We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, well priced, internet 'sucks'”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Glenmore Inn & Convention Centre
Ranked #46 of 110 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 28, 2009

Spent 3 weeks at the hotel during May 2009, while on business in the area.

Pros

Clean, well appointed rooms.

Polite staff for the most part (front desk staff aren't always).

Well priced, and a location that suited me for business that I had in Calgary's industrial area.

Cons:

The hotel's internet access (can't call it high speed by any stretch of the imagination) is very slow for the number of rooms. Couldn't navigate to ANY web pages on MOST evenings starting around 7pm. On checking with front desk, was (politely) told it was a problem with the ISP.

Only 2 double beds offered in a standard garden room. Only way to get a king bed is to upgrade to a studio at +>$25 per night.

Television sets are 21", 1980's vintage (ok I'm being a little harsh here, perhaps 1990's?).

Some front desk staff would be better suited to a cheaper motel (at this price point, I think guests should be greeted with a good morning was standard, and their invoices should be folded and inserted into an envelope rather than being slapped down on the counter ).

Would recommend the hotel, with caveats.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank poonadude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (559)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

551 - 557 of 559 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2009

My wife and I recently stayed at the Glenmore Inn for the weekend and we were extremely happy with the service we recieved.

We are from Calgary and were celebrating our wedding anniversary. We booked a room at the Glenmore Inn as it was the best value for our dollar through Expedia and we were aware of their famous Sunday Brunch that didn't dissappoint.

We let the Front Desk know that it was a special occassion and they went above and beyond to ensure we had a memoriable stay. Thanks for the chocolate covered strawberries and champagne, it was a nice surprise.

I suggest that you ask for a room in the Tower section. The Garden rooms were lower priced and that is what we originally booked, however the Tower rooms were definately more modern and worth the 15.00 increase in rate.

We ate in both the menu restaurant and the Garden Buffet ( Sunday Brunch was served there and was AWESOME ) and had no problem with the service. We found the service to be attentive and friendly.

Location was a pleasant surprise. The Hotel is located near the industrial area in the south of Calgary, but not in it like we thought. It was a quick, easy drive to Chinook Centre and easily accessible.

We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone!!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CalgarianTravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2009

This was by far the worst service we have ever received. Their slogan "Experience the Difference" is a complete farce. The service in the restuarant was autrocious, you will receive a higher quality of service at your local fast food establishment. The management had the same attitude as the servers which was "I am better than you and certainly do not have time for the likes of you." We received the brush off from the server, restuarant manager, general manager, as well as the owner.

This establishment could not pay me or my party to stay there again. I would opt for a cardboard box over this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FunkyTraveler22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2008

The worst hotel I've stayed in since we got robbed in another low budget hotel in Kissimmee, FL! The rooms are VERY out of date, no desk, bathroom so small it makes cruise ships look like the Plaza, shower/tub with a rubber pull stop on a chain, air conditioner did not work (in fact the thing kept shutting off every hour or so), beds are like concrete, pillows so lumpy I used a rolled up sweater instead, all in all just a god awful place! Don't stay here. Sleep in your car in the parking lot if you have to, it'd be more comfortable!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Joliet_Scooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2007

Don't stay in the Garden room section of the this hotel. All rooms must have been smoking at one time and now some are nonsmoking however the smoky smell is imbedded in the walls, carpets, etc. We asked for a nonsmoking room and were first given a currently smoking room that reeked - we said it was not acceptable and were given a used to be smoked in room, which was better but once we showered the smell got worse.

The restaurant in the hotel has a good buffet breakfrast for a reasonable price and the location was good. It was also cheaper than other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chardBc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2007

My husband and I stayed in this hotel in September of last year for a wedding and we had a lovely time.
The day we arrived it happened to be raining so when we went to check-in we were soaked from head to toe. The girl at the front desk that checked us in was so sweet and friendly. She tried to do everything she possibly could to make us more comfortable (I think her name was Ricky). She even gave us a voucher for a free breakfast (which was very tasty by the way). Then once we got to our room she called to ask if everything was to our liking. In all the hotels I've stayed in I've never had someone do that before. I was pleasantly suprised.
The second night we were there we decided to go eat in the lounge. The food was excellent and again we had a very nice server (Her name was something like Raya). She was so wonderful to talk to and she was always right there whenever we needed something. I've never had a waitress as attentive as her.
Overall, the stay was superb. Great staff and great food. The beds were a little hard but that was the only negative.
My husband and I would like to thank everyone working at the hotel that we had the pleaseure of meeting (I wish I could rememeber all of your names). We will definantly be back!

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank janelauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
Thank alevilla68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GI-OperationsManager, Manager at The Glenmore Inn & Convention Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Hotel Blackfoot
#24 of 110 in Calgary
540 reviews
Deerfoot Inn and Casino
#34 of 110 in Calgary
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southeast Calgary
Carriage House Inn
Carriage House Inn
#32 of 110 in Calgary
1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glenmore Inn & Convention Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glenmore Inn & Convention Centre

Address: 2720 Glenmore Trail SE, Calgary, Alberta T2C 2E6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in Calgary
#33 Business Hotel in Calgary
Price Range: $95 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Glenmore Inn & Convention Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your The Glenmore Inn & Convention Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenmore Hotel Calgary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing