We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't quite live up to expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Suites Calgary Eau Claire
Ranked #9 of 110 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 25, 2007

Prior to arrival I'd read the reviews and I had high expectations of this hotel. The plus is it is very central and you can walk to all the bars, restaurants and offices in central Calgary. It also has a partial view (on one side of the hotel) of the park. The hotel lobby is a bit dated and the breakfast room has seen better days. The rooms are really not suites (as the hotel name leads you to believe). Really, they are normal hotel rooms with a dividing wall between the sleeping area and the lounge / kitchen area. The kitchen consists of a microwave and a sink. The bedroom area was very small with only enough room to walk around the outside of the bed. That was where the 'suite' concept failed. The beds had been 'shoe-horned' in to a small room so as to create a 'suite' form what was not a very large room. So a bit of a let down. The check-in and check-out was also very slow with long queues. Not really what you'd expect of a North American customer focussed hotel. Overall a bit disappointing - but my sources tell me this is still the best Calgary has to offer !

  • Stayed: May 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Stena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (996)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

920 - 926 of 996 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2006

Four of us met in Calgary for a reunion weekend. We had reservations at another hotel in town, but when we got there, it was so totally disgusting that we canceled our reservation. Not knowing where to go on such late notice, we took our chances at the Sheraton Eau Clair.

What a find! The reception desk was extremely helpful and arranged for us to get two suites next to each other. From the parking attendant, to the concierge, to the wait staff in the restaurant and the Irish pub, everyone was helpful and courteous. We were there four days, and each morning and evening we were greeted with smiles and offers to assist us with dinner reservations, etc. When we needed our car from the garage, it was there in just minutes. Their interest in meeting the needs of their guestis is very genuine.

As for the rooms........they are good size with a nice sofa and work desk, the beds are extremely comfortable with beautiful linens, the decor is lovely, and the suites are immaculate! You will not be disappointed by this wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank AnnieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2006

We stayed here while in Calgary for the Spruce Meadows Masters Tournament (Horse Jumping). The hotel is situated right in downtown Calgary, steps from the river (walking/biking trails) and Prince Island Park. It is within walking distance of the downtown shopping core and is itself located in an area of a lot of restaurants and shops (sorry I don't know the name of the area) - but it is a great location. There is Joey Tomatoes restaurant across the street, we recommend it - it was very good. It took us approximately 35 minutes to drive to Spruce Meadows, but it was an easy drive - can be very congested with traffic on MacLeod Trail though, but no worse than any other major city.
From the moment we arrived the entire staff was prompt, courteous and welcoming. Two minor glitches, which I'll explain but nothing serious and without hesitation we would stay here again. First, we reserved a 2 bdrm suite which we received - the problem was the common area of the suite. It only had room to comfortably seat 3 (not including the desk chair). Because we were two couples and had a fairly relaxed schedule I knew we would be spending time sitting in this area. So, after a brief discussion with the front desk they arranged and promptly delivered another armchair to the suite and upon request removed the desk chair. So, the glitch was that the seating area would not comfortably sit 4... but they fixed the problem as far as I was concerned. The common seating area is relatively small, but the 2 bedroom suites are no doubt comfortable. Each has it's own bathroom and one of the rooms had a king bed, one had 2 queens. The second glitch is silly, but it still annoys me. One night we got back at around 10 pm and I hadn't had anything to eat after perusing their room service menu I found everything was too heavy to be eating that late at night, french toast is relatively light and comforting and although it's only on the breakfast menu I was hoping they'd be able to make me a piece or two - unfortunately, the chef "declined". I know it wasn't on their menu for that time of night and I'm not that upset about it - it just seems it would've been so easy for them to do - and it really would've impressed me. I could understand if it was the busy dinner hour, but it's Calgary and at 10 pm there's not that much else going on... anyways, take it for what you will.
Ok, back to the hotel itself. We were on the club level (floors 14 & 15 are club), which gives you access to a private lounge and bar, complimentary appetizers from 5 - 8 pm (not just the cheap ones either, really good ones - crab cakes, ginger beef and tons of other stuff, it was very good), and complimentary breakfast buffet (again, very good hot and cold selections).
The pool, hot tub, sauna and fitness centre are all on the 2 nd floor. The pool is about 3 1/2 feet deep and has a waterslide. Young ones wouldn't like it though because it is pitch black for most of it and fast. The hot tub is terrific, first of all it's huge and secondly, it's in a great atrium with windows all around - very clean and very nice.
There is a pub and restaurant both located on the first floor, we didn't try either but the pub appears to be great atmosphere and the menu looks good - it's also popular with locals.
Overall, exactly what we've come to expect from Sheraton's - great service, modern, immaculate accomodation and sweet beds! We were very happy with our stay and will stay hear again next time we're in Calgary.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank strattc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2006

Great hotel for business travellers and very nice for holiday makers too!
This place has a business feel to it but is very well equipt for all guests.
Bedrooms - very spacious and comfortable
Restaurant - wonderful food and service
Location - very central with good restaurants nearby (try the 'cafe' in the park for incredible food)
Service - great, staff very smiley and happy to help

Tip - join the Starwood program before visiting, then you can use the 15th floor lounge on weekday evenings for free nibbles and the lovely view across the city

Highly recommended for all.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank _________________
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2006

This was the last stop on our Canadian Rockies trip and the most luxurious hotel on the trip. The hotel location is right next to the Eau Claire Marketplace and Prince's Island Park. From the front entrance of the hotel it's just a 2 minute walk to the park, which has walking trails and a large playground for the kids. The views of the Calgary skyline from the riverbank are fantastic (especially during the evening hours).

As for the hotel, we stayed on the Club Level which included access to the rooftop lounge. The lounge provided a delicious breakfast buffet in the morning and light snack/dinner in the evening. We found that the evening food was plentiful enough to count as dinner for our school age children ( 7 & 10). They also had plates of pastries and desserts too. The lounge has a large outdoor balcony with tables to take in the views of the downtown buildings and the interesting architecture of Chinatown. Those afraid of heights might want to stay in the interior section since there's just a midsection high railing separating you from the 15 stories down. The staff up there was incredibly attentive, friendly and informative on the sights in Calgary.

Our hotel room consisted of a separate bedroom with two queen beds, a family room with desk, fridge and large tv, and a connecting bathroom. The room was incredbily clean and relaxing. The staff had soft jazz music playing on the room's sound system when we would return from sightseeing. They would also leave a bowl of fruit (apples one day, apricots the next) with chocolates in the evening. Slippers would be left out by the beds too. The beds were ultra comfortable.

The hotel has a large indoor pool with a corkscrew waterslide. Our kids would have been happy just spending the entire day there. The hotel is connected to Calgary's large skybridge network. We were able to walk from the hotel to the main downtown shopping mall and devionian gardens (roughly 6-7 blocks away) without having to step outside. It did come in handy when a quick, but strong thunderstorm blew into town.

Overall, felt that this hotel definitely does deserve it's reputation as Calgary's best hotel. We will definitely stay there again on our next trip to Alberta.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Redmonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2006

We arrived later in the day and 3 people at front desk were just standing talking before I finally said I would like to check in

We were given our room keys and the bellhop took our bags up to the room Our comforter had white flakes all over comforter. He said he didn't know what they were. The remote in roomw as very dirty and everything was very dusty - I don't think anyone used this room for a long time

Then we were informed there was a $27.00 a day parking charge that we were not todl about

The only nice thing wa sit was downtown and we had a seperate bedroom

Had a kitchenette with no cutlery and plates or bowls The fridge was stuffed with booze and mix - no room for anything We had to empty it and they charge you $30 if they do it!

Was a wedding there that night and very loud and noisy.

Would not stay here again

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank shopper2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2006

We just returned from a short stay at The Sheraton Suites Calgary Eau Claire.

We were delayed in arriving due to weather affecting our flights, and had to overnight at another airport. We called way past our check in time and they said no problem, no charge.

We arrived the next day and checked in as the bell man unloaded our luggage. After a very quick check in we were told the bags would arrive at our room promptly and they did. We never had to tell the bellman our name, all of the staff have microphones.

We booked a one bed king suite up on the Club Level.
Our room was beautiful, two TVs, desk, fax machine, great bed and bathroom.
My only complaint is they charge for Internet access.

The room had a plate of decorative chocolate awaiting us.
The Club level rooms have access to the club lounge where we went up to for evening au’derves and cocktails. Very nice selection and all complimentary.
You also have a very excellent breakfast as well.
I really have to compliment the staff in the entire hotel but one particular lady up on the Club Lounge was really wonderful, especially when it came to my two year old daughter.

The turn-down service was very nice, with a tray of herbal tea and some slippers awaiting us.

The hotel is in a very good location and we would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank potcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
The Fairmont Palliser
#23 of 110 in Calgary
2,386 reviews
Hyatt Regency Calgary
#16 of 110 in Calgary
1,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Le Germain Calgary
#8 of 110 in Calgary
917 reviews
Beltline
Hotel Elan
Hotel Elan
#2 of 110 in Calgary
716 reviews
Beltline
Hotel Arts
Hotel Arts
#30 of 110 in Calgary
1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Suites Calgary Eau Claire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Suites Calgary Eau Claire

Address: Sheraton Suites Calgary Eau Claire 255 Barclay Parade SW, Calgary, Alberta T2P 5C2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Calgary
#11 Business Hotel in Calgary
#14 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
#21 Family Hotel in Calgary
Price Range: $117 - $334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Suites Calgary Eau Claire 4*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're visiting our Calgary Hotel for business or pleasure, you'll never feel more at home than at the all-suite four-diamond Sheraton Suites Calgary Eau Claire Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Suites Calgary Eau Claire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Suites Calgary Eau Claire Hotel Calgary
Sheraton Calgary
Sheraton Hotel Calgary Eau Claire
Calgary Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing