We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly staff and lovely rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Suites Calgary Eau Claire
Ranked #10 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Camrose, Canada
Level Contributor
137 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great location, friendly staff and lovely rooms”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We were in Calgary for a wedding and although the wedding was in Okotoks (about 1/2 hr. drive), we chose the Sheraton because we are Starwood members and the Eau Claire location had the proper room configirations for our families 2 night stay.

We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite the first evening and it was very comfortable. There were 2 full bathrooms a minibar and microwave. The living area had a pullout couch, which we did not use because the second bedroom had two queen beds. Kids said they were comfy! The main bedroom had a king bed and although the room was small and confirgured around the wall mounted TV, it was comfortable. The bathrooms were each large and provided plenty of towels and face clothes for our group.

The first morning I had a difficult time getting my car brought around on time, but the manager took care of things after I waited for 40 minutes. I believe that the new service express system allows for errors in communication between guests and departments in the Sheraton properties. I perfer to speak directly with the valet service and then both parties know who they spoke with and the ball doesnt get dropped. The situation would not deter me from staying here again in the future. It is just what happened.

The second night the hotel staff moved our luggage to a smaller king corner room because our party was now only 2 people. The room was very large and so comfortable. The bathroom had a large bubble tub and a separate shower. The bathroom was massive. We ordered room service and the food was excellent, hot and quickly delivered. Breakfast in the morning was also perfect!

The hotel is doing some renovations on the club floor, so sadly we did not have the opportunity to enjoy those extras. I am excited to see what the new rooms will look like.

The location is excellent; along the river, downtown, but also easy to get out to the freeway and head any direction. There are great restaurants and shopping in the area. I would recommend this property for your next stay in Calgary.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelcoleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle N, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Calgary Eau Claire, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review of your most recent stay at the Sheraton Suites Calgary Eau Claire. I am thrilled to learn that you and your family enjoyed the features of our suites, surrounding amenities and spectacular location in Eau Claire Market. We cannot wait to welcome you back so that you can experience the newly revitalized Sheraton Club Floor and Lounge. Thank you for the recommendation and as always, we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future!
Warmest Regards,
Ian Marceau, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

931 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    552
    278
    57
    31
    13
See reviews for
248
234
43
269
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I had a 2 night stay for business in Calgary and stayed at the Shell Oil preferred hotel. The hotel is very well maintained, the food at the adjoining restaurants is quite good and the proximity to the downtown business district is great.

As it was my first trip to Calgary I was surprised at how scenic the entire area is. The hotel is a 2 block walk from a whitewater river and a lovely park area. (Sadly much of the park was closed off due to flood damage a few weeks earlier.) Many joggers and bikers were around. I had a nice walk and hill climb that made up for missing my gym workout at home.

Back to the hotel. The staff was very friendly and courteous. The room I was in was spotless and the bed was very comfortable. I slept well though I was a bit disconcerted to see daylight at 10 PM. (In New Orleans, it's dark by 8 PM at the latest.)

Excellent hotel and I recommend it highly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wgemedicaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle N, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Calgary Eau Claire, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on your recent stay at the Sheraton Suites Calgary Eau Claire. I am pleased to learn you found your suite spotless and comfortable and that you enjoyed the service provided by our outstanding team. The Eau Claire area is truly a wonderful place to experience Calgary. We look forward to having the opportunity to have you stay with us again.

Warmest Regards,
Ian Marceau, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tver, Russia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

The hotel is at the border of downtown and scenic Prince island. Most places of interest are in the walking distance, including Stampede area. The hotel itself is surrounded by a group of nice restaraunts and bars. At a bonus, there are very beautiful jogging routes from the hotel up and down the Bow river - full with people and, thus, motivating.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Helpful?
Thank Sonic1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle N, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Calgary Eau Claire, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of you recent stay at the Sheraton Suites Calgary Eau Claire. We are thrilled you were able to take advantage of our unique location, enjoying all that the surrounding area has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Warmest Regards,
Ian Marceau, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Our family recently stayed at the Sheraton Suites Eau Claire for a weekend (Saturday and Sunday nights) after several nights on vacation in the Banff National Park.

Positives:
- Adjacent to Prince's Island Park and Bow River Pathway - great for walking, running, & biking
- Attractive, spacious lobby
- Free wifi in lobby & computers for printing our boarding passes
- Large rooms with view over Eau Claire Marketplace
- Two large flat screen tv's
- Nice indoor pool & whirlpool
- Free parking on street from 6pm Sat - 11am
- Restaurant options in the hotel, in the Eau Claire Marketplace, and many others in the downtown core.

Negatives:
- Uncomfortable sofa bed
- Wifi $12.95 per day in room (free in lobby)
- Room frig $10.00 per day
- Bedroom has very little floor space with two queen beds

Overall, I would say that this hotel is good but not great.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank momtravl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle N, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Calgary Eau Claire, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay at the Sheraton Suites Calgary Eau Claire. We truly appreciate the gift of feedback as it allows our team to continuously learn the needs of our valued guests. I am displeased to learn of a few concerns that occurred during your stay. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back upon your next escape to Calgary at which time we hope to make amends.

Warmest Regards,
Ian Marceau, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
74 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Our family stayed 2 nights here during our vacation on our way to Banff. It was mid-week, the week after the Stampede. We were shocked at how expensive the hotel was. We had a room with 2 queens and a sofa bed and it was nearly $400 per night. We stayed in a similar Starwood hotel in Vancouver (mid-week) for about half the price. It seems like Calgary is just an expensive city because of its booming economy. The room was clean and comfortable for our family. The location was also very central to the sights/restaurants in the downtown area. Staff was friendly. No complaints other than the price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sacramento_CADave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle N, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Calgary Eau Claire, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your most recent stay at the Sheraton Suites Calgary Eau Claire. I am glad to learn your stay in your suite was comfortable for your family. The Eau Claire area is truly a gem within the city of Calgary. We thank you again for the feedback and look forward to welcoming you and your family back upon your next Calgary vacation.

Warmest Regards,
Ian Marceau, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
892 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 291 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

I would rate the service at the Calgary Sheraton Eau Claire as one of the best in Canada and the United States. I have stayed at this hotel numerous times, I am always greeted by name, they resolve issues quickly and compensate fairly. We at times stay with our golden retriever and they treat her like a regular guest. The hotel is next to the river and easy to walk dogs. This hotel is one of my favorites and one of the best starwood hotels in north America.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank haileythegolden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle N, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Calgary Eau Claire, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for the glowing recommendation from your most recent stay at the Sheraton Suites Calgary Eau Claire. Our team is thrilled to be your hotel of choice in Calgary and in North America! We look forward to welcoming you back the near future!

Warmest Regards,
Ian Marceau, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, British Columbia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

The thing about Calgary is this. Calgary is a business hub for a number of energy and financial companies in Western Canada. Lots of business travels come in every week and there is a very high demand for hotel rooms in the downtown core. Hotel operators have come to realize they can charge an extraordinarily high nightly rate and cut hotel amenities without losing guests.

The hotels I have stayed at in downtown Calgary including the Sheraton, Hyatt and Delta have much lower standards than other cities. If this was Toronto or Vancouver guests would demand high standards or take their business elsewhere. In Calgary there is nowhere else to go – hotels are limited and all the operators are in the same boat. Charge outrageous prices, do very few renovations, and minimal service standards in order to be most profitable.

The Sheraton is no different – the hotel rooms are tired and the beds are uncomfortable since they have not been replaced in a long time. The services and amenities are limited; most other Sheraton’s offer something like a continental breakfast or free internet – but not here, everything is extra. The problem is that I'm not sure where else in Calgary that is better to go. The standards at all the hotels I've been to here are the same – might as well save a few bucks and stay at a Holiday Inn or Best Western.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank phil4vic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Beltline
Hotel Elan
Hotel Elan
#2 of 109 in Calgary
613 reviews
The Fairmont Palliser
#20 of 109 in Calgary
2,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Calgary
#15 of 109 in Calgary
1,450 reviews
The Westin Calgary
#27 of 109 in Calgary
1,385 reviews
Hotel Le Germain Calgary
#7 of 109 in Calgary
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Suites Calgary Eau Claire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Suites Calgary Eau Claire

Property: Sheraton Suites Calgary Eau Claire
Address: Sheraton Suites Calgary Eau Claire 255 Barclay Parade SW, Calgary, Alberta T2P 5C2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Calgary
#11 Business Hotel in Calgary
#14 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
#21 Family Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Suites Calgary Eau Claire 4*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're visiting our Calgary Hotel for business or pleasure, you'll never feel more at home than at the all-suite four-diamond Sheraton Suites Calgary Eau Claire Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Suites Calgary Eau Claire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Suites Calgary Eau Claire Hotel Calgary
Sheraton Calgary
Sheraton Hotel Calgary Eau Claire
Calgary Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing