we are so glad they did! We are looking forward to hosting you on your third trip!

Warm Regards,

Mandy Piedimonte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (446)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

308 - 314 of 446 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2014

Amazing experience , if you don't mind paying a little more for best service , this is the place to go!! My husband and I have nothing negative to say about this hotel we loved everything about it and would absolutely go back! We were treated at the best!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JessicaAudetFournier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesse_KRI, Manager at Kensington Riverside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2014

We are so glad that you enjoyed the service experience and our Inn, and we are looking forward to the opportunity to host you and your Husband the next time you are in need of accommodation in Calgary! Thank you for your kind words!

Warm Regards,

Mandy Piedimonte
Assistant Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for one night over May long weekend. We used to live in Sunnyside and always said we would stay at this hotel once we lived elsewhere. We are so glad we did! Kensington is a wonderful area to be in and this hotel was wonderful. The service was excellent, the bed was so comfortable and the food was delicious! So many great details like the before-breakfast tea service at your hotel room door. It was a very relaxing stay, we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scoutandb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesse_KRI, Manager at Kensington Riverside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2014

Thank you very much for your comments. I am so glad that we were able to live up to your expectations and that you were finally able to give you the true Kensington Riverside Inn service experience during your time in Calgary! Hopefully we will now be your home away from home when you travel back to Calgary! We are looking forward to hosting you again!

Warm Regards,

Mandy Piedimonte
Assistant Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Boutique hotels are such a wonderful experience. At the Kensington Riverside Inn, one staff member greets you on the intercom at the parkade, comes down to the parkade to meet you and collect your baggage, checks you in at the front desk, and takes you to your room. A single point of contact - so refreshing. For our staycation, we chose an executive room with a wonderful fireplace and a very cute private patio. The Chef's Table restaurant was also so personable, with only a handful of tables and extensive attention from all the staff. I absolutely loved staying here and can't wait to do it again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank glossglimmerglam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesse_KRI, Manager at Kensington Riverside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

Thank you very much for your kind words. We are finding our weekend “staycations” are increasing in demand; and we have certainly found a niche with Calgary’s love birds!

Please think of us when you are looking for another great escape from the city, without having to leave it.

Warm regards,

Jesse Ziercke
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Spent 8 days here on business. Upside: good location across from river and downtown (not much there). Easy driving access to all arterials. Great little neighbourhood. Much better than staying in a downtown chain hotel which tend to be concrete bunkers. Nicely appointed rooms, amenities, great bed, had fireplace and small patio outside. It was freezing cold, snow, sleet, the entire stay so didn't get out much. Paper and thermos with coffee outside room every morning (croissants only on weekends). Front desk and breakfast staff courteous, professional, friendly. Large bathroom, two showers (one rain shower) and large tub. Beware: no in room kettle, tea/coffee maker or mini fridge so don't bring snacks to store in a fridge or expect to make your own tea/coffee. Free access to a gym a block away was provided. Gym very good and friendly.
Downside: room decor quite dark with dark binds and the soft ambient lighting insufficient to read in bed, let alone dig out stuff out of luggage. Coffee in thermos and breakfast very bland (worse than Tim Horton). No choice for tea. Can't order 'specialty' coffees (e.g., latte, cappuccino, etc) at breakfast during the week. No room service so cannot get a snack during the day or in the evenings (which is why a little mini fridge would've been nice). Would be nice to have a small sitting area on patio (even though it was too cold this time of year to sit outside. Breakfast menu week days very very average, limited and expensive. On weekends a bit better variety but still way overpriced. But: lots of reasonably priced restaurants nearby on Kensington Road with great food (Indian, Thai, Lebanese, organic,etc). Underground parking $15/day (which should be free given the rates).
Overall: it was nice to be in a small two storey hotel without the usual cookie cutter rooms, corridors, elevators. It was quiet despite its location on busy Memorial Drive. Once we figured out the thermostat, the room was cozy and the fireplace made it just perfect. Given all of the above, the top dollar room rate didn't match up with equivalent and better rooms and service you can get in Europe's most expensive cities.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carmofoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesse_KRI, Manager at Kensington Riverside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

Thank you for your valuable feedback. This type of constructive critique allows us to utilize guest experiences to continually improve!

We too believe that our small intimate setting provides service that is difficult to replicate by the larger style hotel chains. As we are a much smaller establishment we continually rely on our service to exceed guest expectations.

We do have Kettles, mini fridges, choices for tea, and specialty coffees, all of which we would gladly deliver if asked. Please do keep this in mind during your next visit with us.
Also, we have brought our outdoor furniture out for the warmer months so you may certainly use the patio rooms to their fullest.

Hopefully we have left enough of a positive first impression, that we will see you again when you return to Calgary.

Warm regards,

Jesse Ziercke
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Kensington is a great neighbourhood to visit, and its centrality and local community and businesses - along with a nearby C train station - make the Riverside Inn a much nicer stay than at hotels in the cold and impersonal downtown. The rooms are well-appointed, beds are comfortable and soft (those who prefer sleeping on hard beds may even find them a bit too soft), and the hotel is very quiet, particularly when the windows are closed.

I was impressed with the consistent friendliness and attention (but not excessive attention) of the staff.

I only had two dissatisfactions:

The first was when I woke up too hot one night and in the dark turned the thermostat all the way down. Unfortunately, this hotel's thermostats are inexplicable reversed, so pushing the crank to the left turned the heat all the way up, not off as with every other thremostat I've ever used. The thermostats have had red and blue stickers added to visualy hint at this irregularity, but I didn't notice that in the dark, so the rest of the night was annoyingly roasting and by morning I was ill-slept and dehydrated. The manager acknowledged this flaw and said that he was planning to have them replaced, so with luck future guests won't have this issue.

The second was a restaurant issue. We drink tea, and unfortunately the hotel makes hot water in thermoses, so by the time the hot water sits a while, and then is poured into a cool teapot, and then is poured into a cool cup, the tea is tepid at best. Black tea is really only good when boiling (ie: 212 degree F) water is poured over the tea. I don't expect the hotel to go crazy warming cups and pots, necessarily, but starting with boiling water, not warm thermos water, would go a long way to making better tea. Even worse, when I asked one staff member to use boiling water, she first made an excuse of why that couldn't be done, which required that I be more assertive about my needs, which I don't like to do, and should not be necessary in a hotel of this standard. Happily, once that was sorted out we had no more trouble. I must compliment the professional staff member in question for recovering nicely from this service error, which I am sure was an aberration. I would, however, recommend that the hotel invest in a device that dispenses boiling water rather than rely on an inadequate thermos.

Other than these matters, which are completely correctable, I thought the Riverside the most pleasant stay in this class that I've had in some time, and this is primarily because of the excellence of the friendly staff.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bontano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesse_KRI, Manager at Kensington Riverside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

Thank you very much for this helpful feedback. I do recall having the discussion with you about our thermostats. Please look for this to be updated this year, as we will install a more user friendly unit.

Your comments about our friendly staff are very encouraging, and help motivate us to continually provide this level of service.

We do provide kettles for guest requiring a very hot cup of tea, but our kitchen staff would gladly boil water to ensure your expectations are met. Tea is a time honored tradition and should be offered as such. You will also be pleased to hear that we have added our own house blend of tea to our turn down service. Another reason for you to return to the Kensington Riverside Inn! Hopefully we will see you again soon.

Warm regards,

Jesse Ziercke
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

I stayed at the Kensington for two nights on a business trip. It was a lovely oasis! Great location on the river with good walking and dining opportunities at the doorstep. The room was beautifully appointed with good attention to detail. For example, the iPod docking station had a better than usual quality speaker; the small private garden on my ground floor room was a treat; bath salts for the big soaker tub; exceptionally comfortable bed; robe and blanket for relaxing in the evening etc etc. The staff were professional but exceptionally friendly and the personal touches (being walked to my room by the desk clerk) were lovely.
I would happily stay there again!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank baldgirl_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesse_KRI, Manager at Kensington Riverside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

Thank you for taking time to comment on your recent stay. Luckily the weather has improved here in Calgary, so you will find those patio rooms to have a sitting area with outdoor furniture and more flowers for you to enjoy!

Thank you for considering us as your accommodation provider in Calgary, we look forward to hosting you during your next visit.

Warm regards,

Jesse Ziercke
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Hotel Le Germain Calgary
#10 of 110 in Calgary
933 reviews
The Fairmont Palliser
#24 of 110 in Calgary
2,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beltline
Hotel Elan
Hotel Elan
#2 of 110 in Calgary
729 reviews
Beltline
Hotel Arts
Hotel Arts
#30 of 110 in Calgary
1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kensington Riverside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kensington Riverside Inn

Address: 1126 Memorial Dr NW, Calgary, Alberta T2N 3E3, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northwest Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Calgary
#5 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
#8 Luxury Hotel in Calgary
Price Range: $173 - $327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kensington Riverside Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kensington Riverside Inn is Calgary's premier luxury boutique Inn located steps from Downtown Calgary along the banks of the picturesque Bow River in Kensington Village. This 19-room boutique inn features upscale accommodations for the discerning traveler, as well as our newest addition, Oxbow, serving unique and seasonal cuisine, letting you appreciate dining as it was meant to be, honestly uncomplicated. Your "Inn" experience will include evening turndown service, morning coffee/tea tray with newspaper, as well as complimentary high-speed wireless internet and bottled water in the guest room. When booking with the Inn directly, guests will receive a $20 per person culinary credit at Oxbow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kensington Riverside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Riverside Hotel Calgary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing