We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reception staff were superb”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
International Hotel and Spa Calgary
Ranked #34 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Arbroath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Reception staff were superb”
Reviewed November 14, 2010

Good size rooms ,but bathroom needed more lighting.We arrived at 11.30 am hoping to drop off luggage,but were checked into room straight away.Concierge helpful about local area.Have to say was not fond of Calgary as it is a business city and very little to see.Had booked the shuttle back to airport but did not turn up,Spanish receptionist,who had been exceptionally helpful, phoned company to complain and we were sent a limousine to take us to airport .Would recommend this hotel if staying in Calgary.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geraldine42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    933
    1,090
    384
    107
    52
See reviews for
402
729
130
1,015
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
bangkok
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2010

This hotel could be very good if they just get their act together with the service. The front desk staff doesn't seem to give a damn, they plod along with big lineups checking in and out and with a less than friendly demeaner. Room service is inconsistent; one night after trying for an hour and not getting an answer, I took the 27 floors down to the front desk and placed the order there. I asked the room service waiter why the problems, he said they been asking management for more staff for awhile now because this has been an ongoing problem (with the staff taking the brunt of abuse from unhappy guests). Having said that, the food for the most part was pretty good, for the most part. Try the linguini with scallops. Don't try the house pizza drowning in balsamic vinegar.They also charge a hefty 18% service charge, Housekeeping also has some service issues, tried ringing to have a robe sent up as only one was provided (there were two of us) again no answer. I called the front desk and they said one would be sent up, a day later, no robe. Once I got through to housekeeping to reorder my robe, Emma the head housekeeper was very friendly and accommodating and I had the robe within 5 minutes. They also don't provide a cork screw which means someone will have to come up and open your wine (five buck tip). The elevators get backed up in the afternoon as there is no service elevator and the maids are moving from floor to floor carting dirty laundry and the like. You can wait 10 minutes for the elevator and sometimes spend another ten minutes getting to your room or the lobby. The maids (mainly Filipino) though are friendly and helpful.Parking can cost you $38 a day for a short stay (under a week), if you stay a week or more you get the weekly rate(about $11 per day). The bar closes at 10pm on a Sunday so if you go to a show or movie don't contemplate having a quiet drink at the hotel before you retire for the evening. Now my last negative comment which has nothing to do with the hotel per se. I like to have my window open at night, in the autumn, the nighttime Calgary air is crisp and fresh, a joy compared to what I have to deal with in Asia. Problem is, is there is a plethora of emergency vehicles, sirens a blaring, plying the streets of downtown each and every night and especially on weekends. One night copious amounts of gunfire broke out outside an Indian restaurant near the hotel with celebrants of a wedding. This in turn brought the obligatory one hour of sirens as police responded in force at 4am. Another night two stabbings behind the hotel brought similar response. There is also a major fire station two blocks away, they like to use there horns with grand abandon alongside the sirens.
Okay maybe I negged out a little much. The hotel(other than these flaws has spacious, comfortable rooms, a great location, near the Eau Clare Market, Stephens Avenue and is connected by a bridge to a whole indoor world of hundreds (maybe thousands) of shops and restaurants that is the the Calgary plus 15 system meaning on a cold winters day you never have to go outside to get what you want and can traverse from one end of downtown to the other without having to be harassed by minus zero temperatures. Oh almost forgot, one more neg. This hotel has a zeal in making it clear if you are a smoker and smoke anywhere near the hotel you will be PUNISHED. All the suites have outdoor balconies which you are not allowed to smoke on, subject to a $500 fine if your got. According to the maids they take pictures of ash, butts etc, after you've checked out and if you've misbehaved $500 is tacked on to your bill. I probably would recommend this hotel to friends with an describing the aforementioned deficiencies and let them decide.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jimshadee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chertsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
288 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2010

We stayed here as part of a 'Rocky Mountaineer' tour. Having read reviews on this site before arrival, we were somewhat apprehensive about the desk service which had some negative reviews. Perhaps the owners have been reading this site, because the service received was first-class! We were given helpful advice about Calgary, free internet (hard-wired) and a luggage storage facility on the day of check-out as our flight out of Calgary was not until the evening.
The room was spacious with a huge lounge area and a good view over the downtown, very comfortable and clean.
The business centre downstairs enabled us to print out our flight boarding passes free of charge, I was very impressed to say the least.
The breakfast is not as good as it could be; no buffet is offered and the prices are a little high for what is quite ordinary fare.
On the whole, a great place to stay and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mekydro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2010

We stayed at the International on a Saturday so naturally it was quiet for a downtown hotel in Calgary. If you're traveling with a small child this is great as the suite contains a kitchenette & microwave so can easily heat up drinks and food etc. Very spacious with a dining table and sitting area with up-to-date flat screen LCD TV screens - one in the living room and one in the bedroom. We checked out the pool/hot tub and would definitely give this a miss next time. Greatly needs upgrading and very slippery on the outdated tiles though. In terms of proximity to restaurants, you are right around the corner from Eau Claire Markets and big chain restaurants like Ol' Spaghetti Factory, Joey Tomatoes and a few other great places to eat at. You can easily walk to these and leave the car in the underground carpark.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skipwillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2010

We stayed for one night after flying into Calgary airport from the UK as the first part of our trip around Canada. The hotel was well positioned, quiet and had large rooms. The bed was great, really large and comfortable. The room was nice and clean and there was lots of space for our cases etc. The bathroom was surprisingly small, considering the size of the room and you could not use the basin and shower at the same time without pressure and heat being affected, which is not really something I would expect from a large hotel like this. The staff were satisfactory, but did not go out of their way to help you.

Overall, it's a good hotel to stay in and fitted what we were looking for in one nights stay. If I was to visit Calgary again I would probably stay here, or consider one of the cheaper airport based hotels.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BSSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 8, 2010

Really impressed with this hotel. Room was really spacious with large lounge and dining area and separate bedroom and bathroom. Staff were very friendly. It was a really good first night stay of our West Coast Canadian tour!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rachelwarner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 26, 2010

very good, very friendly staff, very spacious room with a balcony and good downtown views

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AmmarB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Beltline
Hotel Arts
Hotel Arts
#31 of 109 in Calgary
1,035 reviews
Beltline
Hotel Elan
Hotel Elan
#2 of 109 in Calgary
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Westin Calgary
#27 of 109 in Calgary
1,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to International Hotel and Spa Calgary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about International Hotel and Spa Calgary

Property: International Hotel and Spa Calgary
Address: 220 4 Ave SW | Alberta, Calgary, Alberta T2P 0H5, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
#23 Family Hotel in Calgary
#26 Business Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — International Hotel and Spa Calgary 3.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The International Hotel and Spa Calgary offer's the best downtown location, great value in room rates, free deluxe buffet breakfast and free WIFI in all guest rooms. All of our Guest Suites include such luxurious amenities as high thread count sheets, pillow top mattress, duvet, and flat screen TV. Our suites range in size from 595 to 750 square feet and offer both living and bedroom spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your International Hotel and Spa Calgary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calgary International Hotel
International Hotel Calgary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing