We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old-fashioned warmth in modern setting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kensington Riverside Inn
Ranked #24 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We loved the location as it was walking distance to visit family and also close to the river for time to stroll alone. The breakfast were delicious and everyone at the inn was friendly and helpful. Our room was comfortable and the bed and bedding of excellent quality. We did not have a chance to dine in the intimate hotel restaurant, but thought the menu very interesting---maybe next time! None of the mechanical issues noted in other reviews was an issue during our three night stay.

Room Tip: Our ground floor room had a pleasant outdoor patio but it was too cold to use it. This is not a hot...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 420NAF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesse_KRI, Manager at Kensington Riverside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments. I am pleased that we could provide such a suitable environment for your visit to Calgary. The patio (and river walk for that matter) are more inviting during the summer months, but the fireplace in the lounge and in guestrooms have been very popular in the colder fall months!

We look forward to hosting you the next time you visit Calgary; hopefully you will have the opportunity to try our unique and delicious dinner menu at that point.

Warm regards,

Jesse Ziercke
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (412)
There are newer reviews for Kensington Riverside Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

298 - 304 of 413 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2013

Excellent staff and high quality fixtures and fittings. Booked the master suite and was somewhat disappointed as its size was around standard room size for other Calgary hotels. Not worth the extra costs.
Blinds to not fully eliminate morning light and had little sleep most of the night by what appeared to be a sticky vent in the heating system. Hotel did offer to switch rooms for next night but we had to find a location where we spent most of the day making up for lost sleep. They also voluntarily discounted our bill but unfortunately the weekend was already disrupted.
In summary our experience was an average hotel costing almost double what we typically pay for upgraded rooms in downtown core.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ANGUS M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesse_KRI, Manager at Kensington Riverside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. I am very happy that we could discuss your stay over the phone and resolve some of your concerns. I feel confident that your next stay with us will be impeccable, and look forward to your future feedback.

Warm regards,

Jesse Ziercke
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

My husband and I spent a night at this great little gem for our anniversary. Everyone at the hotel was friendly and helpful. From check in to check out, the staff went out of their way to make you feel welcome. As we were celebrating a special occasion, we were given a complementary upgraded room and found a lovely split bottle of wine with a very nice card wishing us a happy anniversary! A very thoughtful touch. It was a large, beautiful room with modern decor. A luxurious king size bed; nice linens and pillows. The spacious bathroom had recently been updated. A coffee and tea tray are delivered outside your room in the morning for you to enjoy. Breakfast is included with your stay and was fantastic.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luynn k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesse_KRI, Manager at Kensington Riverside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Thank you very much for the kind words. Nothing is more satisfying than hearing we have made a special occasion memorable and extraordinary. Hopefully we are able to host you and your husband on your next night out in Calgary.

Warm regards,

Jesse Ziercke
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Staff was wonderful, no doubt about it. Every single one of them was willing to help all the time.

Our main issues was the shower. My husband took a lukewarm shower (not by choice) and there wasn't any warmth left for me. I have to get out cause the water was so cold. I was unable to wash my face or hair that morning. We didn't have time to stick around and wait so we just checked out.

We were there for a wedding and we were very disappointed that the restaurant wasn't going to open for breakfast until 11am and we had to leave by 10:30am. They did instead deliver a very small cup of vanilla yogurt (tasty!), granola and not so fresh fruits to our room and we thank them for their effort. It still bugs me that we weren't able to use our $40 voucher for breakfast in the morning.

It was a perfect venue for small wedding. Ceremony was beautiful and dinner was amazing. We would love to go back to the restaurant for dinner soon.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Kunnyhunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesse_KRI, Manager at Kensington Riverside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Thank you for taking time to write a review of your experience with us. I am very happy to hear that our staff was wonderful and that you enjoyed the wedding venue. The issue with Hot water is unacceptable and one that we have looked into immediately. I greatly apologize for the inconvenience of a cold shower as this must have been incredibly frustrating. We would love to host you for dinner at your earliest convenience. Please call me directly at the Inn to discuss your next dining experience with us.

Warm regards,

Jesse Ziercke
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I've have visited this Inn on occasion over the last 13 years or so. In the last year and a half it has undergone a major restorative overhaul. Prior to the big update, this inn oozed in old world charm, and every corner held enough appeal to make you want to sit down and pull up a chair. It is quiet, quaint and has unparalleled customer service. The new decor is sadly lacking and I am very sorry to see large scale suburban decorating trends in this 5 star hotel. Decor and charm aside, this place is in a great location, has a delicious breakfast and still offers the privacy I've always sought out on a weekend getaway.

Room Tip: I like the rooms that offer a balcony and fireplace.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TDEmery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesse_KRI, Manager at Kensington Riverside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Thank you very much for your honest feedback. I am very happy to hear that you have been a patron of the Inn for so long. That type of loyalty is rare to find, and greatly appreciated.

I am sorry that our updated product does not match your personal tastes. Hopefully the high standard of service and delicious breakfast is enough to ensure you keep coming back for another 13 years.

Warm regards,

Jesse Ziercke
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I have had the pleasure of staying here twice - once for my own honeymoon, once for a friend's wedding. Both times we were treated like VIPs and enjoyed every minute of our stay. They bring up a tea or coffee tray in the morning with little pastries, the breakfast is incredible, and the beds are the most comfy ever.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlliePW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesse_KRI, Manager at Kensington Riverside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Thank you very much for your positive feedback. Hopefully we will see you both again for your anniversary.
Warm regards,

Jesse Ziercke
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We travel a lot and get tired of the same hotel chains over and over again. So if we are traveling with out the kids we like to try boutique hotels or bed and breakfasts.
We had to go to Calgary for a wedding and we were there only two nights.
The hotel is beautiful and very modern, with all the amenities you would expect, with some extra special touches.
The staff was very friendly and helpful. They put out a coffee or tea carafe each morning outside your room.
Breakfast is included as well. The only draw back is the noise from the traffic. We had a lot of noise at 1am with garbage trucks and such right below us. And the light from the street kept waking me at night..i like a really dark room at night.
other that the noise and light, the hotel was great. I would go again but maybe ask for a different room and see if that makes a difference.
Also the hotel is located in a great spot. Walking distance to food and light shopping.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank livhay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesse_KRI, Manager at Kensington Riverside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Thank you for taking time to write this review. Your comments drive us to improve and help us gauge our success in achieving our service goals. During your next stay please feel free to request a room that may be less impacted by the noise surrounding the Inn. Hopefully we will have the opportunity to host you again.
Regards,

Jesse Ziercke
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Hotel Le Germain Calgary
#10 of 109 in Calgary
885 reviews
The Fairmont Palliser
#21 of 109 in Calgary
2,283 reviews
Beltline
Hotel Elan
Hotel Elan
#2 of 109 in Calgary
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Calgary
#16 of 109 in Calgary
1,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kensington Riverside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kensington Riverside Inn

Address: 1126 Memorial Dr NW, Calgary, Alberta T2N 3E3, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northwest Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Calgary
#5 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
#8 Luxury Hotel in Calgary
#31 Family Hotel in Calgary
Price Range: $156 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kensington Riverside Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kensington Riverside Inn is Calgary's premier luxury boutique Inn located steps from Downtown Calgary along the banks of the picturesque Bow River in Kensington Village. This 19-room boutique inn features upscale accommodations for the discerning traveler, as well as our newest addition, Oxbow, serving unique and seasonal cuisine, letting you appreciate dining as it was meant to be, honestly uncomplicated. Your "Inn" experience will include evening turndown service, morning coffee/tea tray with newspaper, as well as complimentary high-speed wireless internet and bottled water in the guest room. When booking with the Inn directly, guests will receive a $20 per person culinary credit at Oxbow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Kensington Riverside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Riverside Hotel Calgary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing