We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced rooms; substandard service; tired décor; but nowhere else to go”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Suites Calgary Eau Claire
Ranked #10 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, British Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Overpriced rooms; substandard service; tired décor; but nowhere else to go”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

The thing about Calgary is this. Calgary is a business hub for a number of energy and financial companies in Western Canada. Lots of business travels come in every week and there is a very high demand for hotel rooms in the downtown core. Hotel operators have come to realize they can charge an extraordinarily high nightly rate and cut hotel amenities without losing guests.

The hotels I have stayed at in downtown Calgary including the Sheraton, Hyatt and Delta have much lower standards than other cities. If this was Toronto or Vancouver guests would demand high standards or take their business elsewhere. In Calgary there is nowhere else to go – hotels are limited and all the operators are in the same boat. Charge outrageous prices, do very few renovations, and minimal service standards in order to be most profitable.

The Sheraton is no different – the hotel rooms are tired and the beds are uncomfortable since they have not been replaced in a long time. The services and amenities are limited; most other Sheraton’s offer something like a continental breakfast or free internet – but not here, everything is extra. The problem is that I'm not sure where else in Calgary that is better to go. The standards at all the hotels I've been to here are the same – might as well save a few bucks and stay at a Holiday Inn or Best Western.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank phil4vic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

942 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    561
    280
    57
    31
    13
See reviews for
254
235
43
271
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Spent a Friday night here in August, I was impressed from the beginning. The location is just off the Eau Claire market area within a few minutes of the river, nice drive to the front of the hotel where the Valet will take/park your vehicle. Lobby area was impressive and check in was easy and quick. We had a corner suite which was beautifully finished and very well laid out (liked the separate tv/sitting area). You can stroll along the river and Prince's Island Park, lots of small restaurants and pubs nearby, as well as downtown Calgary. The hotel pub (Fionn MacCools) was a small cozy Irish pub with lots of laid back charm. I'd highly recommend the hotel as it has it all.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rockyride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle N, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Calgary Eau Claire, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your most recent stay at the Sheraton Suites Calgary Eau Claire. I am glad to learn you enjoyed your suite and its features, along with the service provided by our outstanding team. The Eau Claire area is truly spectacular, and I am thrilled you were able to take advantage. Our team looks forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warmest Regards,
Ian Marceau, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We couldn't be happier with our stay at this hotel. We stayed booked our room (824) through the hotel's website and received an excellent deal. We paid only $126 plus tax for a double queen bed suite, with separate living room/ kitchenette. We were impressed with the quality of the room for the price we paid. It was clean, comfortable, and spacious. The furniture and decor was obviously recently updated. The bathroom was also recently renovated and quite nice. The beds were so comfortable as well. The room came with a fully stocked mini bar (at a price of course) and free Starbucks coffee.
The hotel itself was very clean, brightly light, and airy. The hallways are well kept (no dirty dishes from room service left in the hallways) and wider than the average hotel's halls so you don't feel crowded. The swimming pool is very family friendly with the water slide and the kids love it. But it is also adult friendly in that the pool actually stays open 24 hours a day and "adult swim" time is from 10pm until early in the morning.
The location is perfect for all travelers as well. It is beside the YMCA, beside Eau Claire shops, several restaurants and pubs, and right across from a large urban park. It has several playgrounds, a free wading pool, river pathways for walking/ jogging/ biking, and tons of green space within walking distance. During the summer Shakespeare in the Park is also performed in the park for free.

Room Tip: During the weekend parking is free on the streets downtown so don't bother paying the $26 for va...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kmomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

While attending a wedding in the area, we stayed at this hotel because our original accommodation was out of power due to the flooding. It was initially really expensive, but we got a special rate and an upgrade. Our room (suite) was beautiful with a living room and separate bedroom with King bed, 2 TVs, bar, etc. Our internet charges were waived, as were the charges for our extra refrigerator. But parking (valet only) is very high. It's in a great location, close to restaurants and shopping downtown. They were gearing up for the Stampede, so the lobby area was decorated accordingly with wood carvings and window paintings, and everyone was in a "Stampede mood".

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CanadaFisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle N, Director of Operations at Sheraton Suites Calgary Eau Claire, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for the review of your most recent stay at the Sheraton Suites Calgary Eau Claire. We are thrilled we were able to comfortably accommodate you during time in Calgary. We are delighted you experienced what our property has to offer and look forward to hosting you again in the near future!

Warmest Regards,
David Stevenson-Moore, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Very nice hotel. Room is clean and quite. We stayed at the 8th floor and facing the market. It's an expensive hotel and we were surprise it did not included the Internet service. We had to do down to the Lobby to use the Internet service.

Room Tip: Park across the hotel at the eau market at night and pay $2 per night. The street parking in some a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank may1214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle N, Director of Operations at Sheraton Suites Calgary Eau Claire, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for the review of your most recent stay at the Sheraton Suites. We are thrilled you had an enjoyable and comfortable stay in your suite on the 8th floor. I do assure you our internet prices are competitive to comparable properties in the downtown core. We do offer the Sheraton Link in our main lobby as a way to connect with loved ones back home. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back again.
Warmest Regards,
David Stevenson-Moore, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed here for one night. Expensive but good quality.

Pros
Upgraded to based on Starwood membership
Very very comfortable beds
Great coffee in room
Two large TVs on suite
Good location
Good power shower

Cons
Pricey room rate by any city standard
Rooms seem tired but they are doing some renovation work, hence noisy during day

Room Tip: Try to get access to Club lounge floor for Starwood members
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FraHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle N, Director of Operations at Sheraton Suites Calgary Eau Claire, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for the review of your most recent stay at the Sheraton Suites Calgary Eau Claire. We are thrilled you enjoyed the amenities in your suite, including our amazing Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Beds! We are in the midst of a complete revitalization of our Club Level and function space with plans to complete all suites by the end of 2015. We look forward to welcoming you back and seeing the new product! For further information on our renovation you can visit www.sheratonsuites.com/renovation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The Eau Claire was our chosen hotel for our business trip. Suppose to stay 4 weeks which ended up as 3 due to the flooding. You would think a hotel of this nature and it's location would accommodate business people but it appeared to accommodate tourists better. Maybe that was the key since the Stampede was on during our stay.
- you get an apple and a pillow chocolate every night regardless if you ate the previous one. How many apples does it take before someone gets the hint. By the end of my stay I had over a dozen apples sitting on my counter.
- I thought I could do the hotel a favor of which we would both benefit by checking out of my room on the weekend of the Stampede since I was not going to be in town anyway and I knew they were oversold. From the room rate difference they would have received an addition $350.00 each night for 3 nights, but this hotel apparently can charge extensive high rates for something like the Stampede but it's not because they need the money, but rather because they "can". I know if I could gain an extra grand for my business, I'd do it. Apparently it had something to do with our contractual rate. I guess I don't understand "big" business.
- Then on check out, going to the SPG preferred desk, my bill could not be printed because the computer could not access my account I was told? When it was printed from another computer, it was not on letterhead? Requested that it be sent electronically which I usually receive by the time I reach the airport... this time I had to call and ask again... as well as discuss that the negotiated room rate was not what we negotiated.
- The business centre... WOW! one outdated computer stuck in a corner of another business office that looks more like a storage room than an office. If you need to access something from your USB flashdrive, you have to crawl on the floor, move the computer to access the one open port available. Don't ask about scanning, it's not going to happen in that business centre.
- I only ate breakfast in the lounge due to my SPG status but I'm guessing the chef can only make scrambled eggs with cheese since it was on the menu everyday for 3 weeks.

All said and done, the staff are pleasant but really have no clue.
The hotel has a bed and "all the amenities".... come to think of it, it does cater to the tourist, otherwise, why have a waterslide downtown in the business core of the city?

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank o2bnkd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle N, Director of Operations at Sheraton Suites Calgary Eau Claire, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for the review. We appreciate all constructive feedback as it allows us to continuously improve on the growing needs of our valued guests. If you would like to further discuss any items that are concerning you please contact me directly at
dstevenson-moore@sheratonsuites.com.
Warmest Regards,
David Stevenson-Moore, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
The Fairmont Palliser
#21 of 109 in Calgary
2,168 reviews
Beltline
Hotel Elan
Hotel Elan
#2 of 109 in Calgary
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Calgary
#15 of 109 in Calgary
1,465 reviews
The Westin Calgary
#26 of 109 in Calgary
1,403 reviews
Hotel Le Germain Calgary
#7 of 109 in Calgary
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Suites Calgary Eau Claire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Suites Calgary Eau Claire

Property: Sheraton Suites Calgary Eau Claire
Address: Sheraton Suites Calgary Eau Claire 255 Barclay Parade SW, Calgary, Alberta T2P 5C2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Calgary
#11 Business Hotel in Calgary
#14 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
#21 Family Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Suites Calgary Eau Claire 4*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're visiting our Calgary Hotel for business or pleasure, you'll never feel more at home than at the all-suite four-diamond Sheraton Suites Calgary Eau Claire Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Suites Calgary Eau Claire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Suites Calgary Eau Claire Hotel Calgary
Sheraton Calgary
Sheraton Hotel Calgary Eau Claire
Calgary Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing